HomeКомпьютерные игрыRelated VideosMore From: DreamcastGuy

SEGA Genesis Classics Review! PERFECT Retro Fun? (PS4/Xbox One)

1271 ratings | 46719 views
If you have been craving some great retro games on a modern console this might be worth looking into. Let's dive into the Sega Genesis Classics Collection and see if it's actually good in my review! Share and subscribe if you liked it! Consider supporting the show on Patreon: https://www.patreon.com/DreamcastGuy Follow me on social media: Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/dreamcastguy Twitter: https://www.twitter.com/dreamcastguy Instagram: http://instagram.com/dreamcastguy Business email: Mark.shockley@yahoo.com All clips of audio and video used in this work are used for entertainment or education purposes under the fair use clause found in sections 107 through 118 of the copyright law (title 17, U. S. Code). If you have any dispute please contact me. "EDM Detection Mode" Kevin MacLeod (incompetech.com) Licensed under Creative Commons: By Attribution 3.0 Sega Genesis Classics Pack, released in Europe as Sega Mega Drive Classic Collection and listed on Steam as Sega Genesis & Mega Drive Classics, is a series of compilations featuring Sega Genesis and Mega Drive video games released for Microsoft Windows. The collections are split into "Volumes", with the first four receiving both physical and digital releases and the fifth volume only being digitally released. This is released on the PS4 and Xbox One and will hopefully come later to the Nintendo Switch. These new versions of the retro awesome games have online gameplay options, new trophies and achievements, and challenges for added cool gameplay tricks. Steam versions of these collections exclude Sonic the Hedgehog and ToeJam & Earl games. The former can be purchased as a part of Sonic-related compilations and all games can be purchased separately but at higher prices.
Html code for embedding videos on your blog
Text Comments (289)
DreamcastGuy (3 months ago)
Im finishing up my review of Detroit Become Human now so expect that up later today. Had both of these games for a week but wasnt allowed to talk about them until now so forgive the double upload. :P
neOadviser (2 months ago)
Appreciate Video! Apologies for the intrusion, I would love your opinion. Have you researched - Zeyames Wonliver Breakthrough (just google it)? It is a great exclusive product for playing classic games without the normal expense. Ive heard some great things about it and my friend Sam got cool success with it.
HarkenRebirth (3 months ago)
Wait what? I beat that first sonic challenge on my first try and its not 2 minutes. Its under 1 minute. Also you forgot to mention that you had the savestates in the games as well as a rewind and fast forward button. L2 for rewind, R2 for fast forward. Helps really much when it comes to those slow games. Like the rpgs and the stategy games like Shining force. It takes ages for the enemies to do their thing. But yeah. This is honestly a rather interesting style of doing this. Its a pitty they didnt make one for the Sega Master System.. But who knows.. Maybe they will. THat. And the other ones as well. There are some rather awesome games. I mena imagin if they made one for the Sega Saturn games.. And then had a game like SNATCHER on it... Motherfucking Hideo Kojima games. That and Policenauts. Would be itneresting.
Marcus Tube (3 months ago)
DreamcastGuy I miss Two Crude Dudes, Moonwalker, Rambo 3, Castlevania and some space shooters and shmups.
K4NS4S R4IN (3 months ago)
But does it have robo cop Vs terminator . Thank you total biscuit RIP.
manuyeahyeah (3 months ago)
DreamcastGuy ł
Pj Hood (4 days ago)
i mostly bought it for toe jam and earl
Carne Frita TV (10 days ago)
No Outrun or NBA games...
Chris Redfield 2009 (12 days ago)
I want this game for the Sonic & Streets of Rage games.
SuperMandibleclaw (13 days ago)
I hope they add some other mega drive/genesis games through free updates
Sonicfan2417 (16 days ago)
Two things that don't make this perfect: 1. No Sonic 3 and Knuckles 2. WHO THE F**K THOUGHT OF THE REWIND AND FAST FORWARD FEATURE?! Did anyone think of how ANYONE can beat any game?
Rogal Dorn (26 days ago)
Earthworm Jim ?
Robo Tac Playz (28 days ago)
No sonic 3?
hugo matute (1 month ago)
who remembers insector X?
Lunar Vania (1 month ago)
YYYYESSSSSS MY DUDE!!! I WOULD OF FUCKING DIED TO HAVE BLOODLINES INCLUDED!!!!!!!
