HomeВидеоигрыRelated VideosMore From: Nintendo Life

Splatoon 2: Octo Expansion Review - Worth the $20?

2847 ratings | 124870 views
It's more than alreight. Check out our full site ■ http://www.nintendolife.com Like us on Facebook ■ https://www.facebook.com/nintendolife Follow us on Twitter ■ https://www.twitter.com/nintendolife
Category: Видеоигры
Html code for embedding videos on your blog
Text Comments (829)
Crappy Cat (1 day ago)
*M e m e C a k e s*
NotRyland (2 days ago)
Breath of the wild dlc has left chat
Attacus (12 days ago)
3:55 splatoons AI in a nutshell
loubna elaroui (16 days ago)
actually skipping levels DOES get you the outfits. its just the fact some of the mem cakes being hazy prevents you from beating the Secret final boss, Inner Agent 3. I know that for a fact. hope that helped :)
shabwaten da one 14 (17 days ago)
Fortnite save the world is not worth the 50 dollars. But the octo expansion is worth the 20 dollars
Gamer7 (26 days ago)
I knew the splatoon 2 single player was easy and repetitive so I thought Octo wouldn’t be hard... yet I got all mem cakes. Took me 1 month
Joe Duffy (1 month ago)
This DLC complete and utterly won me over with Pearl and Marina!
Reece Barker-Wilson (1 month ago)
you let a balloon float away. test failed. I demand a refund. test failed. this dlc is impossible. test failed. this dlc sucks. test failed. me: THIS DLC IS FLIPPIN IMPOSSIBLE TO COMPLETE. PATIENTS TESTED AND NOW I RAGE AND DONT GO ON THIS GAME FOR 9,00000000000000000000000 MILLION YEARS!
Reece Barker-Wilson (1 month ago)
I kinda want a refund for October expansion... the only reason I wanted it was to be able to complete it and play as an octoling online! but, u have to go through 100 levels JUST for that... (no joke it is actually 100 levels)
Joe Duffy (1 month ago)
You only have to get the four thangs. Plus there isn't even 100 levels!!
I need this hair
CJPLAYSROBLOX (1 month ago)
It's not really that hard I got threw it in two days No skipping either
Lumi Kløvstad (1 month ago)
Fuck this DLC. I was tearing my hair out within the hour, and it actually caused me to stop playing Splatoon 2 altogether because my frustration compromised my ability to play the other modes as well. No thanks. I'll go back to Dark Souls, where at least the difficulty serves a purpose other than "being hard so it can be hard". What a waste of the money.
Joe Duffy (1 month ago)
Get Gud
Stratilex (1 month ago)
I’m not buying Splatoon 2 for the single player. I’m buying it for Salmon Run and Turf War.
Test subject 10, 008 (1 month ago)
Can I just say the music from this thing is killer
ChickenIsEvil (1 month ago)
On my way to japan I met Mr. Nogami at LAX. Really nice guy, waited a minute or two just to sign my copy of splatoon 2.
Yes
SplatGirl 02 (1 month ago)
I got it with a secret code anyways...
crazy J (2 months ago)
Ahem, EA what to you have to say for yourself?
BallHex (2 months ago)
no
Gazelle .-. (2 months ago)
It was way to hard
Octo Maginny (2 months ago)
Best DLC ever #OctoSquad
CallOfDuty 296 (2 months ago)
The Octo Expansion is what the splatoon2 story mode should have been, It was so good!
ZLAuroraSwiper (2 months ago)
Heeeeello there lovely peeeeople
Mckenzie Welsh (2 months ago)
I beat it outside the store where I got it but I still go back to it
Mckenzie Welsh (2 months ago)
My dad helped me I’m only 8
You can't beat the whole thing in 7 minutes you can't even beat some of the longer missions in 7 minutes
Mckenzie Welsh (2 months ago)
7 mins
How long did you stay outside that store!
Angela Perez (2 months ago)
You Did Nothing Wrong Test Failed :) This Stage Is Impossible Test Failed OuO You Can't Beat It Test Failed :D
Belongs in the Trash (2 months ago)
The octo expantion has drawn me more into Splatoon 2 then I have ever been in the 5 1/2 months I have owned the game. Even after I beat it I still stick around. Pros: Great lore Character development Music Scenery Actually added some difficulty Items Encourages you to come back and actually beat the levels Cons: Difficulty is very inconsistent. Can range from world 1-1 in SMB to Cuphead difficult. If you don't know motion controls, then some levels can be really frustrating to play. The test points actually kind of suck.
