HomeКомпьютерные игрыRelated VideosMore From: DreamcastGuy

SEGA Genesis Classics Review! PERFECT Retro Fun? (PS4/Xbox One)

1206 ratings | 37729 views
If you have been craving some great retro games on a modern console this might be worth looking into. Let's dive into the Sega Genesis Classics Collection and see if it's actually good in my review! Share and subscribe if you liked it! Consider supporting the show on Patreon: https://www.patreon.com/DreamcastGuy Follow me on social media: Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/dreamcastguy Twitter: https://www.twitter.com/dreamcastguy Instagram: http://instagram.com/dreamcastguy Business email: Mark.shockley@yahoo.com All clips of audio and video used in this work are used for entertainment or education purposes under the fair use clause found in sections 107 through 118 of the copyright law (title 17, U. S. Code). If you have any dispute please contact me. "EDM Detection Mode" Kevin MacLeod (incompetech.com) Licensed under Creative Commons: By Attribution 3.0 Sega Genesis Classics Pack, released in Europe as Sega Mega Drive Classic Collection and listed on Steam as Sega Genesis & Mega Drive Classics, is a series of compilations featuring Sega Genesis and Mega Drive video games released for Microsoft Windows. The collections are split into "Volumes", with the first four receiving both physical and digital releases and the fifth volume only being digitally released. This is released on the PS4 and Xbox One and will hopefully come later to the Nintendo Switch. These new versions of the retro awesome games have online gameplay options, new trophies and achievements, and challenges for added cool gameplay tricks. Steam versions of these collections exclude Sonic the Hedgehog and ToeJam & Earl games. The former can be purchased as a part of Sonic-related compilations and all games can be purchased separately but at higher prices.
Html code for embedding videos on your blog
Text Comments (274)
DreamcastGuy (1 month ago)
Im finishing up my review of Detroit Become Human now so expect that up later today. Had both of these games for a week but wasnt allowed to talk about them until now so forgive the double upload. :P
neOadviser (8 days ago)
Appreciate Video! Apologies for the intrusion, I would love your opinion. Have you researched - Zeyames Wonliver Breakthrough (just google it)? It is a great exclusive product for playing classic games without the normal expense. Ive heard some great things about it and my friend Sam got cool success with it.
HarkenRebirth (1 month ago)
Wait what? I beat that first sonic challenge on my first try and its not 2 minutes. Its under 1 minute. Also you forgot to mention that you had the savestates in the games as well as a rewind and fast forward button. L2 for rewind, R2 for fast forward. Helps really much when it comes to those slow games. Like the rpgs and the stategy games like Shining force. It takes ages for the enemies to do their thing. But yeah. This is honestly a rather interesting style of doing this. Its a pitty they didnt make one for the Sega Master System.. But who knows.. Maybe they will. THat. And the other ones as well. There are some rather awesome games. I mena imagin if they made one for the Sega Saturn games.. And then had a game like SNATCHER on it... Motherfucking Hideo Kojima games. That and Policenauts. Would be itneresting.
Marcus Tube (1 month ago)
DreamcastGuy I miss Two Crude Dudes, Moonwalker, Rambo 3, Castlevania and some space shooters and shmups.
K4NS4S R4IN (1 month ago)
But does it have robo cop Vs terminator . Thank you total biscuit RIP.
manuyeahyeah (1 month ago)
DreamcastGuy ł
Mav Knife (3 days ago)
Games I really missed on this collection: - Sonic 3 - Sonic & Knuckles - Crusader of Centy - Arrow Flash - Megaman: The Wily Wars - Contra: Hard Corps - Desert Strike
ChrisCa1601 (3 days ago)
A good selection of games, but my only complaint is the sound issues and input lag. For instance, in Sonic 1 and 2 the sound is a bit off when Sonic runs past the goal post. Also there is a split second lag between a button press and action performed. I just hope these get patched soon.
CMRetro Gaming (4 days ago)
These collections, like the sega collection, NES classic, SNES classic always leave out the shoot'em up games. Its a shame.
