HomeВидеоигрыRelated VideosMore From: Nintendo Life

The Best Gets Better - Super Mario Odyssey Review | Super Mario Odyssey for Nintendo Switch

2473 ratings | 81424 views
Wowsers trousers, it's finally time to review Super Mario Odyssey for the Nintendo Switch! Is it the Mario game we expect, or does it fall short? Alex is the man in the know. Check out our full site ■ http://www.nintendolife.com Like us on Facebook ■ https://www.facebook.com/nintendolife Follow us on Twitter ■ https://www.twitter.com/nintendolife
Category: Видеоигры
Html code for embedding videos on your blog
Text Comments (354)
The game needs power ups and that's it. Then it would be perfect.
Buddy boo (1 month ago)
Images how happy Nintendo must be I LOVE Nintendo
Eugene Shen (2 months ago)
1:52 lands in the land of lands
Anth M5859 (4 months ago)
Mario, the Italian plumber from Brooklyn that jumps like an Indian and has a Mexican mustache, yet ultimately created by the Japanese.
Youssef Amr (5 months ago)
3:52 find as many power moons as you can eat lol lmao 🤣😂🤣😂🤣😂🤣😂🤣😂🤣🤣😂🤣😂🤣😂🤣🤣😂🤣😂🤣😂🤣🤣😂🤣😂🤣🤣😂🤣🤣
Rey Garcia (8 months ago)
1:49 tissiu
Rey Garcia (8 months ago)
Your voice is so annoying
Daniel (8 months ago)
You're channel is great sir! You don't over explain everything. Great content in a tidy and quick package!
Jesse Eaton (8 months ago)
I hate Nintendo life he is stupid
logan (9 months ago)
Peeeeeeople
Nintendo Boy (10 months ago)
I LOVE ODYSEEY SO MUCH ITS GREAT I LOVE SUPER MARIO ODYSEEY AND SUPER MARIO ODYSEEY LOVES ME. Too bad i already beat it 100%
Moist Towelettes (10 months ago)
Who’s Muwrio
i just got really stoned (10 months ago)
nintendo really pulled their head out of their ass on this game
davot480 (10 months ago)
yeah... i would play on the tv, if my brother wasn't playing fortnite 24/7 😂😂
LarTech (10 months ago)
nice smw outro
Sandro Munoz (10 months ago)
Oh man, where did you get that print behind you??  Must have that!
Did Nintendo do anything wrong with this game?
Craig Cooper (11 months ago)
don't know why the other reviews state this is 900p max, and goes down during quick camera movement... I still love it to death tho, have 750 power moons, and I'm getting close to completion.
epicdude312 (11 months ago)
I'd give this game a 101/10 instead of a 100/10 if Koopa Freerunning didn't exist
BANANNA (11 months ago)
"if your a proper jirard star completionist"
MIkeyFish 1220 (11 months ago)
"The land of the land of bonneton, a land where the land" how many times will he say land
GamingArc (11 months ago)
It got worse by 1 thing WHY CANT YOU USE LUIGI FOR PLAYER 2!?!?!??!???
Matt Garrelts (11 months ago)
"a land where the land is inherited by hat creatures who roam the land"
Tim Shaw (1 year ago)
You shouldn't vote Odyssey 10/10 tbh, that's like saying that there's nothing better than mario odyssey because it's perfect. Trust me though, every mario game will always improve. The next mario gsme will be better than odyssey i think.
The Dragon Legault (1 year ago)
Ok I’m sorry but I honestly feel this game is not worth a 10 at all for a couple of reason. 2 big reasons 1 same tired as save the princess story peach gets kidnapped have to save cash the f@cking check. I’m sorry but Nintendo really needs to evolve and realize story is as important as gameplay now a days. 2nd reason is too many damn moons. Yes I know it’s supposed to be a collectathon I get that I really do but when so many of them about 90% of them are so stupid easy to get it defeats the purpose of even having them. It’s quantity over quality. Now these two are personal problems I will admit but here we go. First MARIO isn’t a character he is a blank slate racist Italian stereotype. Second for me I absolutely hate sandbox games I just don’t like them. Now is the game fun.... yes. Is the gam worth buying.... yes. Is it worth a 10/10 or whatever the perfect score that ever other reviewer is given it....hell no. I honestly say it’s a 8/10. I have more to say but I’m much better at talking than typing Projared is the one I think is the most spot on with his review of the game. It’s a good game yes but in the same league as breath of the wild hell no. But all in all yes the game is fun and it is worth your time buying and playing
Trupon (1 year ago)
Was that footage in the beginning from a trailer
Heth Rham (1 year ago)
happy looks like he was the product of the shell jump from Mario maker
Reggie Mass (1 year ago)
Nintendo, thank God I make good coin BECAUSE YOU'RE KILLING MY WALLET MAN!!!!!
