HomeВидеоигрыRelated VideosMore From: IGN

Octopath Traveler Review

11867 ratings | 632555 views
Octopath Traveler reviewed by Seth Macy on Nintendo Switch. Octopath Traveler: The First 24 Minutes https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9AJvN4_43Ok Subscribe to IGN for more! http://www.youtube.com/user/IGNentertainment?sub_confirmation=1 ------------------------------­---- Follow IGN for more! ------------------------------­---- YOUTUBE: https://www.youtube.com/user/ignentertainment?sub_confirmation=1 IGN OFFICIAL APP: http://www.ign.com/mobile FACEBOOK: https://www.facebook.com/ign TWITTER: https://twitter.com/ign INSTAGRAM: https://instagram.com/igndotcom/?hl=en WEBSITE: http://www.ign.com/ GOOGLE+: https://plus.google.com/+IGN #ign #gaming
Category: Видеоигры
Html code for embedding videos on your blog
Text Comments (1951)
XenoKnightAlpha (2 days ago)
Dude, love your personality, Seth Macy!
Senior 187 (13 days ago)
You think "53 hours" is enough to take on the hardest bosses in a JRPG??.... Think again.
Coffe Man (13 days ago)
To bad they didn’t talk about the inal dungeon that was amazing
i masturbated to the graphics
shrek is life (16 days ago)
Just got this game today cant wait to play
Easy Peezy (16 days ago)
I know that he likely didn’t have the time to reach each, but saying that nothing ties all the story together couldn’t be farther from the truth and, without spoiling too much, there is definitely a overarching connection and world-threatening force at the very end.
Tela Moshtlodo (17 days ago)
It's like Dragon Quest but super awesome+
Owain The True Exalt (21 days ago)
Two of the four shrine bosses can be cheesed with a dancer divine skill on a cleric + reflective veil.
ShonenSamurai (23 days ago)
This is beautiful, but I still have Bravely Default, Second in my backlog. :P
Timothy DeMarre (25 days ago)
Dude the way he was talking about it made it sound like he wanted to marry the developers and have kids with them. AND give this game a 10
Dartik24 (26 days ago)
Objection there is an absolute evil, have you seen the final dungeon? It all connects in there... if u haven't gotten there yet u must
Outfield 243 (26 days ago)
This game looks pretty cool. Too bad it’s switch only
rhytymic (27 days ago)
9.9 score for the reviewer, for this 9.3 review score game
Daniel Fernandes (1 month ago)
Alright Nintendo. Buy Xenogears Copyright and do It right!
I want it... I want it now, and I want it bad.
wu binhao (1 month ago)
dont like the graphic style.
Mattcool10 (1 month ago)
1:36 cough* true ending COUGH*
IttiOnYouTube (1 month ago)
Fortnite had a better score than this!?!
gorch foth (1 month ago)
I need this! I'm buying it!
Nour783 (1 month ago)
I like that you have 8 completely different stories. It’s about each persons journey. It doesn’t have to be about a big baddy to unite them all. They’ve made it so that you have MORE reason to play this game. It’s called replay value! Instead of releasing everything to DLC down the track
Peek the Ankylosaurus (1 month ago)
What a great review, definitely one of the first games I’m getting whenever I buy a switch
Phonzie (1 month ago)
lol such a poo 3DS game
Nodto Modley (1 month ago)
"Poo", really? What are you, five?
Redpoppy (1 month ago)
I agree that the one big thing holding this game back is the lack of interaction between the heroes. The optional dialogues after you start chapter 2 come up short because they are not voice acted. That should have been a must during development even if they would've had to throw in more data.
IT'S AMAZING!!
it's a mixture of Minecraft and an 8 bit styled rpg
Greg (1 month ago)
It could be like final fantasy tatics(the combat),i love this game style
Brosharp (1 month ago)
Great review, I'll definitely be buying this game now
Swe dish (1 month ago)
Best JRPG in years! Played it for months and never get tired of it. Music is fantastic!
Monkey.D Luffy (1 month ago)
Dude finish the game before reviewing, there is actually an ending calamity boss and the 8 stories actually come to 1 and its all caused by lyblac lady
lelyline74 (1 month ago)
Great review:) Awesome looking game. One thing sets me back from buying this game though, i thought it would be like final fantasy 6(3 in japan). Why is their no absolute evil power in this game? And i would have expected that all caracters would join together and send out in groups you can form. I still wait for a jrpg game that can beat ff6. Also i missed the humor of final fantasy 6, the wicked octopus, the opera scene. Still i give this game a go one day, their is so much love from developers in this title, you have to own it. Also its build along with fans
ArandomEdboy passingby (1 month ago)
Love this guys enthusiasme!
hecatomb (1 month ago)
no bunny suit or puff puff 9 out 10. Oh wait sleep with hookers in every GTA game 9 out of 10
Mic Sounders The 13th (2 months ago)
Like! Like! Like!