Slim Shady (6 days ago)
Just shut up OK? Just shut your noise
gingataisen (10 days ago)
It's not a fresh coat of paint, Dreamcast, it's Vaseline®. Pixel perfect all the way!
Jazz Khan (12 days ago)
No sonic 3 and 4 fuck that
Tigre101 (13 days ago)
No Sonic 3?!!!!
onlyonewhyphy (16 days ago)
Far too much slow down and sound emulation is awful. Far from worth it.
Animemaster2400 (19 days ago)
53 games yet Sonic 3 and Sonic and Knuckles aren't on it. wtf
Martin Makira (22 days ago)
¿No Xmen Clone Wars? if I cant play that game again on console,they can suck it..not even put Rocket Knight Adventures?...You are right about the missing Castlevania,great review
Parzival (24 days ago)
Can someone give me a list of all the games?
CrispCarGuru (28 days ago)
Does it even have any of the Mortal Kombats?
Super Saiyan Bro (28 days ago)
Thanks for mentioning which games have online cause that was the only thing holding me back
Andre van Duin (28 days ago)
What is wrong with the sound? It's really glitchy! Can't they get the sound emulation right?
Shayne McCory (1 month ago)
Why doesn't it play in full screen 😞
Ken Masters (1 month ago)
Sega should've made this Genesis collection into an exclusive to Yakuza 6 when you walk into an arcade in the game.
pdwegames (1 month ago)
Wish they would add Crue Ball only game I play
shabbir hussain shigri (1 month ago)
https://www.facebook.com/HS-Store-175150906482843/?modal=admin_todo_tour
T • C (1 month ago)
Does NOT have Sonic 3 nor Sonic & Knuckles?!?! Castlevania?!?? Rocket Knight Adventures?!?!?! Seriously... wasn’t it classic enough?! A single game of Ps4 has memory enough to storage HUNDREDS of Mega Drive games. Why only 50?!?! Why don’t they just launch a 200+ classics game? I mean... 30€ for 50 games and not having all of them, just makes everyone just grab the computer and play them on the emulator. So fuck you, SEGA
NYCJoeBlack (1 month ago)
It’s so great that these collections are still being made being that the original versions still exist and the publishers could simply charge for them individually via PSN/LIVE/eShop.
Joshua Carrasquillo (1 month ago)
Beautiful video! Thanks man
BiG SLeeP (1 month ago)
what u think about the controls? Im having trouble with Shinobi on his double jump. For Ps4 anybody else having trouble with controls?
Madness-A (1 month ago)
1 question please. Can I stream directly from ps4 in this sega genesis collection ps4? Same as any other game? Or I have to use adapter? Hope someone can help me. Thx
john N (1 month ago)
Ok got the collection and a little disappointed the last gen version is better, but this one has online play that somewhat works. that is its saving grace in my book. There are soooo many great games on the Sega Genesis these are just a few gems and some of them are not even that good. If you have last gens version and don't care about online play, your version is much better i mean MUCH BETTER....LIKE A LOT BETTER...this version is just "OK".....The way they can fix this version is if they add to the collection, if they can do that it would be the best version. Also add Sega Cd and Sega 32x support. we have some really good games on those systems that I would love to have access to without pulling out my old sega cd with 32x. Do that and this will be the best collection hands down, but until then this is just OK and i mean C-....last gen was an A..
Chad Finzel (1 month ago)
What's up gamers?I Why... my wenis penis of course :) My weeeeenis peeeenuuusss :) haha
Chris White (1 month ago)
Seeeega
kruggy105 (1 month ago)
S3&k on there
cmoneytheman (1 month ago)
no its not worth it when can play these on emus way better graphics and free
Ryan Smith (1 month ago)
I’m Experiencing extreme lag on the PS4 is anyone else experiencing leg or is it just me? And does anybody know if it can be fixed?
ChrisCa1601 (3 days ago)
I experience lag as well. I don't know of any fix.
