HomeКомпьютерные игрыRelated VideosMore From: Eurogamer

Dark Souls the Board Game Review

22884 ratings | 710264 views
Dark Souls the Board Game is finally here, but is it any good? Resident tabletop enthusiast Johnny died several times in order to find out, so really the least you could do is watch his review. Subscribe to Eurogamer - http://www.youtube.com/subscription_center?add_user=eurogamer For the latest video game reviews, news and analysis, check out http://www.eurogamer.net and don't forget to follow us on Twitter: http://twitter.com/eurogamer
Html code for embedding videos on your blog
Text Comments (1351)
Joe Ewens (1 year ago)
I enjoyed this, especially the man in the burgundy jumper, who had the best arms and hands.
gozzilla177 (1 year ago)
Joe Ewens careful I may jump thru the window while you play and become an invader on the board!
CidGuerreiro1234 (1 year ago)
Then we shall kick each other until one of us lies dead on the ground. Have at you, sir.
Joe Ewens (1 year ago)
What?! How dare you! I will now have to fight you, but I am unwilling to use my beautiful hands and arms to fight because they are too precious, so I will lose.
CidGuerreiro1234 (1 year ago)
I've seen better hands and arms, 6/10.
Jeremy Molina (1 year ago)
Joe Ewens I was thinkimg the same excact thing...
Alex Vazquez (5 days ago)
I have this and dont regret buying it but i would love it if they make a souls game using the same mechanics so i can play w my friends online.
Mr13Woot (10 days ago)
Awesome...all's i need now is some friends (sob)
XxSLIDER17xX (14 days ago)
You have convinced me on this purchase sir. Thank you(:
Juan Rodriguez (17 days ago)
thank u for changing kilograms to pounds mate
Ethan Dobson (25 days ago)
Would i be able to paint and spruce up the miniatures?
Shadow Clone (28 days ago)
What exactly are the player minatures? There's the warrior from dark souls 3, what looks to be a wanderer with a generic sword(balder side sword?) a knight with perchance a gargoyle halberd, and another knight...
Joe King (1 month ago)
I wish this was an app as well, I know that sounds casual but look at how smooth many other board games transfer to phones.
Furvius Garfield (1 month ago)
Its the dark souls of board games
Nacho Libre (1 month ago)
I seriously gotta study for my finals
josh theobald (1 month ago)
sweet review! good job
Jacob Sotelo (1 month ago)
Played my first table top board game yesterday and it was a blast. I really want this now
BobaTeaBunny (1 month ago)
Just got this for my boyfriend’s birthday!!!!! I’m so excited to see his reaction 😭 DS is his favorite series.
gausm warhole (1 month ago)
stop saying shit that's just fuckin warhammers
Booyaaa (1 month ago)
Nice video! Just picked it up!
The Vengeful Executioner (2 months ago)
1:53 I'm getting this just because of that Smough ;)
Dogma 515 (2 months ago)
I wonder how many people who got this will actually be going through the time to paint everything like I will if I get it? Especially if I get the Artorias expansion, no way in hell am I leaving him and Sif as some grey plastic!
MagnificentFiend (2 months ago)
0:31 It's so dispiriting that imperial measures have fallen out of use in England.
powerhail (2 months ago)
Enjoyable play time hahahahahahahahahaha Youve play the video game right?
powerhail (2 months ago)
You don't win you get a little better each time you die
DrFruityLoops (2 months ago)
easy win dex 99 HAHAAH
Nym Alous (2 months ago)
I know that this comment is coming a year late, but... Johnny, please do more of these boardgame reviews! This video was quite good, it was enjoyable to watch, it was informative, and it made me want to buy the game... and I haven't even played the Dark Souls video games! My family love board games, we probably have a couple-hundred different ones, so this was right up my street. Thanks!
The Triggered Cracker (3 months ago)
8:04 voice crack
Aaron Jensen (3 months ago)
I WANT
Necrophite78 (3 months ago)
I'd wish a couple of experts in painting warhammer figures had designed a paint job for these little miniatures! Then they would truly come to life!
Zeratul (3 months ago)
You should try the game. A friend of mine bought it. 3 of us crashed at his place spending hours playing this shit. It's fun! and the grind is super real!
Ashley Smith (4 months ago)
Fabulous review Johnny. Brought here from your recent playthrough with Aoife and I know of several gamers who will enjoy this.
