HomeКомпьютерные игрыRelated VideosMore From: Nintendo Life

The Best Gets Better - Super Mario Odyssey Review | Super Mario Odyssey for Nintendo Switch

2399 ratings | 77383 views
Wowsers trousers, it's finally time to review Super Mario Odyssey for the Nintendo Switch! Is it the Mario game we expect, or does it fall short? Alex is the man in the know. Check out our full site ■ http://www.nintendolife.com Like us on Facebook ■ https://www.facebook.com/nintendolife Follow us on Twitter ■ https://www.twitter.com/nintendolife
Html code for embedding videos on your blog
Text Comments (400)
youssef amr (5 days ago)
3:52 find as many power moons as you can eat lol lmao 🤣😂🤣😂🤣😂🤣😂🤣😂🤣🤣😂🤣😂🤣😂🤣🤣😂🤣😂🤣😂🤣🤣😂🤣😂🤣🤣😂🤣🤣
Rey Garcia (3 months ago)
1:49 tissiu
Rey Garcia (3 months ago)
Your voice is so annoying
DH Dallas (3 months ago)
You're channel is great sir! You don't over explain everything. Great content in a tidy and quick package!
Jesse Eaton (3 months ago)
I hate Nintendo life he is stupid
logan (4 months ago)
Peeeeeeople
Nintendo Boy (5 months ago)
I LOVE ODYSEEY SO MUCH ITS GREAT I LOVE SUPER MARIO ODYSEEY AND SUPER MARIO ODYSEEY LOVES ME. Too bad i already beat it 100%
Cinnamon bun Gamer (5 months ago)
Who’s Muwrio
i just got really stoned (5 months ago)
nintendo really pulled their head out of their ass on this game
dia 74 (5 months ago)
yeah... i would play on the tv, if my brother wasn't playing fortnite 24/7 😂😂
LarTech (5 months ago)
nice smw outro
Sandro Munoz (5 months ago)
Oh man, where did you get that print behind you??  Must have that!
Crexcent .U (6 months ago)
Did Nintendo do anything wrong with this game?
Craig Cooper (6 months ago)
don't know why the other reviews state this is 900p max, and goes down during quick camera movement... I still love it to death tho, have 750 power moons, and I'm getting close to completion.
epicdude312 (6 months ago)
I'd give this game a 101/10 instead of a 100/10 if Koopa Freerunning didn't exist
BANANNA (6 months ago)
"if your a proper jirard star completionist"
MIkeyFish 1220 (6 months ago)
"The land of the land of bonneton, a land where the land" how many times will he say land
The Gaming Arc (6 months ago)
It got worse by 1 thing WHY CANT YOU USE LUIGI FOR PLAYER 2!?!?!??!???
Matt Garrelts (6 months ago)
"a land where the land is inherited by hat creatures who roam the land"
Tim Shaw (7 months ago)
You shouldn't vote Odyssey 10/10 tbh, that's like saying that there's nothing better than mario odyssey because it's perfect. Trust me though, every mario game will always improve. The next mario gsme will be better than odyssey i think.
The Dragon Legault (7 months ago)
Ok I’m sorry but I honestly feel this game is not worth a 10 at all for a couple of reason. 2 big reasons 1 same tired as save the princess story peach gets kidnapped have to save cash the f@cking check. I’m sorry but Nintendo really needs to evolve and realize story is as important as gameplay now a days. 2nd reason is too many damn moons. Yes I know it’s supposed to be a collectathon I get that I really do but when so many of them about 90% of them are so stupid easy to get it defeats the purpose of even having them. It’s quantity over quality. Now these two are personal problems I will admit but here we go. First MARIO isn’t a character he is a blank slate racist Italian stereotype. Second for me I absolutely hate sandbox games I just don’t like them. Now is the game fun.... yes. Is the gam worth buying.... yes. Is it worth a 10/10 or whatever the perfect score that ever other reviewer is given it....hell no. I honestly say it’s a 8/10. I have more to say but I’m much better at talking than typing Projared is the one I think is the most spot on with his review of the game. It’s a good game yes but in the same league as breath of the wild hell no. But all in all yes the game is fun and it is worth your time buying and playing
Nick Scott (7 months ago)
Was that footage in the beginning from a trailer
Heth Rham (7 months ago)
happy looks like he was the product of the shell jump from Mario maker
Reggie Mass (7 months ago)
Nintendo, thank God I make good coin BECAUSE YOU'RE KILLING MY WALLET MAN!!!!!