Asian Magikarp (2 months ago)
Short answer: yes
Brandon Moore (2 months ago)
6:43 , shouldn’t it be “more to sink your tentacles into” ?
Someone 21890 (2 months ago)
To sum it all up : *HELL YEAH ITS WORTH THE $20*
shaken quakin (2 months ago)
When you beat all levels without Marina hacking it Marie enters the chat for a while
Joey Davis (2 months ago)
Nintendo:we are releasing the October expansion EA:we gotta write this stuff down
Furzoa Gamez (2 months ago)
I just got the game.I hope i get used to it.I finished the single player campaign tho
Xavier Ramos (2 months ago)
Did people need this video to know if it was worth it though? it obviously was
EnterSwitch (2 months ago)
I'm still debating the actual game! i think i just need to go pick it up! haven't had buyers remorse for anything i've bought on the switch yet!
Chris Goh (2 months ago)
Quantitively more than 2000x the value of the nearest cash equivalent in lootboxes. Lootboxes don't contain entirely new character models, new weapons, new soundtracks, and 80 ENTIRE NEW LEVELS PLUS NEW BOSSES.
Killager _ (2 months ago)
Haven’t watched the video yet. The answer is yes.
Valkyrie (2 months ago)
Little kids only buy the dlc for the hairstyles but if I bought it I would forget saving Callie and do the expansion
Octoling Terrier (2 months ago)
I saw somebody to the WHOLE thing In 4 hours
5:23 Brand Spanking new
minty soul (2 months ago)
Is this game worth getting? I find it very interesting, I always wanted to buy it, but I want to know if it's worth buying. I also want to know if this game is still popular, because if I do end up getting the game I want to meet active people to play with.
minty soul (2 months ago)
If you're on the internet Then you have no life Thank you for the reply, I'll be sure to put Splatoon on my wish list.
The game is well worth it and tons of people definitely still play online
minty soul (2 months ago)
I'll sail my self out.
minty soul (2 months ago)
And yes, I did watch the video. But it's still isn't enough to provide the answer I want. And when I mean "buy" I mean to buy the whole game.
Splamm (3 months ago)
You still get all the gear even if you skip some levels the only thing you don’t get is a gold toothpick
Cake_ From_A_Pan (3 months ago)
The faded mem cakes can still be used to get the gear so there’s no point in spending hours trying one mission instead of skipping
Erectile Weasel (3 months ago)
I just made fifty bucks helping my grandpa wire a house and put up wood on walls should i spend 20 bucks on this dlc
MintBreath (3 months ago)
alreight
AwesomeFaceStuff (3 months ago)
I bought Splatoon during the E3 sale on the eshop, and it was only $40. I then bought the Octo Expansion separately for $20. In total it amounted to $60, which is the normal price of Splatoon by itself. So technically, I got the Octo Expansion for free. I’m currently trying to defeat the secret final boss (which I will not spoil the name of) and it’s really challenging. I must say, the Octo Expansion as a whole was really good. The music, the story, the difficulty, the atmosphere, the amount of content, everything about this DLC was simply worth every penny (even though I technically didn’t pay a penny for it like I mentioned earlier lol). Overall, if you’re deciding whether or not to get this DLC, get it. Trust me, you won’t be disappointed.
SuperSwagGuy (3 months ago)
Octopus Expandapus
Codrian Drasil (3 months ago)
I never once thought “That’s Clever!”. My thought was, “I paid for Playable Octolings. NOT A G*DDAMN TORTURE CHAMBER.”
Dreary O (3 months ago)
It’s too fucking hard
Victor Ahmad (3 months ago)
this is how you make a good 20$ dlc. take notes botw
the8thark (3 months ago)
I do think the Octo Canyon is way better. They felt like actual stages and wou can beat them with any weapon. The DLC is just mini games which you have at most 3 weapons to use. A lot less depth here and it's artificially lengthened by the overly hard difficulty. It's a nice DLC but the Octo canyon is better in every way. 7/10
the8thark (2 months ago)
Agreed. You've been held to account and the truth has been exposed. I've also been held to account. Thank you and have a nice day.