DOLOMITE (2 months ago)
Okay this will be the first game I'll get for the switch
Pyrunix (2 months ago)
***spoilers*** "no absolute evil to fight" well now we know he hasnt been to post-game
Basscool 4k (2 months ago)
I don’t regret buying
Stalini Naufahu (2 months ago)
Is that.....personality I schmell off this reviewer?
N.Dz3 (2 months ago)
Love this game!!!
noponn800 (2 months ago)
This game is giving me Kono Subarashii Sekai ni Shukufuku wo! vibes for some weird kind of reason.
Illucitt gaming (2 months ago)
Luv this game keep supporting it!
Jason dp (2 months ago)
This or exenoblade chronicles
FIFO FUKO (2 months ago)
Worst game i have ever played
1077mikev (2 months ago)
0:50 I would like to clarify: yes, characters are 2D and scenery is 3D, but those are merely visuals. The characters can only be controlled in 2 dimensions: X axis and z axis. climbing stairs does not mean the y axis is controllable, a jump button would
Sean T (2 months ago)
IGN needs to use this guy more frequently for reviews.
Sean R (2 months ago)
Romancing saga anyone ?
Zucchinna (2 months ago)
I love tilt-shift graphics when done right
stryfetc1 (2 months ago)
Wow....love this review, but it just made me a little overwhelmed considering I just got my Switch and this game....seems there is much to do!
Adi Yana (2 months ago)
GG
lassoed thesos (2 months ago)
First of all, stellar review, secondly, keep training, you'll beat those hidden job bosses one day!)(thirdly, there is a story connecting them all much more deeply, and there is a world ending calamity, to boot! Just dig deeper, and search harder, and I know you can find it, the answer is closer than you think!)
Liam Humphreys (2 months ago)
The artwork on this game is amazing!
Danny Hargreaves (2 months ago)
I played this game, and except for what I think is what I think are some of the cheapest enemies in gaming history... I really like this game. I've played this game for at least 150 hours, and I'm still going because one of the hardest bosses I've ever faced in a long time. I personally have an odd nitpick with the blend of realistic settings with the sprite-based characters, as I think it's a little odd. I don't know if the contrast works in this game's benefit or the opposite. Buuuuttt... if they ever made a sequel, I would love to see where they go from here, because I think there is so much potential with this game. Although I sometimes hate the enemies at times, beating them to progress is SO MUCH SATISFYING. I love the characters and the story, and found myself crying, laughing, and getting angry. Not enough games give me that emotional involvement, and I thank Octopath Traveler for existing. And the music is top-notch! It's like some XC stuff up in there!
Danny Hargreaves (2 months ago)
They have some B.S. attacks and abilities. ESPECIALLY THE BOSSES.
J-Squeezy (2 months ago)
Danny Hargreaves I’m curious... how are some enemies cheap?
Lesardah (2 months ago)
Hey IGN, maybe keep Seth around for a while? For us? Plz?
Tsunami Barrier (2 months ago)
SE now makes RPG maker games? Yeah whatever. Crappy NES game alert!
J-Squeezy (2 months ago)
Tsunami Barrier These graphics weren’t even possible on the NES, it’s not crappy, nor is it an RPG Maker game.
sexy korean girl (2 months ago)
radiant chronology cloneeeee
Red Noodles (2 months ago)
Ok
Kat Odonnell (3 months ago)
Dilly dilly
Eljin Dizon (3 months ago)
Hope this game will have a mac port
Kat Odonnell (3 months ago)
A zelda version of this would be amazing
Luke Sullivan (3 months ago)
Just Bought It. great Review :P
WeCreator (3 months ago)
Octopath Traveler Is a game that amazes me! I play this game on my channel! I am still flashed. The story is very nice. The graphics are really cool, the 2D HD system has Gailen Style. I can only recommend this game :-)!
BestBuy Good Hi (3 months ago)
I miss the pros and cons.
Primrose Azelheart (3 months ago)
I’d give this game 10/10
Emil Karlegrund (3 months ago)
I bought my Nintendo Switch the other day. I saw this game in the shop but decided to put it back and watch a review to see what it's all about, now I know it's a must-buy!
MIDNIGHTxREAPER (3 months ago)
Getting this after I finally beat BoTW. I gotta get to playing SM Odyssey as well. Man switch made me buy so many games I can't keep up!! Lol
Duzz96 (3 months ago)
This guy should review every game for ign or at least narrate it.
ZiPSaNe (3 months ago)
Sooo, where are all the people that said octopath wasn't gonna sell even close to a million? Hmmm nowhere? You guys seemed so positive😂
Saul Villalpando (3 months ago)
Just got mine today 😌
ถ Tho Tung (3 months ago)
I think this needs to be updated in light of the events of the final dungeon.