Renegade Bastard (1 month ago)
9/10?! Really?! -1 respect point. Jim Sterling showed the game for its true colors! - https://youtu.be/Zt_TN8ACBlw
SHIN BAKI HANMA (1 month ago)
Heres a proper view of some of the issues this crap compilation has. Issues not addressed in your review, dreamcastguy https://youtu.be/Zt_TN8ACBlw
pieter sourbron (1 month ago)
I bought this collection but it was a complete dissapointment. Am i the only one whi notices that there is like half a second lag between the controller and what is happening on screen? Both sonic and kid chameleon are both unplayable. Shame/missed opportunity
Dustin Nunn (1 month ago)
Not worth buying. And WHY? Because Sonic 3 & Knuckles, Knuckles in Sonic 2 and Blue Sphere are not in this compilation.
Michael Allen (1 month ago)
Not interested in another Genesis collection. *sees Toejam & Earl* Sold!
Tamhas Woods (1 month ago)
Great stuff, but what the hell is up with the VF2 fight announcer? Sounds like he's on Ketamine, rather than helium, like I remember.
dirkyd3rk (1 month ago)
Sad this isn’t on switch it would have been a perfect match
ShadowBoof Gaming90 (1 month ago)
Here is how i look at it tbh if it didn't have the online multiplayer i might not have been so keen to purchase this game as i own loads of them on the steam megadrive classics but then again i couldn't resist because i love Streets Of Rage and Sonic the lack of some titles and some S3&K i was like whatttt!! also R.I.P TotalBiscuit i never saw his stuff but nonetheless rest easy dude.
Tim Clarke (1 month ago)
Great to see some amazing games come back but no Earthworm Jim WTF....
SWFCnV (1 month ago)
RIP TB
bign3ck (1 month ago)
No Strider, no Ghouls n Ghosts, No Devil Chrash, So many amazing Genesis games, I wish they mixed it up a bit, I mean did we really need 3 versions of golden axe?
Gary Purdy (1 month ago)
I'm confused do I have a bad version of the game? The audio on the games is trash, the frames especially on streets of rage. The online is literally unusable. This just shows me these reviewers half ass reviews
Marc Carran (1 month ago)
Unless this was a mini console, your very daft for thinking that Castlevania would make it on here.
michael kalnibolosky (1 month ago)
My favorite collection Midway Arcade origins
Demonanimator (1 month ago)
I'm just glad i recently bought a model 2 Genesis so i can play ALL the games. Road Rash 2 is my favorite of all time on the Mega Drive.
DJ KaNeck (1 month ago)
Just played it, the controls are SSSOOOO horrible!
Reanu Keeves (1 month ago)
I can't find any info. Is the Sega mega drive collection and the Genesis collection identical? I mean do they both have the NTSC version of the games. Or does the first actually contain the PAL versions. Because if that's the case I would import the Genesis collection.
alucard624 (1 month ago)
It would be nice to have both Castlevania Bloodlines and Contra Hard Corps in this collection, but unfortunately Konami is not what it used to be and they could care less about what they've done in the past and would rather concentrate on pachinko and slot machines versus giving players what they really want. A perfect example of how crappy they are now is Metal Gear Survive.
El Cisco Kid (1 month ago)
PLEASE MAN! HELP ME WITH THIS: I just bought this collection and I love it, but I can't custumize my own control layout and there is no turbo mode unlike the previous collections. Do you know what I should do so SEGA could fix this? Optional suggestion: We should ask SEGA to release more dlc games: Like more Sonic games, Dolphin games, Hang On, ect. Or even more arcade games like Revenge of Death Adder or After Burner just like their previous collections. P.S: I know that you are not the one that I should be speaking about this. I just want some help, please.
tetsuyanamamura (1 month ago)
No Mortal Kombat 2? Oh yeah it wasn't made by Sega
Agent Skazzers (1 month ago)
Did you try the multiplayer on the sega genesis classics yet? How well does it work?
javier. espinoza (1 month ago)
no road rash? mercs?