Kaighl (1 month ago)
Sonic 3 &Knuckles is actually in the Steam version
MMTV (1 month ago)
Can’t believe they added Ricestar. (That spelling mistake is intentional) I love that game
kpb39 bo (1 month ago)
once again we get the small amount of big hitters..streets of rage/golden axe/sonic series..then its padded up with shit games..just like the xbox 360 release..wheres castle of illusion/fantasia/quackshots/mickey mania/world of illusion/flashback/another world/thunderforce series/terminator 1/2/coolspot/dragon/pitfighter/streetfighter/wonderboy/tazmania/desert strike/jungle strike/urban strike/james pond???
Pill Cosby (1 month ago)
This the same shit that was on Ps3 🤦🏿‍♂️
Mav Knife (2 months ago)
Games I really missed on this collection: - Sonic 3 - Sonic & Knuckles - Crusader of Centy - Arrow Flash - Megaman: The Wily Wars - Contra: Hard Corps - Desert Strike
ChrisCa1601 (2 months ago)
A good selection of games, but my only complaint is the sound issues and input lag. For instance, in Sonic 1 and 2 the sound is a bit off when Sonic runs past the goal post. Also there is a split second lag between a button press and action performed. I just hope these get patched soon.
CMRetro Gaming (2 months ago)
These collections, like the sega collection, NES classic, SNES classic always leave out the shoot'em up games. Its a shame.
Slim Shady (2 months ago)
Just shut up OK? Just shut your noise
gingataisen (2 months ago)
It's not a fresh coat of paint, Dreamcast, it's Vaseline®. Pixel perfect all the way!
Jazz Khan (2 months ago)
No sonic 3 and 4 fuck that
Tigre101 (2 months ago)
No Sonic 3?!!!!
onlyonewhyphy (2 months ago)
Far too much slow down and sound emulation is awful. Far from worth it.
Animemaster2400 (2 months ago)
53 games yet Sonic 3 and Sonic and Knuckles aren't on it. wtf
Martin Makira (2 months ago)
¿No Xmen Clone Wars? if I cant play that game again on console,they can suck it..not even put Rocket Knight Adventures?...You are right about the missing Castlevania,great review
Parzival (2 months ago)
Can someone give me a list of all the games?
CrispCarGuru (2 months ago)
Does it even have any of the Mortal Kombats?
Super Saiyan Bro (2 months ago)
Thanks for mentioning which games have online cause that was the only thing holding me back
Andre van Duin (2 months ago)
What is wrong with the sound? It's really glitchy! Can't they get the sound emulation right?
Shayne McCory (2 months ago)
Why doesn't it play in full screen 😞
Ken Masters (3 months ago)
Sega should've made this Genesis collection into an exclusive to Yakuza 6 when you walk into an arcade in the game.
pdwegames (3 months ago)
Wish they would add Crue Ball only game I play
shabbir hussain shigri (3 months ago)
https://www.facebook.com/HS-Store-175150906482843/?modal=admin_todo_tour
T C (3 months ago)
Does NOT have Sonic 3 nor Sonic & Knuckles?!?! Castlevania?!?? Rocket Knight Adventures?!?!?! Seriously... wasn’t it classic enough?! A single game of Ps4 has memory enough to storage HUNDREDS of Mega Drive games. Why only 50?!?! Why don’t they just launch a 200+ classics game? I mean... 30€ for 50 games and not having all of them, just makes everyone just grab the computer and play them on the emulator. So fuck you, SEGA
NYCJoeBlack (3 months ago)
It’s so great that these collections are still being made being that the original versions still exist and the publishers could simply charge for them individually via PSN/LIVE/eShop.
Joshua Carrasquillo (3 months ago)
Beautiful video! Thanks man
BiG SLeeP (3 months ago)
what u think about the controls? Im having trouble with Shinobi on his double jump. For Ps4 anybody else having trouble with controls?
Madness-A (3 months ago)
1 question please. Can I stream directly from ps4 in this sega genesis collection ps4? Same as any other game? Or I have to use adapter? Hope someone can help me. Thx
john N (3 months ago)
Ok got the collection and a little disappointed the last gen version is better, but this one has online play that somewhat works. that is its saving grace in my book. There are soooo many great games on the Sega Genesis these are just a few gems and some of them are not even that good. If you have last gens version and don't care about online play, your version is much better i mean MUCH BETTER....LIKE A LOT BETTER...this version is just "OK".....The way they can fix this version is if they add to the collection, if they can do that it would be the best version. Also add Sega Cd and Sega 32x support. we have some really good games on those systems that I would love to have access to without pulling out my old sega cd with 32x. Do that and this will be the best collection hands down, but until then this is just OK and i mean C-....last gen was an A..