Ayde77711 (3 months ago)
The game's great but something disturbing me when I play and then I stop because of that. Why the characters don't talk to each others ? Maybe I didn't go far enough to get to the main point of the game but now, i'm a bit disapointed by this game. I'm a huge fan of final fantasy 3 and Bravely default, but I don't find myself on Octopath travelers or maybe I have to continue to get fun with it.
J-Squeezy (2 months ago)
Ayde77711 The characters talk to each other often. They start conversing once you reach chapter 2.
Thwompthing (3 months ago)
While I don't care for the old art styles anymore since growing up, I'll give it a shot when I get my Switch. RPGs like Witcher 3 are too beautiful to make time for this ancient 16-bit stuff, but I will make time for it eventually.
Geraldo Barretto (3 months ago)
Por muitos mais JRPG's lindos como esse!!
Jordan Z (3 months ago)
The best review IGN has had in a long time 👍🏻
Alex D. (3 months ago)
Please.. Now Final Fantasy Tactics 3 on Switch and Golden Sun too... we need them!
Akita Gaming (3 months ago)
This or xeno blade? Idk which to get
magicmasterfan1 (3 months ago)
xenoblade has a lot of things to keep track of at all times, octopath not so much. also xenoblades battle system is a hit or miss, octopath you already know what youre going into
NESLink1986 (3 months ago)
GAME OF THE YEAR!
Serperior 5 (3 months ago)
Yay Therion is my favorite,plus he was my first.Then I chose H'aanit,then Tressa,and now Olberic.
Ian Meadows (3 months ago)
Is this available on the PS4 and/or 3ds?
Franco Rossel (3 months ago)
Switch exclusive.
Thomas Molina (3 months ago)
An ign review with a passionate and knowledgeable critic? And one who’s review I completely agree with? What sorcery is this?!
Zirkem (3 months ago)
"While the 8 different character stories could've used a little more connection between them..." oh boy are you in for a treat
Marimba Maurice (3 months ago)
It really sounds great but I tend to not play these big games because I can never finish them / I'm overwhelmed by them.
Iolanda Rodriguez (3 months ago)
final fantasy tactics sequel with similar graphics please!
TouchyBanana (3 months ago)
Silicon Studios knows how to make jRPGs with Bravely Default and Bravely Second.
zombie3434 (3 months ago)
Game looks neat, but I just hate J-RPG’s and turn-based combat. Turn-based anything just ruins the game for me.
KHABIB EAGLE WINS 27-0 (3 months ago)
zombie3434 whats turn based?
Arthur Bracey (3 months ago)
How could you... rate octopath traveler lower than fortnight
Dreamality (3 months ago)
If you're still on the fence and up for another perspective I reviewed the game as well. It's a more in depth review than this one but I still keep it spoiler free. Others have enjoyed my style you may too. Hope to help ✌
Incarnant (3 months ago)
Looks neat. Never going to buy a Switch though.
Hell Yes Inc. (3 months ago)
Incarnant nobody care
Clown Lives Matter (3 months ago)
Did he say there was no end boss?
Jayce Cherry (3 months ago)
The first real system seller this year. (At least for Switch)
Jayce Cherry (3 months ago)
Did you know that the most searched thing in Japan for a while was "Octopath Traveler PS4"?
Jaimee Roberts (3 months ago)
This does not need to be on the switch......
For K (3 months ago)
Idk if I should get octopath traveler or xenoblade dlc
Johnny Loh (3 months ago)
P K Get both if you like JRPG so much like me. Octopath Traveler and Xenoblade Chronicles 2 are my favourite JPRG on Switch. I believe you won't regret in getting both.
Francisco Chavez (3 months ago)
Loved the tone and excitement you brought to the review, this game is now on my 'to-puchase' list
Chit Bong (3 months ago)
Your Excellency.
Geno of SMRPG (3 months ago)
Got the game on my birthday. Worth it.
Shawn McIntosh (3 months ago)
I need some advice. I can’t beat chapter 2 of any character. I unlocked all characters and even grinned for hours and still die!
Matthew Wolfe (3 months ago)
I've been wanting to play this game since I heard about it... And this just made me want to play it even more. Great review.
PepeZeFrog (3 months ago)
Tbh if u get a switch just buy BOTW MARIO ODYSSEY OCTOPATH TRAVELER SPLATOON 2 And you now have enough to play for a year
Taylor Dow (3 months ago)
This nerd is the nerdiest nerd and I'm loving it
Patrick Curtis (3 months ago)
Calm down bro, no open world, not 16 bit era.
Xaxos92 (3 months ago)
It looks like Terraria

Would you like to comment?

Join YouTube for a free account, or sign in if you are already a member.