Take a good read a this extremely biased review from someone who had no business reviewing the game at all. Basically saying nostalgia for him was a joke and the games didn't hold up to his standards. He clearly had a bad time reviewing this collection and it shows.. Playstationlifestyle.net Sega Classics review. http://www.playstationlifestyle.net/2018/05/28/sega-genesis-classics-review-hinged-on-nostalgia-ps4/
Retro Gamer Boy (1 month ago)
Great video 🕹️. The mini versions now sit on top of my originals in my games room. Watching your videos inspired me to setup my own channel. I've spent the last 18yrs making PlayStation games and collecting retro games so I thought I'd put some of this stuff on YouTube. I have 10 subs😂 but it's cool to show of my collection of console games. Thank you for the inspiration!
kikayei (1 month ago)
Why, oh, why Sega isn’t releasing this to the 3DS or PS Vita? Imagine having 50 games on the go. You fucked up, Sega. 😡
Ghost Chaser (1 month ago)
I pre-ordered at Game Stop so I could get the free poster that comes with it (Golden Ax/Streets Of Rage). I have been a HUGE Sonic fan since 1991 and I also love Streets Of Rage so that is also a decision maker for me, however, I am quite thrilled to see that they have finally included the Toejam & Earl games for the first time (and I have a former work buddy who might enjoy playing the first one online with me), plus I finally get a chance to try Gunstar Heroes so that is cool too. You also made a good point about the kids of today, that these classic collections are a good way for them to experience the games of yesteryear on current-gen consoles, and in high definition no less. I'm sorry to say that I've never heard of TotalBiscuit until just now but I was quite shocked to see that he was four years younger than me, which makes me wonder how he passed away. I'm sure he will be sorely missed by his fans, maybe I will check out some of his reviews if they are still up.
slip (1 month ago)
Splatterhouse 2 & 3 need to be on this compilation.
Awful Lawton (1 month ago)
No Ecco the Dolphin or no Sonic 3 and Knuckles? I'll pass on this one I already own a Genesis and own like 3 different Sega collections no point in me buying this.
jamiewalton666 (1 month ago)
Needs ThunderForce 2 and 3.Also other shmups like Zero Wing and Gynoug
No OnE tHe OtHeR (1 month ago)
Do you know if this game has any unlikable games or content like the Sonic Sega Genesis classic on last Gen systems?
MarsGundam (1 month ago)
This is a great collection, but I think it's time for Sega to start realizing that the Sega CD and 32X were also part of their 16-bit heyday. I'd like to see a collection that includes games from those add ons.
Dave Franks (1 month ago)
But no Out Run
MadCommodore (1 month ago)
Waste of money, for this sort of money I expect a PERFECT simulation of a CRT screen to microscopic levels of accuracy for use with crappy LCD 4K TVs. Nothing you can't get for free with better features for Microcock Winblows OS.
the_randomizer (1 month ago)
I just want them to emulate the sound in Alien Soldier properly for once, the Steam version did a bad job
Mishie Miyagi (1 month ago)
Dreamcast Guy you that nigga!
TXF (1 month ago)
It's a nice collection and all, but as someone that already has 8 of these games bought on my Xbox, AND a perfectly working emulator on the same Xbox, it's kinda hard to justify the $30 this costs. Especially when there's also a few games in here I'd personally probably never play, like Phantasy Star 3 and 4, and the Toejam & Earl games. I mean, sure, I'd play the hell outa this if I had it, but I can't really find a good reason for me to buy it. The online multiplayer is nice, as is the challenges, but not really $30 nice.
Jack Dugan (1 month ago)
I saw on another video that moving the right stick is quick load/save, I have big hands and don’t wanna accidentally touch it, can I turn that off?
Finn Marr-Heenan (1 month ago)
But dose it have Nba jam?Aladdin? Road rash?
Finn Marr-Heenan for a crash compilation you're looking for an Activision compilation. For Road Rash you want an Electronic Arts compilation. That's why gamers are only now understanding how great Sega was. They have large compilations because they made their own games unlike Sony, Nintendo, and Xbox who rely heavily on 3rd party support. Nintendo was like get Final Fight and make it exclusive for a year. Sega was like look at Final Fight...pffft, let's kick it's ass and make it two players. Sony was like don't worry about games, just get Namco to convert tekken, soul edge, Time Crisis, and Ridge Racer...Sega was like Virtua Fighter 2, Daytona Usa, Virtua Cop, and Last Bronx. Sega MADE most of their own games.