Richard G (4 months ago)
Dang, this just predated my following of Eurogamer; more of this sort of thing'd be very welcome! I'm a big follower of Shut Up and Sit Down, and more decent tabletop gaming coverage would be great - so many of the existing channels I find either obnoxious or just plain dull.
Jet Propelled Squid (4 months ago)
Thanks mate. I saw this game and was curious as to weather it was any good. Considering buying it!
Penteliuc Sebastian (4 months ago)
No abys watchers?
Daddy Hirohito (4 months ago)
Can I reset the game by going into a bonfire?
SLIMETURNER BRO (4 months ago)
“Dark souls board game no death run”
Suleiman The Magnificent (4 months ago)
Did somebody say Bill Brasky?
Sinbad Naiver (4 months ago)
I saw the game, i pretty much would prefer playing this than the actual video game, knowing how FUCKING HARD the original game is D:
Roberto Prestigiacomo (5 months ago)
No solaire, no purchase.
juanki Arosemena (5 months ago)
it would be funny if two dice's would say you died 😂
TheCompleteMental (5 months ago)
*picks up game* _You need more STR to weild this weapon_
Peterkaboomi Train (5 months ago)
The world's hardest board game
Caisy The CaveMan (5 months ago)
It need solaire
Giles S (5 months ago)
Love the board game video
Destroyer Slayer (5 months ago)
QQQQ
Fintan (5 months ago)
NERDS! I love dark souls but this just seems so old fashion, it's like going hunting or a rabbit with a knife instead of just going to the grocery store. I love Dark Souls though lol, I'm sure it's just an aquired taste(boardgames).
Maroš Varga (5 months ago)
Dark Souls: Prepare to play the board game and read the manual edition.
Ieago (5 months ago)
House rules that helped me: 1: Every player starts wth four souls to spend. 2: Draw five treasure cards and lay them out as a market to buy from, spend a soul to refresh. 3: Feed souls to your spark dial to keep retrys coming.
John Collins (5 months ago)
Sounds like an interesting game. I might have to give it a shot.
DazeD Puppy (5 months ago)
loved this
Jadon BTMurder (5 months ago)
8:04 Excuse your puberty.
Miqseri GX (6 months ago)
Looks cool
Nikita .Petrov (6 months ago)
does this guy seriously review board games?
Valtharr (2 months ago)
yeah. like a lot of people do.
Ben Glaser (6 months ago)
How about the Bloodborne board game?
Jesse Melanson (6 months ago)
Tedious and repetitive. Sounded great on paper, but it doesn't capture the beauty of the vg, only the grind.
T H I C C B O I SMOGH (6 months ago)
This seems like d&d
David Clarke (6 months ago)
Having just rediscovered and rewatched this fantastic episode I would love to see the Eurogamer team play more board game adaptations of video games (at least to begin with), for example the Fallout board game or the Doom board game :D
CapeFury (6 months ago)
This is really good. for boardgamer who really only has the Dice tower to look at quality reviews
Nicholas Cubides (6 months ago)
I hope the board game is as hard as the original game. *opens box* _you died_
Lestat (6 months ago)
For someone who plays so many board games the lack of actual criticisms is surprising & feels unrealistic.
Shawn Wax (6 months ago)
I want this just for the mini figures!
scottyflyingdragon (7 months ago)
Great review... I played the game for the first time last night. I picked up the game pretty quick and felt the same as you. The 90 to 120 min time was well under. We played our first campaign over 5 hours! My group love coop board games and I would like to see more reviews from you.
Spirit Wave (7 months ago)
They need to do this for bloodborne
rpd (7 months ago)
i might get this just for the figures
XsigmaZ (7 months ago)
Man.. i would love to have over a couple of mate and drink a beer or 2 or/and roll up a fat one and just reck carnege! :D
Antix (7 months ago)
Cardboard > PC
townnet (7 months ago)
Which platform this game make for? PS4, XBOX ONE & PC?
Mighty Murph (7 months ago)
God damnit now I def need this
If it was a board game, From Software would com3 and flip the board over and say:"FUCK you"
Ass Man (7 months ago)
Im thumbing this up just because you were considerate of my inability to comprehend kilograms.
360 TrollScope (8 months ago)
It would be cool if they had Gwyn, Artories, and Abybss Watchers
Brian Thomas (8 months ago)
Great video, definitely down to see more!
Paparoni (9 months ago)
I want this and I want to make custom pieces, like a mimic or artorias. Hell maybe a giant dad.
