HomeВидеоигрыRelated VideosMore From: IGN

Frostpunk Review

4560 ratings | 358538 views
Frostpunk reviewed by Caley Roark on PC. Subscribe to IGN for more! http://www.youtube.com/user/IGNentertainment?sub_confirmation=1 ------------------------------­---- Follow IGN for more! ------------------------------­---- YOUTUBE: https://www.youtube.com/user/ignentertainment?sub_confirmation=1 IGN OFFICIAL APP: http://www.ign.com/mobile FACEBOOK: https://www.facebook.com/ign TWITTER: https://twitter.com/ign INSTAGRAM: https://instagram.com/igndotcom/?hl=en WEBSITE: http://www.ign.com/ GOOGLE+: https://plus.google.com/+IGN
Category: Видеоигры
Html code for embedding videos on your blog
Text Comments (417)
Ross Ko (19 days ago)
this game is irrelevant cause global cooling won't happen with all the carbon in the air. You need to rethink the title of the game and make it Desertpunk as some suggest.
SilentNoise103 (21 days ago)
0.0 something that is not call of duty gets a 9?
Greg Scoggin (1 month ago)
Is it bad that I've never had any desire to play this, just because I'm always cold and hate winter?
Ezra Heitz (2 months ago)
this gameplay is scaring me
Phosphorescence (2 months ago)
makes me think of ff7 right off the bat
Lei Liu (2 months ago)
Looking forward to punkpunk
░KenLinx░ (2 months ago)
Did he mention any negatives? If not, then why not give the game a 10?
Andrew Emerson (2 months ago)
I will never buy a game about climate change.
Paco Macaw (2 months ago)
Sim City on tranquilizers....zzzZZZZ
Paco Macaw (3 months ago)
It's like sim city in a different environment. Very frustrating to play as you fail a lot at first. Will stick with it to try to get some value, but wish I had not bought it.
The Shiny Object (3 months ago)
I want to like this game. I really do. The problem is I work to much. The music is slow and somber and the pace of the game is slow until you reach a crisis. This is not the kind of game you want to pass out while playing. But It keeps putting me to sleep.
Josh M (3 months ago)
To much punk not enough frost 12/10 IGN
Alex aka Weekenders (3 months ago)
Strategy game 🤮🤮🤮🤮🤮🤮
Max Power (4 months ago)
He sounds like Daffy Duck
Liz Villegas (4 months ago)
Got this from the Summer Sale, reeeeally looking forward to finding the time to dive into this.
Austin Cooper (4 months ago)
They need to release this game on PS4
william SMITH (4 months ago)
Wanted to like this game but it came with so many problems I quickly gave up on it. First off running a decent gaming rig it positively wallowed, dropping frames, especially once a beacon was established. Linking up roads seemed to raise issues too, with seemingly connected roads not connected even when tracked back to the main hub. Placing things like coal thumpers offered up related issues of not being connected to roads even when they were. Lastly crashing and locking up when trying to do simple things like send out scouting parties and saving the game. Nice idea but my opinion is this game needed extra optimization? Seems to be a common problem these days.....anyway still on the lookout for something similar. A few titles coming up that look interesting.
rabbit bobo (5 months ago)
The Game main scenario is about 4hr long if you are a god of micromanagement and know everything about the game, if you count all the replay and other stuff, it is atlease 15-20 depending on how much you search the forum and good at micro management. you can get about 30 hours from it playing all three scenario and learning from scratch
Nocturnal Nuns (5 months ago)
How is the replayability?
Hiro Carupu (5 months ago)
"What to do with the body of the death?" Well, you eat them. Duh!!!
a person (5 months ago)
I love this game! I want more of it.
piloctor15 (6 months ago)
Too much frost Not enough punk: 6.5
Gábor .Gáspár (6 months ago)
Wow according to this footage youre really not good at strategy games
Gamin HD (6 months ago)
PASS! too much snow!
Sean Stewart (6 months ago)
Wonder why Daemon always narrates reviews others do.
ShiningArmor359 (6 months ago)
I just beat the first scenario of this game... I have never been so... depressed winning a game...