Simket Blue (7 months ago)
its not 1080p the max is 900p #DigitalFoundry
Teresa McCarty (7 months ago)
WOW LOVE IT GREAT GRAPHICS!!!
NYYanks2003040506 (7 months ago)
I'm a PlayStation guy but my choice for Game of the Year is very easy this time around, Super Mario Odyssey takes it hands down. I love Super Mario 64 and both Galaxy games but Odyssey tops both as my favorite of the 3D series and is making a serious run at World as my favorite Mario game period. The amount of content and the consistent ability to surprise... The game is phenomenal, it's amazing that after three decades this franchise still delivers generation-defining experiences.
The Crook (7 months ago)
The switch sound is soooooo nice
Richard Newton (7 months ago)
Personally my best Mario game ever. Mario 64 was my previous favourite with super Mario World a close 3rd. 3d Mario land was good, but I prefer not being rushed, love exploring and feels like a true sequel to Mario 64. This game is potentially my favourite game of all time. Mario switch and the PS4 have me in gaming heaven at last.
Fox Stevens (7 months ago)
Mare-io? Mar-iyo....
AJ5025 (7 months ago)
The subscribe button expects me to click it. To go above and beyond that I clicked it twice... Now I'm unsubscribed... 😉
Chugcat Entertainment (7 months ago)
Cuphead: My game is amazing! Everyone loves it! Super Mario odyssey: Hold my beer
Wet Dino (7 months ago)
I'm sorry but I'm going to have to disagree with you alex. I have played probably 60% of my play time on handheld and I feel don't feel like my experience has been ruined in the slightest! An absolute masterpiece of a game! Deffinately deserves all 10/10's and more!
Mateo (7 months ago)
So why is it a 10? I'm sure it is, but if it's a 10, why were other equally amazing games short changed? I'm happy enough it's a great game, but concerned this favoritism discounts other games. Like why isn't Mario Kart 8D a 10? I just don't understand why they built all these console games for a portable machine. It's like they were all meant for Wii U but it wasn't worth supporting. I guess I expected more handheld like games. Just feels weird putting all these motion controls on a handheld
LeapyLeaf (7 months ago)
i got 50 persent of the game spoiled by thumbnails is it still worth it?
NINTENDAWN (7 months ago)
I liked it, but it was dissapointing. Way too short. Got to the final boss in a few hours.
Foam Cow (7 months ago)
I have a slight issue with your review - only slight. I watched the review before purchasing the game and you said that the game is sandbox like Mario 64 and Mario Sunshine and not so much guided along as Galaxy 1 & 2 have been, I would have to strongly disagree with this. I really feel like the game is guided along its just the levels (Kingdoms) are just bigger than the usual worlds we are used to in Mario games. Would like to hear your reply about this Alex... From NintendoLife
Camden D'Alessio (7 months ago)
Foam Cow I felt like that at first as well, like, "yeesh, for a sandbox Mario this stuff's pretty linear," but it quickly opens up over time as you learn the worlds and learn to maneuver Mario better--the linear-feeling temple of the sand kingdom quickly became another playground for me as I realized the most obvious path was far from the only path, and it works this way across all the levels Like, consider bob-omb battlefield in 64. it *seems* like it's set along a linear path at first, but seems to open up over time, and you realize it's really an open playground, and that really the linear path was only the most obvious one
BrainBuzzz (7 months ago)
so for my first switch game, should I get this, BOTW, or MK8 Deluxe?
Ethan Kogan (7 months ago)
I had that same one more moon feeling in New Donk City. I came out with 52 moons.
rodeo stampede er (7 months ago)
add wuluglli dlc (don't know how 2 sell wuluglli)
TheDrewSaga (7 months ago)
This is the second game that has come out this year worthy of a 10/10 rating. GoTY between Zelda BoTW and this game is an incredibly tough choice, and I don't think we will be seeing any more games this year or even next that can match it.
Snarky Mark (7 months ago)
One mistake in your review, +Nintendo Life, it isn't rendered in 1080p. It's upscaled 900p, in order to try and keep the framerate at 60 fps.
Juggernaut (7 months ago)
Yet another fanboy
Danny Taylor-Smith (7 months ago)
Wooo! Completionist mention!
Discount (7 months ago)
He lands in the land of Bonneton, a land where the land is populated by creatures who have no direct contact to the land.
tommy trucker (7 months ago)
what an appalling phallus
emarskineel (7 months ago)
A channel by the name of Nintendo life likes a MARIO game. Wow.