Simket Blue (1 year ago)
its not 1080p the max is 900p #DigitalFoundry
Teresa McCarty (1 year ago)
WOW LOVE IT GREAT GRAPHICS!!!
NYYanks2003040506 (1 year ago)
I'm a PlayStation guy but my choice for Game of the Year is very easy this time around, Super Mario Odyssey takes it hands down. I love Super Mario 64 and both Galaxy games but Odyssey tops both as my favorite of the 3D series and is making a serious run at World as my favorite Mario game period. The amount of content and the consistent ability to surprise... The game is phenomenal, it's amazing that after three decades this franchise still delivers generation-defining experiences.
The Crook (1 year ago)
The switch sound is soooooo nice
Richard Newton (1 year ago)
Personally my best Mario game ever. Mario 64 was my previous favourite with super Mario World a close 3rd. 3d Mario land was good, but I prefer not being rushed, love exploring and feels like a true sequel to Mario 64. This game is potentially my favourite game of all time. Mario switch and the PS4 have me in gaming heaven at last.
Fox Stevens (1 year ago)
Mare-io? Mar-iyo....
AJ5025 (1 year ago)
The subscribe button expects me to click it. To go above and beyond that I clicked it twice... Now I'm unsubscribed... 😉
Chugcat Entertainment (1 year ago)
Cuphead: My game is amazing! Everyone loves it! Super Mario odyssey: Hold my beer
Wet Dino (1 year ago)
I'm sorry but I'm going to have to disagree with you alex. I have played probably 60% of my play time on handheld and I feel don't feel like my experience has been ruined in the slightest! An absolute masterpiece of a game! Deffinately deserves all 10/10's and more!
Mateo (1 year ago)
So why is it a 10? I'm sure it is, but if it's a 10, why were other equally amazing games short changed? I'm happy enough it's a great game, but concerned this favoritism discounts other games. Like why isn't Mario Kart 8D a 10? I just don't understand why they built all these console games for a portable machine. It's like they were all meant for Wii U but it wasn't worth supporting. I guess I expected more handheld like games. Just feels weird putting all these motion controls on a handheld
leapyleaf (1 year ago)
i got 50 persent of the game spoiled by thumbnails is it still worth it?
NINTENDAWN (1 year ago)
I liked it, but it was dissapointing. Way too short. Got to the final boss in a few hours.
Foam Cow (1 year ago)
I have a slight issue with your review - only slight. I watched the review before purchasing the game and you said that the game is sandbox like Mario 64 and Mario Sunshine and not so much guided along as Galaxy 1 & 2 have been, I would have to strongly disagree with this. I really feel like the game is guided along its just the levels (Kingdoms) are just bigger than the usual worlds we are used to in Mario games. Would like to hear your reply about this Alex... From NintendoLife
Camden D'Alessio (1 year ago)
Foam Cow I felt like that at first as well, like, "yeesh, for a sandbox Mario this stuff's pretty linear," but it quickly opens up over time as you learn the worlds and learn to maneuver Mario better--the linear-feeling temple of the sand kingdom quickly became another playground for me as I realized the most obvious path was far from the only path, and it works this way across all the levels Like, consider bob-omb battlefield in 64. it *seems* like it's set along a linear path at first, but seems to open up over time, and you realize it's really an open playground, and that really the linear path was only the most obvious one
BrainBuzzz (1 year ago)
so for my first switch game, should I get this, BOTW, or MK8 Deluxe?
Ethan Kogan (1 year ago)
I had that same one more moon feeling in New Donk City. I came out with 52 moons.
Space duck Guy (1 year ago)
add wuluglli dlc (don't know how 2 sell wuluglli)
TheDrewSaga (1 year ago)
This is the second game that has come out this year worthy of a 10/10 rating. GoTY between Zelda BoTW and this game is an incredibly tough choice, and I don't think we will be seeing any more games this year or even next that can match it.
Snarky Mark (1 year ago)
One mistake in your review, +Nintendo Life, it isn't rendered in 1080p. It's upscaled 900p, in order to try and keep the framerate at 60 fps.
