HomeКомпьютерные игрыRelated VideosMore From: IGN

Octopath Traveler Review

11397 ratings | 591244 views
Octopath Traveler reviewed by Seth Macy on Nintendo Switch. Octopath Traveler: The First 24 Minutes https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9AJvN4_43Ok Subscribe to IGN for more! http://www.youtube.com/user/IGNentertainment?sub_confirmation=1 ------------------------------­---- Follow IGN for more! ------------------------------­---- YOUTUBE: https://www.youtube.com/user/ignentertainment?sub_confirmation=1 IGN OFFICIAL APP: http://www.ign.com/mobile FACEBOOK: https://www.facebook.com/ign TWITTER: https://twitter.com/ign INSTAGRAM: https://instagram.com/igndotcom/?hl=en WEBSITE: http://www.ign.com/ GOOGLE+: https://plus.google.com/+IGN #ign #gaming
Html code for embedding videos on your blog
Text Comments (1917)
Monkey.D Luffy (8 hours ago)
Dude finish the game before reviewing, there is actually an ending calamity boss and the 8 stories actually come to 1 and its all caused by lyblac lady
lelyline74 (19 hours ago)
Great review:) Awesome looking game. One thing sets me back from buying this game though, i thought it would be like final fantasy 6(3 in japan). Why is their no absolute evil power in this game? And i would have expected that all caracters would join together and send out in groups you can form. I still wait for a jrpg game that can beat ff6. Also i missed the humor of final fantasy 6, the wicked octopus, the opera scene. Still i give this game a go one day, their is so much love from developers in this title, you have to own it. Also its build along with fans
ArandomEdboy passingby (19 hours ago)
Love this guys enthusiasme!
hecatomb (20 hours ago)
no bunny suit or puff puff 9 out 10. Oh wait sleep with hookers in every GTA game 9 out of 10
Mic Sounders The 13th (4 days ago)
Like! Like! Like!
DOLOMITE (6 days ago)
Okay this will be the first game I'll get for the switch
Pyrunix (6 days ago)
***spoilers*** "no absolute evil to fight" well now we know he hasnt been to post-game
Basscool 4k (7 days ago)
I don’t regret buying
Stalini Naufahu (11 days ago)
Is that.....personality I schmell off this reviewer?
N.Dz3 (13 days ago)
Love this game!!!
noponn800 (18 days ago)
This game is giving me Kono Subarashii Sekai ni Shukufuku wo! vibes for some weird kind of reason.
Illucitt gaming (19 days ago)
Luv this game keep supporting it!
Jason dp (19 days ago)
This or exenoblade chronicles
FIFO FUKO (20 days ago)
Worst game i have ever played
1077mikev (22 days ago)
0:50 I would like to clarify: yes, characters are 2D and scenery is 3D, but those are merely visuals. The characters can only be controlled in 2 dimensions: X axis and z axis. climbing stairs does not mean the y axis is controllable, a jump button would
Sean T (24 days ago)
IGN needs to use this guy more frequently for reviews.
Sean R (25 days ago)
Romancing saga anyone ?
Zucchinna (25 days ago)
I love tilt-shift graphics when done right
stryfetc1 (25 days ago)
Wow....love this review, but it just made me a little overwhelmed considering I just got my Switch and this game....seems there is much to do!
Adi Yana (27 days ago)
GG
lassoed thesos (27 days ago)
First of all, stellar review, secondly, keep training, you'll beat those hidden job bosses one day!)(thirdly, there is a story connecting them all much more deeply, and there is a world ending calamity, to boot! Just dig deeper, and search harder, and I know you can find it, the answer is closer than you think!)
Liam Humphreys (27 days ago)
The artwork on this game is amazing!
Danny Hargreaves (27 days ago)
I played this game, and except for what I think is what I think are some of the cheapest enemies in gaming history... I really like this game. I've played this game for at least 150 hours, and I'm still going because one of the hardest bosses I've ever faced in a long time. I personally have an odd nitpick with the blend of realistic settings with the sprite-based characters, as I think it's a little odd. I don't know if the contrast works in this game's benefit or the opposite. Buuuuttt... if they ever made a sequel, I would love to see where they go from here, because I think there is so much potential with this game. Although I sometimes hate the enemies at times, beating them to progress is SO MUCH SATISFYING. I love the characters and the story, and found myself crying, laughing, and getting angry. Not enough games give me that emotional involvement, and I thank Octopath Traveler for existing. And the music is top-notch! It's like some XC stuff up in there!
Danny Hargreaves (20 days ago)
They have some B.S. attacks and abilities. ESPECIALLY THE BOSSES.
J-Squeezy (20 days ago)
Danny Hargreaves I’m curious... how are some enemies cheap?
Lesardah (28 days ago)
Hey IGN, maybe keep Seth around for a while? For us? Plz?