SwishhVisions (7 months ago)
if zelda has dlc dis will 2
Hipeopeo YT (7 months ago)
Can you jump and dive? It’s my favorite move. Edit: Yes, you can. Thanks!
awakenedCrowlStudios (7 months ago)
This game is oficially my favourite game 2017. The only contestant was Breath of the Wild... and it has beaten Breath of the Wild by far. It might just be my favourite game of all time. I'm can't say for sure until the initial hype has worn off, but so far I love it more than any other game before.
Reyn the Insane (7 months ago)
Hey Alex, do a video on bad Metacritic user reviews, especially the awful review made by PS5Masterrace.
Omary Smith (7 months ago)
only one thing you ant talk bout the music...... sounds quality
Levelzzz 1 (7 months ago)
The visuals the visuals ....seriously been blown away by odyssey switch underpowered ? Ha good one 😂
How can these people be called professional gaming critics
Pojackel we're talking about the same people who pretended to have played sonic forces and say the game is absolute garbage even tho they havent even played themseleves
Stormin' Norman (7 months ago)
Nintendo has Game of the Year on lock down. The only games worth debating are Breath of the Wild and Mario Odyssey.
logan (4 months ago)
Stormin' Norman well I mean... Persona 5 was amazing as well
Yak Eru (7 months ago)
Great video ! But where can I find these paintings/prints ? I love the Screeee ! one :-D
Joshua Werner (7 months ago)
Say it with me.... MAR-IO ....NOT MARRY-O. ;)
Dylan Sturm (7 months ago)
I actually bought the switch and haven't bought a Nintendo system since the GameCube!
Moataz Seada (7 months ago)
Now I need a good Donkey Kong for the Switch
Moataz Seada (7 months ago)
Nintendo gives me joy
NeoStrike (7 months ago)
I NEED A SWITCH
Panuco Fodido (7 months ago)
Mario or zelda ?
Moataz Seada (7 months ago)
Diogo Pereira Both, but start with Mario
BananaSlamma TV (7 months ago)
Surely You Are Starting To Run Out Of 10\10s.
Moataz Seada (7 months ago)
John Cena!!!! Splatoon 2, Zelda and Mario are all worth it
Skizerz the Almighty (7 months ago)
So I've clocked in 4 hours, and damn is this game amazing. It's an essential purchase if you've ever liked a mario game in your life.
jimmyjthorn (7 months ago)
My game is weirdly pixilated...
Sir Potato (7 months ago)
This is my favorite SMO advertisement!
Sir Potato (7 months ago)
My holiday checklist: Dark Souls 3 Halo 4 Cuphead PS4 Update gaming PC
AustenArts (7 months ago)
What a sexy hairstyle Alex has
Alvin The Sommar (7 months ago)
Huh, Nintendo makes their new games more like the older ones. The new Zelda is open world like the first two Zeldas and the new Mario is more like the first 3D Mario
Indo Imran (7 months ago)
Hey Alex! How's the co-op in this game? Looking forward to playing with my wife like we did in Galaxy 1+2!
NobodyCanTouchMySwag (7 months ago)
My bad so 2 players play as Mario?
Mr.Ritchie (7 months ago)
NobodyCanTouchMySwag lies, the co op is fun and more involved than galaxy, although you can screw mario over a lot if you are so inclined... (give a joycon to a 7 year old and tell her not to jump during a 2d section... see how long she lasts hahaha) but overall 2p mode is really fun
NobodyCanTouchMySwag (7 months ago)
there is no co op
zoniken (7 months ago)
And people and the world already hate Sonic for what he is now. *Shame.*
Louis DellaLucca (7 months ago)
The mermaids remind me of when Alex played Mario 64 Final Impact. “Don’t Stare at me Pervert!” “I just got called a pervert in a Mario Game!”
YourBoyElli (7 months ago)
my day always gets better when I hear your intro
Pixel Perfect (7 months ago)
All it’s missing is a cheeky water container on your back
Mr.Ritchie (7 months ago)
Pixel Perfect there is one level in the game that might have a mechanic you are looking for... just saying ;-)
M R (7 months ago)
"Tails" Shots fired
Bobbicorn (7 months ago)
ITS RAININ' TENS HALLELUJAH ITS RAININ' TENS
Justin Carrillo (7 months ago)
Looking into getting a switch very soon. Should I get Mario oddesy or breath of the wild first???
Mr.Ritchie (7 months ago)
Honestly it depends on which you like more... do you like mario or zelda? Both add something new into the mix that changes the general formula... but the roots are still there... plus each game could be said to be the best in their genre... so which ever you decide, you will be happy! (Plus you can get the other down the road)
Moataz Seada (7 months ago)
Justin Carrillo Mario
Kevin (7 months ago)
1080P? Alex this games max resolution is 900P.. AND its dynamic, sometimes it drops down to 720!