Red Ember (9 months ago)
Hi there! Can anybody tell me if I purchase Dark Souls now I get just basic game or different expansions are included?
Keonikun _ (9 months ago)
gued
RedValkyrie 84 (9 months ago)
God i really want to play tabletop games now!!
Doctor Doom (10 months ago)
The Dark Souls of all board games!
Mr. Mimik (10 months ago)
Dark Souls the Board Game is as good as the video game, and once it's set up and everyone understands the rules, it's the most fun one can have with dice and some fancy little toy soldiers.
Dom Watt (10 months ago)
A full game plays for about 3 and a half hours with 4 players
Z the Booza (10 months ago)
what the actual fuck has dark souls dissolved into?
The MADGamer (10 months ago)
After playing this a couple times and understanding the rules and not having to refer to the manual, it only took about 45 min to get to the miniboss 4player game. It really only takes over 2 hours when you're learning, referring to the manual and realizing your strategies didn't work. So even in the boardgame you have no choice but to GIT GUD.
Boston Towny4life (10 months ago)
Is this like a table top RPG or is it just a board game?
The MADGamer (10 months ago)
The stat requirements for a lot of the items don't make sense, like the miracle force - requiring intelligence. Plus much more unnecessary int and faith requirements for some weapons, like they never played the video game. Also no parry mechanics? I do like the endurance bar. Just did my first playthrough with some friends and it was definitely fun. I give it a 7.5/10 for some things that I want to change (house rules) to make it just slightly more like the video game. If you are a fan get it! Also no parry dice? Parrying is usually the most effective and rewarding action in the game.
Harald Meyer (11 months ago)
Lovord this rewiev four thumbs up!
El_Blog_De_Raul (11 months ago)
Soy el unico que penso que este era el canal de Borja? Jajajaa
firstechelon (11 months ago)
1/20 Americans watching here, and thanks for converting to lbs...
Woltergeist (11 months ago)
The consequences of bad luck when dodging are way too harsh in the game. The dodge mechanic has too much variance based on luck. To fix this I implemented a dodge mechanic in the game that I call 'low variance dodging'. Use the normal dodge mechanic when a failed dodge isn't fatal. Use the low variance dodge mechanic when a failed dodge is fatal (under normal dodge rules). Low variance dodging means that you perform a dodge dice roll for every single damage and take damage equal to the number of times the dodge dice roll failed.
Albireo (11 months ago)
Well, I guess it would be even "harder" than Dark Souls in the grinding aspect, you don't really have to farm souls in the game because it's designed for you to loose them and still have enough levels so bossfights etc give a lot of souls, while this one doesn't, or am I mistaking?
Carver Upqik (11 months ago)
blocking in dark souls is actually why so many people think the games are hard if you be aggressive its actually easy
d3nyd (1 year ago)
Excellent review and I agree with all your points, praise and gripes alike.
rusO_16 (1 year ago)
I wish I have those $130
Zakre Kaosu (1 year ago)
picking this up today
Irfan Spirtovic (1 year ago)
Does it have poise?
Mechanicle (1 year ago)
I'd buy this just for the figurines
Special Guest Erik (1 year ago)
The game is balanced for one player, but there are only disadvantages when adding players. Playing the game with a group of four is just a slog. Due to the turn mechanics, a party of four has no more offensive power than a single player. And though having four characters worth of HP would maybe be a boon, any character dying is a whole party wipe, and having 4 enemy turns before a character can respond leads to many more completely unavoidable deaths. So, if you're set to play this by yourself, or maybe one friend, it's okay. But as a group game night game, it's a total wash without heavy house rules.
Dennis K. (1 year ago)
I have an extra copy if anyones interested!
yewwowduck (1 year ago)
oh man, the bending on those minis.. I mean, at least it's priced correctly to that.
Jason Lee (1 year ago)
This game sounds pretty great. It sounds like what I hoped the Bloodborne one would be like.
Cinder (1 year ago)
POWER UP THE BASS CANON
Bethany G. (1 year ago)
I'd love to see more board game vids, especially a video of all 4 of y'all playing that copy of Mysterium you've got behind you. That would be super duper fun to watch!
tutunaku (1 year ago)
Have y'all played the Bloodbourne card game?
GhostRime (1 year ago)
Where can I buy it ??
сложна!
Martin Fearn (1 year ago)
More board game reviews, please.

Would you like to comment?

Join YouTube for a free account, or sign in if you are already a member.