Juggernaut (1 year ago)
Yet another fanboy
Danny Taylor-Smith (1 year ago)
Wooo! Completionist mention!
Discount (1 year ago)
He lands in the land of Bonneton, a land where the land is populated by creatures who have no direct contact to the land.
tommy trucker (1 year ago)
what an appalling phallus
emarskineel (1 year ago)
A channel by the name of Nintendo life likes a MARIO game. Wow.
SwishhVisions (1 year ago)
if zelda has dlc dis will 2
Hipeopeo YT (1 year ago)
Can you jump and dive? It’s my favorite move. Edit: Yes, you can. Thanks!
awakenedCrowlStudios (1 year ago)
This game is oficially my favourite game 2017. The only contestant was Breath of the Wild... and it has beaten Breath of the Wild by far. It might just be my favourite game of all time. I'm can't say for sure until the initial hype has worn off, but so far I love it more than any other game before.
Reyn the Insane (1 year ago)
Hey Alex, do a video on bad Metacritic user reviews, especially the awful review made by PS5Masterrace.
Omary Smith (1 year ago)
only one thing you ant talk bout the music...... sounds quality
Levelzzz 1 (1 year ago)
The visuals the visuals ....seriously been blown away by odyssey switch underpowered ? Ha good one 😂
How can these people be called professional gaming critics
Pojackel we're talking about the same people who pretended to have played sonic forces and say the game is absolute garbage even tho they havent even played themseleves
Stormin' Norman (1 year ago)
Nintendo has Game of the Year on lock down. The only games worth debating are Breath of the Wild and Mario Odyssey.
logan (9 months ago)
Stormin' Norman well I mean... Persona 5 was amazing as well
Yak Eru (1 year ago)
Great video ! But where can I find these paintings/prints ? I love the Screeee ! one :-D
Joshua Werner (1 year ago)
Say it with me.... MAR-IO ....NOT MARRY-O. ;)
Moataz Seada (1 year ago)
Now I need a good Donkey Kong for the Switch
Moataz Seada (1 year ago)
Nintendo gives me joy
NeoStrike (1 year ago)
I NEED A SWITCH
Able2 win (1 year ago)
Mario or zelda ?
Moataz Seada (1 year ago)
Diogo Pereira Both, but start with Mario
DJ ManRay (1 year ago)
Surely You Are Starting To Run Out Of 10\10s.
Moataz Seada (1 year ago)
John Cena!!!! Splatoon 2, Zelda and Mario are all worth it
Skizerz the Almighty (1 year ago)
So I've clocked in 4 hours, and damn is this game amazing. It's an essential purchase if you've ever liked a mario game in your life.
jimmyjthorn (1 year ago)
My game is weirdly pixilated...
Sir Potato (1 year ago)
This is my favorite SMO advertisement!
Sir Potato (1 year ago)
My holiday checklist: Dark Souls 3 Halo 4 Cuphead PS4 Update gaming PC
IndieSushi (1 year ago)
What a sexy hairstyle Alex has
Alvin The Sommar (1 year ago)
Huh, Nintendo makes their new games more like the older ones. The new Zelda is open world like the first two Zeldas and the new Mario is more like the first 3D Mario
Indo Imran (1 year ago)
Hey Alex! How's the co-op in this game? Looking forward to playing with my wife like we did in Galaxy 1+2!
NobodyCanTouchMySwag (1 year ago)
My bad so 2 players play as Mario?
Mr.Ritchie (1 year ago)
NobodyCanTouchMySwag lies, the co op is fun and more involved than galaxy, although you can screw mario over a lot if you are so inclined... (give a joycon to a 7 year old and tell her not to jump during a 2d section... see how long she lasts hahaha) but overall 2p mode is really fun
NobodyCanTouchMySwag (1 year ago)
there is no co op
And people and the world already hate Sonic for what he is now. *Shame.*
Louis DellaLucca (1 year ago)
The mermaids remind me of when Alex played Mario 64 Final Impact. “Don’t Stare at me Pervert!” “I just got called a pervert in a Mario Game!”
YourBoyElli (1 year ago)
my day always gets better when I hear your intro
Pixel Perfect (1 year ago)
All it’s missing is a cheeky water container on your back
Mr.Ritchie (1 year ago)
Pixel Perfect there is one level in the game that might have a mechanic you are looking for... just saying ;-)
M R (1 year ago)
"Tails" Shots fired
Bobbicorn (1 year ago)
ITS RAININ' TENS HALLELUJAH ITS RAININ' TENS
Justin Carrillo (1 year ago)
Looking into getting a switch very soon. Should I get Mario oddesy or breath of the wild first???