Tsunami Barrier (29 days ago)
SE now makes RPG maker games? Yeah whatever. Crappy NES game alert!
J-Squeezy (26 days ago)
Tsunami Barrier These graphics weren’t even possible on the NES, it’s not crappy, nor is it an RPG Maker game.
sexy korean girl (30 days ago)
radiant chronology cloneeeee
Primativ3 (30 days ago)
Only 9.3? Disgustang.
Red Noodles (1 month ago)
Ok
Kat Odonnell (1 month ago)
Dilly dilly
Eljin Dizon (1 month ago)
Hope this game will have a mac port
Kat Odonnell (1 month ago)
A zelda version of this would be amazing
Luke Sullivan (1 month ago)
Just Bought It. great Review :P
WeCreator (1 month ago)
Octopath Traveler Is a game that amazes me! I play this game on my channel! I am still flashed. The story is very nice. The graphics are really cool, the 2D HD system has Gailen Style. I can only recommend this game :-)!
Nintendo Switchy4 (1 month ago)
I miss the pros and cons.
Primrose Azelheart (1 month ago)
I’d give this game 10/10
Emil Karlegrund (1 month ago)
I bought my Nintendo Switch the other day. I saw this game in the shop but decided to put it back and watch a review to see what it's all about, now I know it's a must-buy!
Dj_Ezhel (1 month ago)
Getting this after I finally beat BoTW. I gotta get to playing SM Odyssey as well. Man switch made me buy so many games I can't keep up!! Lol
Duzz96 (1 month ago)
This guy should review every game for ign or at least narrate it.
ZiPSaNe (1 month ago)
Sooo, where are all the people that said octopath wasn't gonna sell even close to a million? Hmmm nowhere? You guys seemed so positive😂
Saul Villalpando (1 month ago)
Just got mine today 😌
ร Raw Rua (1 month ago)
I think this needs to be updated in light of the events of the final dungeon.
Ayde77711 (1 month ago)
The game's great but something disturbing me when I play and then I stop because of that. Why the characters don't talk to each others ? Maybe I didn't go far enough to get to the main point of the game but now, i'm a bit disapointed by this game. I'm a huge fan of final fantasy 3 and Bravely default, but I don't find myself on Octopath travelers or maybe I have to continue to get fun with it.
J-Squeezy (26 days ago)
Ayde77711 The characters talk to each other often. They start conversing once you reach chapter 2.
Thwompthing (1 month ago)
While I don't care for the old art styles anymore since growing up, I'll give it a shot when I get my Switch. RPGs like Witcher 3 are too beautiful to make time for this ancient 16-bit stuff, but I will make time for it eventually.
Geraldo Barretto (1 month ago)
Por muitos mais JRPG's lindos como esse!!
Jordan Z (1 month ago)
The best review IGN has had in a long time 👍🏻
Alex D. (1 month ago)
Please.. Now Final Fantasy Tactics 3 on Switch and Golden Sun too... we need them!
Akita Gaming (1 month ago)
This or xeno blade? Idk which to get
magicmasterfan1 (1 month ago)
xenoblade has a lot of things to keep track of at all times, octopath not so much. also xenoblades battle system is a hit or miss, octopath you already know what youre going into
NESLink1986 (1 month ago)
GAME OF THE YEAR!
Serperior 5 (1 month ago)
Yay Therion is my favorite,plus he was my first.Then I chose H'aanit,then Tressa,and now Olberic.
Ian Meadows (1 month ago)
Is this available on the PS4 and/or 3ds?
Franco Rossel (1 month ago)
Switch exclusive.
Thomas Molina (1 month ago)
An ign review with a passionate and knowledgeable critic? And one who’s review I completely agree with? What sorcery is this?!
Zirkem (1 month ago)
"While the 8 different character stories could've used a little more connection between them..." oh boy are you in for a treat
Marimba Maurice (1 month ago)
It really sounds great but I tend to not play these big games because I can never finish them / I'm overwhelmed by them.
Iolanda Rodriguez (1 month ago)
final fantasy tactics sequel with similar graphics please!
TouchyBanana (1 month ago)
Silicon Studios knows how to make jRPGs with Bravely Default and Bravely Second.
zombie3434 (1 month ago)
Game looks neat, but I just hate J-RPG’s and turn-based combat. Turn-based anything just ruins the game for me.
Toronto_NDN (1 month ago)
zombie3434 whats turn based?
Arthur Bracey (1 month ago)
How could you... rate octopath traveler lower than fortnight
Dreamality (1 month ago)
If you're still on the fence and up for another perspective I reviewed the game as well. It's a more in depth review than this one but I still keep it spoiler free. Others have enjoyed my style you may too. Hope to help ✌
Incarnant (1 month ago)
Looks neat. Never going to buy a Switch though.