Yoshi Plays (2 months ago)
the8thark You know what? Why don't we just end this argument. Not because I think I'm "losing", but because I'm so much happier doing other things. I'm trying to stop creating arguments on YouTube but I had to get my thoughts off my chest. Sorry if I was too aggressive. Like you said, to each their own.
the8thark (2 months ago)
1. S+ hey? No wonder you breased through them, you're better at Splatoon than the vast majority of others. I'm like a C+ on ranked but I've done over half of the 80 stations. I don't care if you don't believe me, I'm just telling you what Ive done. 2. It's not a lack of skill there. It's game difficulty. The issue is the difficulty of the stations vary greatly. A decent number of them are doable with a little practice. However there are some that are so much harder. It's not a smooth difficulty curve like the other single player mode is. I don't have a negative look on the game. I chose to accept the facts and not ignore them. Some people will prefer the DLC single player because it's super hard. Some people will prefer the first single player campaign because it has more variety and a smoother difficulty curve. Each to their own. 3. You think reviews are the majority of the player base? Over a million people own Splatoon 2. Have you read a number of reviews that is anywhere close to a million of them? Actually a lot of the reviews I have read all complain about the difficulty. Of cause some of these reviewers need to practice more but it's all there. It seems we've read different reviews. 4. Where? By actually playing the game. It's no different to Smash Bros. Easy to pick up and play but hard to master. The game is designed to everyone can get into it, no matter what your skill level is. A game can be easy to get into due to it's simplistic nature but also have a separate pro level community for the same game. Sakurai talks about this for Smash Bros all of the time. Splatoon 2 is exactly the same. You are coming accross as someone who can't accept the fact that games like Splatoon 2 are million plus sellers because they cater towards the average players and the very good players such as yourself. The DLC single player is too hard for many splatoon 2 players to 100% complete. With much practice I believe most players can earn the octoling though. I did it without skipping any stations though it was frustrating at times. However there are some stations you only need to complete for 100%ing it and they are very very hard. Hard enough that a large number of Splatoon players will not be able to do them. Which is different to the first simgle player where doing the stages with the recommended weapon is not too hard and you can learn from that when you are trying to do it with a different weapon much less suited for the stage. You need to remember that not everyone is S+ rank. The majority of Splatoon players have a worse rank and they are struggling with the difficulty that the Splatoon DLC single player has.
Yoshi Plays (2 months ago)
the8thark 1. I think you're exaggerating. I'm rank S+ and I can count the tests I breezed through on one finger. Are you SURE it's over half? Keep in mind there are 80 tests. And now that you mention it, did you even finish the game? 2. The weapons in Hero Mode are very simplified since you can only use the vanilla version of each weapon type in the game. Would you please stop acting like difficulty is bad? It's pretty laughable. You can't blame the game for lack of skill. The tests were hard for me and a lot of people but once we completed them and our minds weren't biased by rage, we liked the levels. That actually explains a lot about your negative look on the game... 3. Look at the reviews. The majority of player did blitz through Hero Mode. Lack of feedback research right there. 4. Where in the hell did you get the idea that Splatoon is aimed at bad FPS players? This is getting ridiculous. ThatSrb2Dude? SorinMH? Many other pro Splatoon players that would be at least decent at an FPS game? For a game targeted at bad players, the competitive community sure is big, don't ya think? Also, I never denied that the Expansion was hard. I never once said that. But it's also really fun in my and many others' opinion. Opinions exist of course but you're coming across as a contrarian right now.
the8thark (2 months ago)
Yoshi Plays That's your opinion and thanks for sharing it. I can't agree with you and I'll comment on each of your points. 1. The whole game feels like a bunch of mini games gates by that whole fee system to play each one. Sure if you run out of credits to play the mini games, you can get credit. But then you have to pay back the debt. Well only if you feel all debt is bad, which I certainly do. I paid back all of my splatoon 2 DLC in game debt. You are given a straightforward though often very difficult goal to achieve and off you go. Most of the mini games here can be completed in 2 minutes or less if you're skilled enough. Most people, like me, struggle. But for the ones I have done (over half now) I've managed to do them in less than 2 minutes. 2. Actually Hero mode does have replayability, unlike the DLC. Also you can choose which ever weapon you want. You are not stuck with a choice of 3 weapons. The DLC is not really unique. It's just a series of tough challenges with an hard, very hard and extremely hard difficulties (based on which weapon you chose). 3. Maybe YOU have blitzed through Octo Canyon and have done every single station with all 3 weapons and have earned every single piece of gear. The majority of players on the other hand has not. One person's experiences don't say how something really is. Many more people are needed to share their opinions to get the overall feeling of something. Many many people have said how hard the DLC is. The majority here is correct. The DLC is something people will play to do every station or if they get too frustrated, just earn the octoling and never play again. The original single player in SPlatoon 2 though has tons of replayability value. Choosing different weapons to beat each stage is fun and you don't know how good or bad a weapon is for a stage till you try it. Splatoon 2 is a game that is for everyone, especially those who are not good at or do not like traditional multiplayer FPS games. These kind of people prefer fun over really hard difficulty. The DLC is very hard. That's fact, even if you and others choose to deny it. That's one reason amongst many why the previous single player is way better. Also having the Squid Sisters in the original DLC is a huge bonus as they are both super cool.