Chad Finzel (3 months ago)
What's up gamers?I Why... my wenis penis of course :) My weeeeenis peeeenuuusss :) haha
Chris White (3 months ago)
Seeeega
kruggy105 (3 months ago)
S3&k on there
cmoneytheman (3 months ago)
no its not worth it when can play these on emus way better graphics and free
Ryan Smith (3 months ago)
I’m Experiencing extreme lag on the PS4 is anyone else experiencing leg or is it just me? And does anybody know if it can be fixed?
ChrisCa1601 (2 months ago)
I experience lag as well. I don't know of any fix.
Renegade Bastard (3 months ago)
9/10?! Really?! -1 respect point. Jim Sterling showed the game for its true colors! - https://youtu.be/Zt_TN8ACBlw
SHIN BAKI HANMA (3 months ago)
Heres a proper view of some of the issues this crap compilation has. Issues not addressed in your review, dreamcastguy https://youtu.be/Zt_TN8ACBlw
pieter sourbron (3 months ago)
I bought this collection but it was a complete dissapointment. Am i the only one whi notices that there is like half a second lag between the controller and what is happening on screen? Both sonic and kid chameleon are both unplayable. Shame/missed opportunity
Dustin Nunn (3 months ago)
Not worth buying. And WHY? Because Sonic 3 & Knuckles, Knuckles in Sonic 2 and Blue Sphere are not in this compilation.
Michael Allen (3 months ago)
Not interested in another Genesis collection. *sees Toejam & Earl* Sold!
Tamhas Woods (3 months ago)
Great stuff, but what the hell is up with the VF2 fight announcer? Sounds like he's on Ketamine, rather than helium, like I remember.
dirkyd3rk (3 months ago)
Sad this isn’t on switch it would have been a perfect match
ShadowBoof Gaming90 (3 months ago)
Here is how i look at it tbh if it didn't have the online multiplayer i might not have been so keen to purchase this game as i own loads of them on the steam megadrive classics but then again i couldn't resist because i love Streets Of Rage and Sonic the lack of some titles and some S3&K i was like whatttt!! also R.I.P TotalBiscuit i never saw his stuff but nonetheless rest easy dude.
Tim Clarke (3 months ago)
Great to see some amazing games come back but no Earthworm Jim WTF....
SWFCnV (3 months ago)
RIP TB
bign3ck (3 months ago)
No Strider, no Ghouls n Ghosts, No Devil Chrash, So many amazing Genesis games, I wish they mixed it up a bit, I mean did we really need 3 versions of golden axe?
Gary Purdy (3 months ago)
I'm confused do I have a bad version of the game? The audio on the games is trash, the frames especially on streets of rage. The online is literally unusable. This just shows me these reviewers half ass reviews
Marc Carran (3 months ago)
Unless this was a mini console, your very daft for thinking that Castlevania would make it on here.
michael kalnibolosky (3 months ago)
My favorite collection Midway Arcade origins
Demonanimator (3 months ago)
I'm just glad i recently bought a model 2 Genesis so i can play ALL the games. Road Rash 2 is my favorite of all time on the Mega Drive.
DJ KaNeck (3 months ago)
Just played it, the controls are SSSOOOO horrible!
Reanu Keeves (3 months ago)
I can't find any info. Is the Sega mega drive collection and the Genesis collection identical? I mean do they both have the NTSC version of the games. Or does the first actually contain the PAL versions. Because if that's the case I would import the Genesis collection.
alucard624 (3 months ago)
It would be nice to have both Castlevania Bloodlines and Contra Hard Corps in this collection, but unfortunately Konami is not what it used to be and they could care less about what they've done in the past and would rather concentrate on pachinko and slot machines versus giving players what they really want. A perfect example of how crappy they are now is Metal Gear Survive.
El Cisco Kid (3 months ago)
PLEASE MAN! HELP ME WITH THIS: I just bought this collection and I love it, but I can't custumize my own control layout and there is no turbo mode unlike the previous collections. Do you know what I should do so SEGA could fix this? Optional suggestion: We should ask SEGA to release more dlc games: Like more Sonic games, Dolphin games, Hang On, ect. Or even more arcade games like Revenge of Death Adder or After Burner just like their previous collections. P.S: I know that you are not the one that I should be speaking about this. I just want some help, please.
tetsuyanamamura (3 months ago)
No Mortal Kombat 2? Oh yeah it wasn't made by Sega
Agent Skazzers (3 months ago)
Did you try the multiplayer on the sega genesis classics yet? How well does it work?
javier. espinoza (3 months ago)
no road rash? mercs?