Hell Yes Inc. (1 month ago)
Incarnant nobody care
Clown Lives Matter (1 month ago)
Did he say there was no end boss?
Jayce Cherry (1 month ago)
The first real system seller this year. (At least for Switch)
Jayce Cherry (1 month ago)
Did you know that the most searched thing in Japan for a while was "Octopath Traveler PS4"?
Jaimee Roberts (1 month ago)
This does not need to be on the switch......
P K (1 month ago)
Idk if I should get octopath traveler or xenoblade dlc
Johnny Loh (1 month ago)
P K Get both if you like JRPG so much like me. Octopath Traveler and Xenoblade Chronicles 2 are my favourite JPRG on Switch. I believe you won't regret in getting both.
Francisco Chavez (1 month ago)
Loved the tone and excitement you brought to the review, this game is now on my 'to-puchase' list
Chit Bong (1 month ago)
Your Excellency.
Geno of SMRPG (1 month ago)
Got the game on my birthday. Worth it.
Shawn McIntosh (1 month ago)
I need some advice. I can’t beat chapter 2 of any character. I unlocked all characters and even grinned for hours and still die!
Matthew Wolfe (1 month ago)
I've been wanting to play this game since I heard about it... And this just made me want to play it even more. Great review.
PepeZeFrog (1 month ago)
Tbh if u get a switch just buy BOTW MARIO ODYSSEY OCTOPATH TRAVELER SPLATOON 2 And you now have enough to play for a year
Taylor Dow (1 month ago)
This nerd is the nerdiest nerd and I'm loving it
Patrick Curtis (1 month ago)
Calm down bro, no open world, not 16 bit era.
Xaxos92 (1 month ago)
It looks like Terraria
LordTime Bomb (1 month ago)
Can we get this say gut to do every IGN reveiw, this guy has clearly played the dam game.
Sonic171000 (1 month ago)
That score better be high for Octopath Traveler. Edit: *YEAAAAAH.*
3/4ster Bacardi (1 month ago)
Got this game today, after initially being slightly sceptical about it. BUT, oh, was I wrong having even the slightest doubt about this game being a masterpiece! I chose Therion as well to start the game and it is such a joy playing it. I am actually not really a fan of turn-based rpgs but Octopath Traveler, along with the Divinity: Original Sin series, is a major exception. I mean, even though it is turn-based it sort of feels fast-paced. The combat is easily accessabble and a blast to master. The world is beautiful (as far as I can tell, since I only started the game a few hours ago), the graphics are so fricking special they are an awkward delight to look at and the music, THE MUSIC, is simply great and manages to convey the right emotional state for any situation the game has put me in so far.
Nitin Iyengar (1 month ago)
Who do I believe, IGN or dunkey?
Charles Campuz (1 month ago)
IGN on this one. Dunkey didn’t even go pass the first town.
Franco Rossel (1 month ago)
Dunkey is an humor channel. And he hates RPGs, as he has admitted.
Lord Popo (1 month ago)
9.3 - Not enough Battle Royale.
Ibrahim Walker (1 month ago)
7.8 Too many turns
Dr. Dust (1 month ago)
The name is dumb as hell but ill check it
Mister Conflict (1 month ago)
I wonder if someone is gonna make a fan made comic (Like Fire Emblem) about what would happen if all the main characters meet up or something else sooner or later.
Rpgamer 05x (1 month ago)
this game reminds me Shovel Knight people loves it and i simply understand why =/
Eonx Lunestra (1 month ago)
What the heck? This reviewer is awesome! IGN keep using this dude
J. (1 month ago)
Although I appreciate the review, I can't help but think that nowadays, reviews are made with a ton of bias. I couldn't for the life of me get into this game, nor was I "charmed" by it. I did like FF games, but that was then. I'm not sure how to explain it...
J-Squeezy (26 days ago)
J. It’s not bias, you just don’t like the game.
OrgaNism (1 month ago)
Now PS4 players are begging for a port of Octopath Traveler. How does it feel to beg for a port.
Emil C (1 month ago)
8/10 "Too many paths"
Alexander McGrath (1 month ago)
To be honest, while I liked the game's mechanics, and the music is wonderful, the story has some pretty cringey lines. The writing could use some work -- just my two cents.
magicmasterfan1 (1 month ago)
yeah, dialogue and story progression is where the game fails, also poor character interaction... not a deal breaker for me but i can see why some people didnt like it.
Daniel Williams (1 month ago)
Hey, where is IGNs The Persistence reviews?
Timelim (1 month ago)
I didnt Think Id come back to this to cleanse my eyes after viewing Dunkeys toxic "Review" of this game.
Mikael Rivacov (1 month ago)
This could become a classic jrpg. Way to go SE, you still got it. Also, fair review.