Finn Marr-Heenan (1 month ago)
+Joeyknuckle Warrior Frenzy this all makes a lot of sense, Bothering to make a sega classics collection without nba jam or castle of illusion dose not. It's like give all the plausible reasons about licensing issues u want,but not putting crash in PlayStation allstars defeats the point
Finn Marr-Heenan because Sega, unlike Nintendo at the time, was responsible for nearly 60% of their own library. Nintendo still had a tight grip on 3rd party from '86 to '92. 1992 was when Acclaim finally found a loophole in Nintendo's contacts. So early Acclaim games on Sega were published under the name Flying Edge. Capcom finally published Sega games that year with Final Fight CD. Then 1993 Konami with Tmnt...etc. In the meantime, Sega was primarily the power house developer for their own consoles in the U.S. Electronic Arts was the only big name third party developer for a long time. Sega would reprogram some games from other companies like Capcom for Ghouls n Ghosts, Stryder, and Forgotten Worlds...so those wouldn't be in a collection without permission as well. There were small 3rd party companies doing Sega games too but they were unproven no names in the 90s. Razorsoft, NuVision, Treco, Sages Creation, but the games were few and far between. Sega had to go toe to toe not only with Nintendo but with all the big publishers doing only Nintendo games. This collection shows just how good Sega was in house basically on their own. Super Nintendo was still trailing Sega Genesis until Street Fighter 2 came along.
Finn Marr-Heenan (1 month ago)
+Joeyknuckle Warrior Frenzy so why bother.
Licensing and getting 3rd party permission probably prevents those games.
SotNist (1 month ago)
RIP TotalBiscuit
SotNist (1 month ago)
I don't care about half of the games onb this collection. I'd rather be able to buy individual games separately on PSN, Arcade Archives style, that way I can just pick up only what I want. I also like leaner releases, in terms of optimization and filesize.
K4NS4S R4IN (1 month ago)
Thank you total biscuit RIP
MarshmallowMadnesss (1 month ago)
Does this have all the same games as Sonic's Ultimate Collection?
Scotty Watty (24 days ago)
no but Ultimate Collection is better
Super Gamer61499 (1 month ago)
No Sonic 3 & Knuckles that sucks. :( That's like my fave Genesis game. Though i'm very happy they got all the Treasure titles. And Streets of Rage too.:) Okay, i'll think of getting it. Still, so weird this doesn't have 3 & K. Like why?
Blaze knight (1 month ago)
Thanks for the review. I don't know if the updates are enough for me, but it's great to see your take on it.
AZ brown_knight (1 month ago)
Sega classics are sweet, even better on my x1x. Dreaming for sega to announce phantasy star on xbox 1 x. A remake of streets of rage, comic zone, a new shinobi at e3.
Tyrant (1 month ago)
I wish they add Ranger X, Castlevania Bloodlines and the Earthworm Jim games in the future.
Gavin Townsley (1 month ago)
Same shit different console, I'll wait till the make the Xbox 360 collection backwards compatible
Rafael oliveira (1 month ago)
Sonic 3 & knuckles... be will unlocked?
Jonas Thers (1 month ago)
First time I heard about this collection, I thought it sounded too good to not be crap, but now I'm really excited about it!
Sebastian E'Silva (1 month ago)
The big question for me is: is it better than the Ultimate Gen/MD Collection we got on 360/PS3? And from the looks of it it's a big fat NO, sadly. The extras like graphics filters and challenges are nifty, but don't make up for the fact that the Eccos and Sonic 3 aren't included and that the Ultimate Collection had the same exact set of games plus developer interviews, the missing titles etc. for a lower price. For this new one to really impress me and make it essential it needed to include all of those plus more surprises like some Sega CD and 32X titles and ones we don't normally see in Sega compilations like Eternal Champions, Contra, Castlevania etc. Instead Sega seemed content to lazily rehash the earlier compilation.
sfturbo (1 month ago)
No shmups at all in this collection? That's sad... whatever happened to thunder force?
michaeloffgrid (1 month ago)
Bio-Hazard Battle is a pretty good one. You're right though about Thunder Force. It needs to be on here!