the8thark (3 months ago)
The best video reviews are the ones you write yourself. because you adlib a little and make the review very interesting to. If you use the team's written reviews for a video review, don't stick 100% to script. Adlib a little, put in your usual wit and it'll be a better video.
Felix (3 months ago)
9/10 Excellent "Cuz' 10/10 is illegal"
Ayden Smith (3 months ago)
Nintendo really pushing there dlc Octo expansion has 80 level almost all of which are better than the main campaigns Xenoblade dlc may as well be a whole different game props to nintendo
Bossboy 6123 (3 months ago)
I absolutely loved this dlc. It was one of those experiences where you almost feel sad after completing it because you know your not going to have that same feeling of first waking up on the subway or seeing seeing the giant statue rise out of the ocean, and really I think that's what you want from a video game story. It makes me really hope for at least one more dlc in splatoon 2s lifetime yet I know it's not likely because the devs are going to stop adding weapons and maps in December of this year.
MikeDoesGames (3 months ago)
I have a question, does Octo expansion do anything for online multiplayer or just story mode other than the exclusive gear cause I don’t like story mode but I love the online multiplayer
MikeDoesGames (3 months ago)
SIR ok thanks
GOOD SIR (3 months ago)
No. This dlc is just loads of extra singleplayer levels
xmish16 (3 months ago)
I saw a video in my feed and the title said "I hate octo expansion" this can only mean two things: but people are actually this stupid and that no matter how good something is you'll have that guy that is out of his mind not realizing how much of An amazing DLC this is. It literally blows everything else out of the water and is a good testament to what DLC is. How can you be so Naive? Or It's click bait
Oh you mean failboats video. That's just a joke and a compilation on how bad he is. He said he liked the dlc a lot
Troublethecat (3 months ago)
xmish16 the "I hate Octo Expansion" Video is just a compilation of all the times the let's player who posted it died during their livestream of the game and is meant to be tongue and cheek since that LPer actually did like it. If it's the video I think you're referring to.
Caleb gaming Channel (3 months ago)
So cool
Moataz Seada (3 months ago)
The levels with limited ink are the best
Moataz Seada (3 months ago)
I adore sniper/charger levels
SharpMaxWell C (3 months ago)
I broke my joycons thumb stick
RoadRoller (3 months ago)
This DLC feels like if *Dark Souls* and *Splatoon* had a baby.
Cole Erickson (3 months ago)
This expansion made me like Pearl. Totally worth $20.
Supergav25 (3 months ago)
This game gives me this like 1980 disco kind of style
Supergav25 (3 months ago)
"DLC not game"
Callum Burgess (3 months ago)
I already had a hard time with the normal story mode and now this I might not get it.. I will just rage the whole time
Savagetechguy Gaming (3 months ago)
This is the best DLC I have played I fully completed it and was never bored it felt like a new game
STINK- EYE (3 months ago)
How come its $30 for me... :'(
Yurrupt (3 months ago)
notice how he said pretty much nothing bad about it? This guy is a nintendo fanboy. Sure, its a good DLC, but its obvious that you are just a fanboy
Yoshi Plays (2 months ago)
Yurrupt It's not that he's a fanboy, it's just that the DLC is just amazing. He did criticize the Ranked mode levels. You can't just call everyone who really likes something a fanboy when they have actual reasoning behind their thoughts.