Mr.Ritchie (1 year ago)
Honestly it depends on which you like more... do you like mario or zelda? Both add something new into the mix that changes the general formula... but the roots are still there... plus each game could be said to be the best in their genre... so which ever you decide, you will be happy! (Plus you can get the other down the road)
Moataz Seada (1 year ago)
Justin Carrillo Mario
Kevin (1 year ago)
1080P? Alex this games max resolution is 900P.. AND its dynamic, sometimes it drops down to 720!
Kevin (1 year ago)
How unprofessional nyeheh
Lova Mitchell (1 year ago)
the peaple who disliked are sonic fans.
Gamer Chief (1 year ago)
Hey can someone tell me if rhere are any spoilers here?
Gamer Chief (1 year ago)
Hey can someone tell me if rhere are any spoilers here?
usernametaken 56 (1 year ago)
Ninty is back on top of the videogame world with the switch and its AAAA level games. I am happy for that :)
I don't know whether to watch a bunch of Mario odyssey now and spoil the surprise or what til Christmas when I get it and have much more fun Can someone help me?
TheLegendThatIsLank (1 year ago)
Murph 123 Don’t spoil the game for yourself, I did that with Breath of The Wild and paid the price, the game felt so boring after that.
BuddyEman (1 year ago)
Is the game shorter than you expected?
Xavier Caron (1 year ago)
7.8 out of 10 to much water
AandNvg (1 year ago)
Ign gave it a 10/10 so the joke doesn't work.
LAN Fan (1 year ago)
I loved the Completionist reference in there!
Samuel Galan (1 year ago)
What music is playing in that little intro at the beginning?
Rami Abdalla (1 year ago)
rip assassin's creed origins
cyberfreak4984 (1 year ago)
Nintendolife delivering as always.
Mclloydeeee (1 year ago)
I think the game does look great but man, giving Nintendo games 10/10 is a serious issue! I say this because that isn't a level headed un-bias review! It's more of a fanboy review! I have played some great games on all platforms and i've also play some shite but i wouldn't score any of those shite games a Zero because unless the game didn't work at all then it doesn't deserve a 0/10 but also a great game is never perfect so i would never give a game 10/10. This guy obviously loves Nintendo, gets money through his Nintendo youtube videos and also gets free stuff from Nintendo! Very much a massive fanboy who sounds like a child when giving it 10/10. Nintendo Life, u seriously need to grow up and give it a fair review, not one that is obviously bias as what any bias fanboy would say about the product they cheer-lead!!!!!
NobodyCanTouchMySwag (1 year ago)
Every game has flaws including Mario odyssey and giving Mario odyssey that many 100s on metacritic does include a lot of bias (I'm not saying it shouldn't be high, it should, its a good game).
AandNvg (1 year ago)
http://www.metacritic.com/game/switch/super-mario-odyssey/critic-reviews So all of these critics are biased?How is that possible?
Daniel harman (1 year ago)
I feel bad for all the people at my school today who said oddysey is dumb
Garvsterrr (1 year ago)
Every Nintendo Life opening, I can't help but think you've got some Irish heritage in you somewhere haha - Great review, can't wait for midnight to roll around for my pre-load of the game
Esteban Valdovinos (1 year ago)
Tossed aside like a used tissue. Saying that makes it feel like bowser no longer has to beat his meat cause now peach is going to do it for him. But we all know it’s a Mario game and bowser loses. I hope no one make any perverted art of this. Please no.
Mr.Ritchie (1 year ago)
Esteban Valdovinos too late, you have willed it into existance just by uttering it. You should have sealed your mind... now you have doomed us all!
j00st00s (1 year ago)
Thanks for not too many spoilers but that lava world was never revealed, soooooo
j00st00s (11 months ago)
Yeah, I've beaten it
Bradley Chan (11 months ago)
j00st00s You beat Darker side? I beat it 3 times.
j00st00s (1 year ago)
good thing i already finished the game, but that was a dick move
Joeynator3000 (1 year ago)
I liked Tails... :c
Jamaican Bacon (1 year ago)
I love that salmonids poster in the back!! It's so cute! xD
exzisd (1 year ago)
I watched this review 3 times.

Would you like to comment?

Join YouTube for a free account, or sign in if you are already a member.