John Doe (1 month ago)
Is there a benefit downloading the demo if I own the game already? Like how Pokemon Sun and Moon gave you Ash Greninja, do you get an exclusive item?
partytime (1 month ago)
John Doe no exclusive item, but if you download the demo ,all of your progress you made in the demo will carry over to the game if you decide to buy it.
QuaintAnus (1 month ago)
But dunk hated this
QuaintAnus (1 month ago)
coconut oil He explained very clearly in his video why these kind of games are not that great
Some Good Salt (1 month ago)
dunkey probably doesn't hate the game. He said in the past he has no patience with RPGs its more subjective than objective in his case, however that is not to say what dunkey said should be discredited .
Bowser The Koopa (1 month ago)
Had to come back here to wash the bad taste of Dunkey's "review" out of my mouth.
Some Good Salt (1 month ago)
dunkey probably doesn't hate the game. He said in the past he has no patience with RPGs its more subjective than objective in his case, however that is not to say what dunkey said should be discredited .
ninjafireball (1 month ago)
Videogamedunkey dumped this game, but IGN gives it a 9.3. So I think the game is worth to try out, because both just were investing their time in it already to review it. :)
Some Good Salt (1 month ago)
dunkey probably doesn't hate the game. He said in the past he has no patience with RPGs its more subjective than objective in his case, however that is not to say what dunkey said should be discredited .
Sidney Hinds (1 month ago)
Ive honestly never seen a game with graphics like this before, and the fact that its an rpg game is awesome. One of the main aspects of what makes a great rpg/jrpg game, and determines the ultimate experience is the graphics/atmosphere. This is only my opinion of course, but i just bought this game the other day, and im truly looking forward all that this game has to offer. So far ive played a bit, and have not been disappointed. Im sure the game only gets better the further you get into. I used to not like rpg games when i was a kid cause i thought they were “boring, and/or pointless” but as i got older i started to get bored of all the mainstream video games, and wanted a new gaming experience. Then i started to play rpgs more, and for some reason liked them alot. Rpgs are not for everyone, but i think those who dont like rpgs just dont have a true appreciation for video games, or understand the heart of rpg games. Its more than just a game, you get to engage more, and see a story unfold as you play it. I feel like this game will (hopefully not) be underrated.
Wayne Adams (1 month ago)
Go watch the Dunkey review. :D
Charles Campuz (1 month ago)
Wayne Adams Don’t, he’s not a huge RPG fan.
RicoLen1 (1 month ago)
The shrines to unlock the classes aren't hard to find, they have a unique mini-map marker, and are all in a level 20+ zone (IE chapter 2 level) geographically near to their respective characters starting area. I picked all 8 up before starting each character's second chapter, and none of them had a boss guarding them, so I don't know how the reviewer is coming up with that. ATM I'm 40+ hours in and I am still working on chapter 3, and I've unlocked chapter 4 for a couple characters. So far my biggest complaint is that you can't substitute out your protagonist, this leaves 1 character always struggling to keep up with the other 7, yet if you want to complete the game on a single playthrough they all need to be relatively strong to one another. Primrose Chapter 4 starts at level 45. Yet Cyrus, the guy I've used the least is only level 25 by way of a whole lot of grinding despite H'aanit (my protagonist of choice) being 43, and Ophelia, Olberic, and Primrose, the rest of my A-group are sitting around level 38. My protagonist ends up being far stronger than everyone else and that in turn ups the difficulty level on everyone else, which is fine for now, but I worry that in order to get Cyrus to chapter 4 I might level up H'aanit so far beyond everyone else that my group is no longer strong enough to keep up with the monsters that are equal in level to H'aanit. I'll probably end up killing H'aanit for a while so that she doesn't receive EXP and everyone else can catch up to her. Aside from this issue though, I'm completely in love with this game. Everything about it reminds me of Final Fantasy 6 and for all the right reasons. Even the soundtrack sounds like something Nobuo Uematsu would have written.
RicoLen1 (1 month ago)
I unlocked scholar as a secondary class before I ever really used Cyrus very much. Primrose is my scholar, and while I'm sure Cyrus is better, he just hasn't interested me very much yet. That said, I just finished chapter 2 with him and I'm liking him. I guess it was just a matter of the path I took to get him. I also figured out why the guy said there were bosses guarding the other classes... I didn't know about the 4 others, they're nasty too.
Apolonioman (1 month ago)
RicoLen1 I'm perplexed you have Cyrus so low. He's literally OP and a boss with his scholar skills. I literally run into enemies and kill them with one blow and a boost when it's his turn.
itai x (1 month ago)
Does this game have any water sections? (Like out on a ship). It seems like there are large water areas on the map
Alex Kandahar (1 month ago)
This game looks boring to me. But I wish I could try it.
mannysaurus19 (1 month ago)
This review sold me this game! I'm buying it tomorrow!

Would you like to comment?

Join YouTube for a free account, or sign in if you are already a member.