Take a good read a this extremely biased review from someone who had no business reviewing the game at all. Basically saying nostalgia for him was a joke and the games didn't hold up to his standards. He clearly had a bad time reviewing this collection and it shows.. Playstationlifestyle.net Sega Classics review. http://www.playstationlifestyle.net/2018/05/28/sega-genesis-classics-review-hinged-on-nostalgia-ps4/
Retro Gamer Boy (3 months ago)
Great video 🕹️. The mini versions now sit on top of my originals in my games room. Watching your videos inspired me to setup my own channel. I've spent the last 18yrs making PlayStation games and collecting retro games so I thought I'd put some of this stuff on YouTube. I have 10 subs😂 but it's cool to show of my collection of console games. Thank you for the inspiration!
kikayei (3 months ago)
Why, oh, why Sega isn’t releasing this to the 3DS or PS Vita? Imagine having 50 games on the go. You fucked up, Sega. 😡
Ghost Chaser (3 months ago)
I pre-ordered at Game Stop so I could get the free poster that comes with it (Golden Ax/Streets Of Rage). I have been a HUGE Sonic fan since 1991 and I also love Streets Of Rage so that is also a decision maker for me, however, I am quite thrilled to see that they have finally included the Toejam & Earl games for the first time (and I have a former work buddy who might enjoy playing the first one online with me), plus I finally get a chance to try Gunstar Heroes so that is cool too. You also made a good point about the kids of today, that these classic collections are a good way for them to experience the games of yesteryear on current-gen consoles, and in high definition no less. I'm sorry to say that I've never heard of TotalBiscuit until just now but I was quite shocked to see that he was four years younger than me, which makes me wonder how he passed away. I'm sure he will be sorely missed by his fans, maybe I will check out some of his reviews if they are still up.
slip (3 months ago)
Splatterhouse 2 & 3 need to be on this compilation.
Awful Lawton (3 months ago)
No Ecco the Dolphin or no Sonic 3 and Knuckles? I'll pass on this one I already own a Genesis and own like 3 different Sega collections no point in me buying this.
jamiewalton666 (3 months ago)
Needs ThunderForce 2 and 3.Also other shmups like Zero Wing and Gynoug
No OnE ParaDox (3 months ago)
Do you know if this game has any unlikable games or content like the Sonic Sega Genesis classic on last Gen systems?
MarsGundam (3 months ago)
This is a great collection, but I think it's time for Sega to start realizing that the Sega CD and 32X were also part of their 16-bit heyday. I'd like to see a collection that includes games from those add ons.
Dave Franks (3 months ago)
But no Out Run
MadCommodore (3 months ago)
Waste of money, for this sort of money I expect a PERFECT simulation of a CRT screen to microscopic levels of accuracy for use with crappy LCD 4K TVs. Nothing you can't get for free with better features for Microcock Winblows OS.
the_randomizer (3 months ago)
I just want them to emulate the sound in Alien Soldier properly for once, the Steam version did a bad job
Mish You Long Time (3 months ago)
Dreamcast Guy you that nigga!
TXF (3 months ago)
It's a nice collection and all, but as someone that already has 8 of these games bought on my Xbox, AND a perfectly working emulator on the same Xbox, it's kinda hard to justify the $30 this costs. Especially when there's also a few games in here I'd personally probably never play, like Phantasy Star 3 and 4, and the Toejam & Earl games. I mean, sure, I'd play the hell outa this if I had it, but I can't really find a good reason for me to buy it. The online multiplayer is nice, as is the challenges, but not really $30 nice.
Jack Dugan (3 months ago)
I saw on another video that moving the right stick is quick load/save, I have big hands and don’t wanna accidentally touch it, can I turn that off?
Finn Marr-Heenan (3 months ago)
But dose it have Nba jam?Aladdin? Road rash?
Finn Marr-Heenan for a crash compilation you're looking for an Activision compilation. For Road Rash you want an Electronic Arts compilation. That's why gamers are only now understanding how great Sega was. They have large compilations because they made their own games unlike Sony, Nintendo, and Xbox who rely heavily on 3rd party support. Nintendo was like get Final Fight and make it exclusive for a year. Sega was like look at Final Fight...pffft, let's kick it's ass and make it two players. Sony was like don't worry about games, just get Namco to convert tekken, soul edge, Time Crisis, and Ridge Racer...Sega was like Virtua Fighter 2, Daytona Usa, Virtua Cop, and Last Bronx. Sega MADE most of their own games.