Grandwicky (1 month ago)
Why is Soleil/Crusader of Centy never on these collections?
Madara Senpai (1 month ago)
The only thing that dissatisfies me about these collections is that Sega doesn’t bother reaching out to others companies. I would love to see Hardcorps, Bloodlines, Rocket Knight Adventures, street fighter, ghouls & ghosts, and hyperstone heist.
Gimpler Da Happenin (1 month ago)
5:59 - What...TotalBiscuit.....is gone? No...
Angel Kibble (1 month ago)
The lack of Sonic 3 and Sonic & Knuckles (while Sonic 3D Blast is still included) is a travesty so I'll stick to the Sega Mega Drive Ultimate Collection on PS3
GaMeStuH (1 month ago)
Too bad its not on Nintendo Switch lol
Josh Dollins (1 month ago)
hell yeah buying and playing this to show sega some love
idolo2020 (1 month ago)
No Ranger X No buy
Sam Almo (1 month ago)
I broke my "F" key at work today paying respect when I heard the news about TotalBisquit - Taken away from us way to young!
steve klarke (1 month ago)
Why are u guys acting like this is some new collection? Like 80% of this collection was on the PS2,PS3,PSP and 360 i dont get it its the same collection except maybe 7 or 8 games maybe 10?
Martin Dodd (1 month ago)
Agreed. May have considered it if it has Rolling Thunder 2 on it.
BMW9661 (1 month ago)
steve klarke Yeah, they're dumb and brainwashed.....im not wasting money on this
old man RETRO (1 month ago)
Playing these old Genesis games would be like somebody from the 80s watching the 1950s film
TheJeruvian (15 days ago)
old man RETRO Watching a classic film? What a crazy idea!
Hunteriscoolio (1 month ago)
Jeez im so excited for this game
Sinuev1 (1 month ago)
I had the Sega Genesis collection for PS2, and I really enjoyed how they added in select Sega Master System games to compliment Genesis sequels (such as Phantasy Star 1). Any chance of them bringing that back? Even if not, I'd love to see Sega collections for more than just the Genesis. With the size of modern BluRay disks, even sizable Sega Saturn and Sega Dreamcast collections are feasible. To say nothing of Master System and maybe even arcade collections.
Jase Doe (1 month ago)
Have the one for my 360. If I go to a newer console this will for sure be a pick up. Would be very cool seeing how the look of some of the rpg games Phantasy Star and Shining Force (A couple favs for sure) would be after using some of the tweaks. No unlockable stuff this time around?
patbrown911 (1 month ago)
Nah, I will stick to my retropie powered Rbp 3.
SHIN BAKI HANMA (1 month ago)
This is a crap compilation. How many times is SEGA going to rerelease the same titles over and over?? Though I do like the challenges they added. Buy the Ultimate Genesis Collection instead.
gingataisen (10 days ago)
As many times as Bethesda releases Skyrim.
john N (1 month ago)
I somewhat agree with you...Somewhat because if you have never played some of the basic Sega games your in for a real treat, but last gens version is much better the only good thing is the online play, but it really needs improvement.. I hope they add to the game collection with downloads because there are sooooo many old sega games that we don't get. Also support the sega cd and also the 32x. I have played 32x emulated games that ran perfect on a old computer from 2002. Just think we can have games like Sonic CD and Virtural racing and Virtural Fighter. Space harrier 32x and after burner 32x. Those are some good games....
aceassn716 (1 month ago)
Considering the UGC wasnt that expensive, and this isnt either why not? Also this version has co-op online added. For SOR 1-3 and Gunstar Heroes its worth it to me. And yes I have the UGC as well
ĆHÔŻÉŃ ØŇĖ (1 month ago)
Bought😂😂😂
oasisbeyond (1 month ago)
Cool online play, something I did 13 years ago on pc emulators.
nextleveltaken (1 month ago)
Sonic 3 & Knuckles added as DLC... lol
Cutie Nepgear (1 month ago)
Sonic 3 isn't on here because of licensing issues between Sega and Michael Jackson's family

Would you like to comment?

Join YouTube for a free account, or sign in if you are already a member.