Kevin (7 months ago)
How unprofessional nyeheh
Lova Mitchell (7 months ago)
the peaple who disliked are sonic fans.
Gamer Chief (7 months ago)
Hey can someone tell me if rhere are any spoilers here?
Gamer Chief (7 months ago)
Hey can someone tell me if rhere are any spoilers here?
usernametaken 56 (7 months ago)
Ninty is back on top of the videogame world with the switch and its AAAA level games. I am happy for that :)
An Anonymous User (7 months ago)
I don't know whether to watch a bunch of Mario odyssey now and spoil the surprise or what til Christmas when I get it and have much more fun Can someone help me?
TheLegendThatIsLank (7 months ago)
Murph 123 Don’t spoil the game for yourself, I did that with Breath of The Wild and paid the price, the game felt so boring after that.
BuddyEman (7 months ago)
Is the game shorter than you expected?
Xavier Caron (7 months ago)
7.8 out of 10 to much water
AandNvg (7 months ago)
Ign gave it a 10/10 so the joke doesn't work.
LAN Fan (7 months ago)
I loved the Completionist reference in there!
Samuel Galan (7 months ago)
What music is playing in that little intro at the beginning?
Rami Abdalla (7 months ago)
rip assassin's creed origins
cyberfreak4984 (7 months ago)
Nintendolife delivering as always.
Mclloydeeee (7 months ago)
I think the game does look great but man, giving Nintendo games 10/10 is a serious issue! I say this because that isn't a level headed un-bias review! It's more of a fanboy review! I have played some great games on all platforms and i've also play some shite but i wouldn't score any of those shite games a Zero because unless the game didn't work at all then it doesn't deserve a 0/10 but also a great game is never perfect so i would never give a game 10/10. This guy obviously loves Nintendo, gets money through his Nintendo youtube videos and also gets free stuff from Nintendo! Very much a massive fanboy who sounds like a child when giving it 10/10. Nintendo Life, u seriously need to grow up and give it a fair review, not one that is obviously bias as what any bias fanboy would say about the product they cheer-lead!!!!!
NobodyCanTouchMySwag (7 months ago)
Every game has flaws including Mario odyssey and giving Mario odyssey that many 100s on metacritic does include a lot of bias (I'm not saying it shouldn't be high, it should, its a good game).
AandNvg (7 months ago)
http://www.metacritic.com/game/switch/super-mario-odyssey/critic-reviews So all of these critics are biased?How is that possible?
Daniel harman (7 months ago)
I feel bad for all the people at my school today who said oddysey is dumb
Garvy Gorman MUA (7 months ago)
Every Nintendo Life opening, I can't help but think you've got some Irish heritage in you somewhere haha - Great review, can't wait for midnight to roll around for my pre-load of the game
Esteban Valdovinos (7 months ago)
Tossed aside like a used tissue. Saying that makes it feel like bowser no longer has to beat his meat cause now peach is going to do it for him. But we all know it’s a Mario game and bowser loses. I hope no one make any perverted art of this. Please no.
Mr.Ritchie (7 months ago)
Esteban Valdovinos too late, you have willed it into existance just by uttering it. You should have sealed your mind... now you have doomed us all!
j00st00s (7 months ago)
Thanks for not too many spoilers but that lava world was never revealed, soooooo
j00st00s (6 months ago)
Yeah, I've beaten it
Bradley Chan (6 months ago)
j00st00s You beat Darker side? I beat it 3 times.
j00st00s (7 months ago)
good thing i already finished the game, but that was a dick move
Joeynator3000 (7 months ago)
I liked Tails... :c
Jamaican Bacon (7 months ago)
I love that salmonids poster in the back!! It's so cute! xD
exzisd (7 months ago)
I watched this review 3 times.
MasterKcoop (7 months ago)
Nintendo with yet ANOTHER fantastic game? *goty.exe has stopped working*
Zomble Bee (7 months ago)
I can't watch. Just listening. Lol
Zomble Bee (7 months ago)
whatever it's such a good game 🔥
whatever (7 months ago)
lmao I did the same
DJ Shadz YT (7 months ago)
6:45 SONIC MANIA DEFENSE SQUAD ASSEMBLE
DJ Shadz YT (7 months ago)
Nintendo Life Lol we know, well I do. Loved the video man! 👍
Nintendo Life (7 months ago)
I love Mania.

Would you like to comment?

Join YouTube for a free account, or sign in if you are already a member.