HomeНаука и техникаRelated VideosMore From: PCWorld

8bitdo SN30 Pro review: A Super Nintendo inspired controller for the PC

183 ratings | 12501 views
8bitdo's SN30 Pro is the last of a long line of controllers released by this busy company in 2017. Like the N30 Pro before it, it's a controller designed for die-hard retro fans like myself who emulate on the PC. In this video Adam goes over all the finer points of using the SN30 Pro for classic emulation of SNES games, how it stacks up against the N30 Pro, and if it's better than an Xbox One controller for current games. Nintendo fans should definitely watch this one! Buy the SN30 Pro from Amazon: http://amzn.to/2Dt0PKt Read the full review at PCWorld.com: https://www.pcworld.com/article/3238833/8bitdo-sn30-pro-review-a-nintendo-inspired-controller-for-the-pc Follow PCWorld for all things PC! ------------------------------­---- SUBSCRIBE: http://www.youtube.com/subscription_center?add_user=PCWorldVideos FACEBOOK: https://www.facebook.com/PCWorld/ TWITTER: https://www.twitter.com/pcworld WEBSITE: http://www.pcworld.com
Html code for embedding videos on your blog
Text Comments (36)
Stephen Csoma (23 days ago)
This is by far the 2nd worst review I've seen on this product. Everyone I seen who had legit faults with it actually said what they were. You are nitpicking just for the sake.
skins4thewin (28 days ago)
So no talk at all about the actual functionality of the buttons and d-pad during gameplay... no talk about the severe inaccuracy of the d-pad and it's tendency to move diagonal while simply pressing up, down, left or right. The d-pad has major issues with this and thus causes serious problems for a seasoned gamer in need of accurate controls. I could never see a speedrunner being able to use this controller due to the shoddy d-pad. A real shame as I really had high hopes for it but in practice was seriously let down.
David Navarrete (28 days ago)
What can you say about the sticks? Inner deadzone? Outer deadzone?
Mohd Balushi (29 days ago)
Copying Sony basically
Bernhard Diener (1 month ago)
can you connect the 8bitdo to an xbox? I'm just thinking about because a pc sees the 8bitdo as an xbox controller doesn't it?
Don't Kermit suicide (3 months ago)
This is the convincing but honest review i needed before buying.
justin rivera (3 months ago)
Should have made this more modern shaped like the crappy controller pro u then it would be purfect
GRat9717 (3 months ago)
Nice overview and for pointing out the issue of the right control stick getting in the way when reaching for Y. Personally I have slender fingers and won't have the issue, but I know of plenty of other people who might find that annoying.
Emily Sweets (3 months ago)
This is the dumbest review I've ever seen.
NO3L PAG4N (25 days ago)
And so are you.
Psilocin Finite (2 months ago)
This is the dumbest comment I've ever seen.
phil the gamer (4 months ago)
The only trouble I had was with raspberry pi 3 with retropie was with the L and R 2 triggers won’t work but mostly I got it for my switch
David Sapir (4 months ago)
Oh cool, an Adam that DOESN'T ruin everything! Nice review video. Ordered the Famicom version today as an external controller for my GPD XD emulator when using it as a home console on my tv. I have so many great gaming memories from my early 20's on SNES that this modernized version of its controllers was love at first sight.
xia live (4 months ago)
very good video
Wally Billy (4 months ago)
Hello. I have no Led lit when "battery is charging" (should stay solid) so i don't know if it is really charging,... is it the same for you ?
Jesse Thiessen (5 months ago)
Can i use the pro on my xbox
dsasuke5 (5 months ago)
Does this controller works wired to the pc or only with bluetooth?
PCWorld (5 months ago)
Both! -Adam
Lucidrequiem (5 months ago)
8bitdo is pronounced 8bitDOH like the company they are openly associating themselves with. NintenDOH, not Nintendoo.
Lucidrequiem (3 months ago)
CorgBorg they do sell a product that says the name and it ALSO pronounces it as DOH, as thousands of other people have pointed out. There is an accent that confuses people, but it is DOH just like the company they are obviously paying homage to. There we go.
CorgBorg (3 months ago)
Nope! They sell a product that says the company name. It says 8bitDOO not 8bitDOH. There we go.
PCWorld (5 months ago)
Yep. I keep screwing that one up :P -Adam
Benjamin Northrup (5 months ago)
If you're on the go you'd always pick a controller that's rechargable via USB type C over a Xbox one controller that uses AA batteries. No comparison in my opinion.
Martin Elgueta (5 months ago)
works awesome for Zelda Botw
PCWorld (5 months ago)
It's my go to controller on the Switch! -Adam
triosace3 (5 months ago)
Emulation from retropie ..mainly for nes and snes..still recommend snes30pro? Or go with the one that has no joysticks? Also notice any lag??
PCWorld (5 months ago)
If you are emulating SNES primarily, I'd stick with the SN30 with no sticks. And no real lag to report on my end, though I'm not a fighting game guy that needs super low latency. -Adam
AntonioR Software (5 months ago)
Are R2/L2 just buttons or are analog (you can control how hard you press) ?
Sabin1981 (2 months ago)
They *are* analogue, they register as AXES, not BUTTONS. The Switch doesn't have any support for analog triggers, so if you're using the controller on a Switch then they register as buttons only, but the hardware is natively analogue and work as such if you use it xinput mode.
Eric Fleming (4 months ago)
they are NOT analog, they are buttons. Its the only thing i don't like about mine, but other than that it's a perfect controller for my setup
AntonioR Software (5 months ago)
Better late than never. Thanks.
PCWorld (5 months ago)
Yes, they are analog! -Adam
and?
ZeroB4NG (5 months ago)
I just bought those 2 a few weeks ago, the NES one really isn't that great, the analog sticks are so small you got very little precision with it and the other buttons are also a bit small, i tried to play Duke Nukem 3D with it, could not hit anything at all, and the lack of analog shoulder triggers disqualifies it for any modern racing games as well, it might still be good for the occasional android game, but for PC i'd just take the Xbox pad when i need triggers and sticks. The faithful SNES pad for Emulator games i absolutely love (i got the other version though, with the Euro color scheme, not that purple stuff), it is just a bit weird that sometimes the red and sometimes the blue LED will glow when connected to my PCs bluetooth, it is inconsistent and triggers my OCD because i do not know WHY ...wait, is that maybe a battery warning light? ;P The SNES pad with the sticks was something i wanted to buy first, but in germany i can't find it anywhere, at least not for a sane price, not sure if it is too new or too old? But they need to produce more of those and send them over here. Although if they messed with the button placing like you pointed out, i might end up not liking that... i'd probably still buy it for the novelty, i might also still buy the NES pad without sticks and stuff but... buying it because its cool and buying it because its useful are 2 different things, either way i want a second controller just in case of couch coop... that is something you should test as well, if you have more than one connected at the same time if they work properly as 2 different pads, i had a bit of trouble at first to get snes9x to recognize both pads as individual devices but then it suddenly worked fine. So YMMV.
m1 (5 months ago)
Great video man. I love a video if you guys showed me how to mine crypto as I've not seen any coverage of it with you guys. Much love either way!

Would you like to comment?

Join YouTube for a free account, or sign in if you are already a member.