DOMINIC CALDERON (3 months ago)
This dlc makes you work for what you want, wanna play as an octoling? Better be ready....
salty boi (3 months ago)
*looks at my hands* I lost my sanity for a toothpick. Y'all understand
Sir Jedsalot (3 months ago)
Yes apart from the inner agent 3
Haydo Mo106 (3 months ago)
Wha? $20 I had to pay $30!
tenth gen (3 months ago)
This is not for kids it's good for adults though everyone think Nintendo is kid friendly just because they don't animate certain body parts people forget all about their over the top challenges that many can't do don't buy this for your kids unless you're going to play it for them
fried_eggs (3 months ago)
Even if you skip levels, you will still get all of the gear. You just won't be able to read the fun memories and your map will look a little disappointing. Also, you won't run out of cq points, even if you try a third time on some of the 2000 maps and then skip.
Worth every damn penny (Just about to fight DJ Octavio and Marie as I got the game just this week XD)
Meg (3 months ago)
the level design of this expansion is INSANE and freaking well made! AND THAT OST. the 8 ball level became one of my favorite Some are easy, some hard , some are HELL ON EARTH but this is certainly the best dlc I ever purchased ; this is even too much content for 20 dollars lmao Bought it at release, haven't finished yet. It's pure try and die I raged at that tower control mission because I had to use the worst weapons in history for this kind of stuff lmao
drakelord56 (3 months ago)
The only challenge that I had the hardest time with was J03/D08 "Girl Power Station" Freaking Fake Octolings kept swarming...
KingEbin (3 months ago)
Absolutely worth every penny.
Jared Hoeft (3 months ago)
Best DLC I've ever bought. This is how DLC should be done.
BCT Alicorn (3 months ago)
I loved all the missions. Had a blast all the way through. There weren't any missions that upset me, except one in particular that took me way too long to figure out. You have to defend a generator thingy, and there is wave after wave of octolings closing in on it. I used the roller, since it was the only weapon that they supplied that I was kinda good at, and I died probably 30 times. I feel like the roller just wasn't the best for that situation, but I couldn't do it with anything else cause I wasn't good at it. Anyway, enough of me whining. Really, this Octo Expansion was even better than I thought it was going to be. It expanded the lore, had the BEST humor/writing in any Nintendo game thus far, and the music is SO GOOD. I also loved all the asthetics (the floating GameCubes were my favorite). All in all, it was a great time. I had a blast other than that one little hiccup.
MelonPalooza (3 months ago)
To all those that got the golden skewer, congratulations. It was a hard battle but you did it!! That secret boss was so hard....
Lego Autobot Gamer (3 months ago)
Woomy yes
Gebirges (3 months ago)
Short: HELL YES!
Storm Break (3 months ago)
Took me 9 hours o beat it and it is worth every penny. The only thing left is the secret boss
Julian Es El Mejor (3 months ago)
My dude ... everyone knows that the female octoling is superior!
Eithora Sough (3 months ago)
BATTLE LEVELS ARE FUN YEAH BUT THEY’RE STRESSFUL AS FUCK
Temmie Bob (3 months ago)
*gets you more playtime than star allies for half the price* (yes I'm aware it technically costs like 60-70 bucks to get splatoon and this expansion but just shut up okay)
Plo's Flow (3 months ago)
I hate the 8-ball missions
Piggy Iggy (3 months ago)
TL;DW: it’s like dark souls but cute
mobaby1979 (3 months ago)
The corny and hyperbolic word selection on this channel's reviews makes me wonder if this is my kinda channel or not. Sounds like an ad.
supernova gamer (3 months ago)
"HOLY SWEET GIBLETS" is the best thing i've heard all day
Smøl (3 months ago)
Um.. is this even a question?
Eross Van Leer (3 months ago)
$20 for a beautiful octoling hell yeah
Marie (3 months ago)
This DLC was nothing, it was even easier than the single-player campaign. The only thing that's kinda hard is the final boss if you 100%. AND ALL I GOT FOR THAT WAS A TOOTHPICK.
Yoshi Plays (2 months ago)
Octarian Callie Bait.
Mega Nite (3 months ago)
You moved, you failed
Suga Yoongi (3 months ago)
OMG SPOILERS!!!! >-<
Supa (3 months ago)
Well thats 20 euros down the drain. How tf was i supposed to know the regions had to match for the game and the expansion?!?!?!??!!?
Willow Springs (3 months ago)
**Sees title** Me: Yes 👍
Scott Aitken (3 months ago)
If you want, you can skip almost every thing as it rewards you with cq points higher than the amount used to skip the mission if you chose the right weapon
AgravainX (3 months ago)
YES ITS WORTH
Mr Hyde (3 months ago)
You can get the gear even with the missing mem cakes

Would you like to comment?

Join YouTube for a free account, or sign in if you are already a member.