Finn Marr-Heenan (3 months ago)
+Joeyknuckle Warrior Frenzy this all makes a lot of sense, Bothering to make a sega classics collection without nba jam or castle of illusion dose not. It's like give all the plausible reasons about licensing issues u want,but not putting crash in PlayStation allstars defeats the point
Finn Marr-Heenan because Sega, unlike Nintendo at the time, was responsible for nearly 60% of their own library. Nintendo still had a tight grip on 3rd party from '86 to '92. 1992 was when Acclaim finally found a loophole in Nintendo's contacts. So early Acclaim games on Sega were published under the name Flying Edge. Capcom finally published Sega games that year with Final Fight CD. Then 1993 Konami with Tmnt...etc. In the meantime, Sega was primarily the power house developer for their own consoles in the U.S. Electronic Arts was the only big name third party developer for a long time. Sega would reprogram some games from other companies like Capcom for Ghouls n Ghosts, Stryder, and Forgotten Worlds...so those wouldn't be in a collection without permission as well. There were small 3rd party companies doing Sega games too but they were unproven no names in the 90s. Razorsoft, NuVision, Treco, Sages Creation, but the games were few and far between. Sega had to go toe to toe not only with Nintendo but with all the big publishers doing only Nintendo games. This collection shows just how good Sega was in house basically on their own. Super Nintendo was still trailing Sega Genesis until Street Fighter 2 came along.
Finn Marr-Heenan (3 months ago)
+Joeyknuckle Warrior Frenzy so why bother.
Licensing and getting 3rd party permission probably prevents those games.
SotNist (3 months ago)
RIP TotalBiscuit
SotNist (3 months ago)
I don't care about half of the games onb this collection. I'd rather be able to buy individual games separately on PSN, Arcade Archives style, that way I can just pick up only what I want. I also like leaner releases, in terms of optimization and filesize.
K4NS4S R4IN (3 months ago)
Thank you total biscuit RIP
MarshmallowMadnesss (3 months ago)
Does this have all the same games as Sonic's Ultimate Collection?
Scotty Watty (2 months ago)
no but Ultimate Collection is better
Super Gamer61499 (3 months ago)
No Sonic 3 & Knuckles that sucks. :( That's like my fave Genesis game. Though i'm very happy they got all the Treasure titles. And Streets of Rage too.:) Okay, i'll think of getting it. Still, so weird this doesn't have 3 & K. Like why?
Blaze knight (3 months ago)
Thanks for the review. I don't know if the updates are enough for me, but it's great to see your take on it.
AZ brown_knight (3 months ago)
Sega classics are sweet, even better on my x1x. Dreaming for sega to announce phantasy star on xbox 1 x. A remake of streets of rage, comic zone, a new shinobi at e3.
Tyrant (3 months ago)
I wish they add Ranger X, Castlevania Bloodlines and the Earthworm Jim games in the future.
Gavin Townsley (3 months ago)
Same shit different console, I'll wait till the make the Xbox 360 collection backwards compatible
Rafael oliveira (3 months ago)
Sonic 3 & knuckles... be will unlocked?
Jonas Thers (3 months ago)
First time I heard about this collection, I thought it sounded too good to not be crap, but now I'm really excited about it!
Sebastian E'Silva (3 months ago)
The big question for me is: is it better than the Ultimate Gen/MD Collection we got on 360/PS3? And from the looks of it it's a big fat NO, sadly. The extras like graphics filters and challenges are nifty, but don't make up for the fact that the Eccos and Sonic 3 aren't included and that the Ultimate Collection had the same exact set of games plus developer interviews, the missing titles etc. for a lower price. For this new one to really impress me and make it essential it needed to include all of those plus more surprises like some Sega CD and 32X titles and ones we don't normally see in Sega compilations like Eternal Champions, Contra, Castlevania etc. Instead Sega seemed content to lazily rehash the earlier compilation.
sfturbo (3 months ago)
No shmups at all in this collection? That's sad... whatever happened to thunder force?
michaeloffgrid (3 months ago)
Bio-Hazard Battle is a pretty good one. You're right though about Thunder Force. It needs to be on here!
Grandwicky (3 months ago)
Why is Soleil/Crusader of Centy never on these collections?
Madara Senpai (3 months ago)
The only thing that dissatisfies me about these collections is that Sega doesn’t bother reaching out to others companies. I would love to see Hardcorps, Bloodlines, Rocket Knight Adventures, street fighter, ghouls & ghosts, and hyperstone heist.
Gimpler Da Happenin (3 months ago)
5:59 - What...TotalBiscuit.....is gone? No...
Angel Kibble (3 months ago)
The lack of Sonic 3 and Sonic & Knuckles (while Sonic 3D Blast is still included) is a travesty so I'll stick to the Sega Mega Drive Ultimate Collection on PS3
GaMeStuH (3 months ago)
Too bad its not on Nintendo Switch lol
Josh Dollins (3 months ago)
hell yeah buying and playing this to show sega some love

Would you like to comment?

Join YouTube for a free account, or sign in if you are already a member.