ShiningArmor359 (6 months ago)
Flash Red - Yea, I screwed the pooch because I was a bit reliant on an outpost for coal and had to reshape a whole lot of the economy... in hindsight I would have changed strategy and probably built more automatons and probably done the child shelters... mostly just surprised I got through the first playthrough I was practically grinding my teeth the entire time!
Flash Red (6 months ago)
ShiningArmor359 coal was not a issue for me since I had automatons working on my coal mines 24/7 and even more since I upgraded the mines to advanced versions and researched to make my automatons function at 95% add to that I had 2 charcoal kilns and a advanced coal thumper worked on by 4 gathering huts that by the time the storm event hit I had like a month worth of coal stored away but unfortunately I was so focused on coal that I completely neglected food production. Actually building all those automatons was probably why I had a constant steel shortage.
ShiningArmor359 (6 months ago)
First playthrough, had no idea what I was doing and was tight on workers at the time of starting the law and not engineers... Steel wasn't an issue oddly enough, wood was a little bit, ran into a few shortages but I struggled with coal primarily.
Flash Red (6 months ago)
ShiningArmor359 what about steel? Steel shortages was my biggest issue throughout the game and also why would you choose the child labor laws on the "new home" scenario what with how big the area is for child shelters as well as how useful the medic/engineer apprentices laws are.
ShiningArmor359 (6 months ago)
Better than me I think I ended with 300 after the frost... child labor laws... nearly ran out of coal which was murder.
rojimark (6 months ago)
it's really good. I just finished the main story but so many stuff I have not used. Starting over to try everything out.
princessthyemis (6 months ago)
I usually don't go for city-building games but this sounds REALLY AWESOME!!!!
Power Play (6 months ago)
0/10 too much snow
I3LINK (6 months ago)
Great game but far too short, so not worth the current price tag. There's only 3 scenarios which you can easily complete in just a couple of days or even possibly 1 sitting, but considering the quality of the gameplay I'd place it's current value at around £10. Definitely worth picking up on sale.
Justin Palmer (5 months ago)
I3LINK if you play easy and if you are good at City bilders medium but hard you will have to try alot harder and you do have two different routes a fourth is coming
N/A N/A (6 months ago)
And they game crashes all the time. Unplayable.
Justin Palmer (5 months ago)
N/A N/A did you check the requirements to be able to play it because your PC may be to weak
Mohamed Almuhairi (6 months ago)
it is a great game but limited to 3 scenarios. they rush this game out
Justin Palmer (5 months ago)
Mohamed Almuhairi they are hours long 3 difficulty's and 2 routes and a fourth secnario coming and the foucous tree has branching paths so at the least you will get 12 different play troughs at the least with out the fourth secario coming failed attempts or the different settings or tech tree
Webbie (6 months ago)
most overrated game this year.
Tarjei Halvorsen (6 months ago)
9/10 to much snow
Nereknu Vamnic (6 months ago)
"despite its tough difficulty"?? WHAT DIFICULTY?? Everything is PRESCRIPTED!!!! ITS EASIEST GAME EVER you allways know what will hapen and exactli when. ITS GARBAGE RUSHED GAME WHIT 0 replay value Whole game is made to look like something it iznt it iznt survival or HARD its CHEATING PLAYERS by making all PRESCRIPTED Anybody who finish the game once can play it whit close eyes anytime after. ITS FUKING CASH GRAB!!! NOTHING MORE
Waifu Hunter (6 months ago)
Why is it that in Europe this cost €30 while in SEA cost around $10-$15
Solo Lolo (6 months ago)
Because Juncker.
Lattrodon (6 months ago)
doesn't deserve such a high score
Spenser B (6 months ago)
Most over-rated game for quite a while.
Spenser B (6 months ago)
Probably. Haven't played that one.
Solo Lolo (6 months ago)
God of War is def overrated.
Nurtan Hehe (6 months ago)
For you people thinking of buying this, keep a few things in mind. If you manage to get decent at the game fast, you could finish it in like 4-5 hours. The game is extremely short, the part that takes time is figuring out how to do things, and if you crack the code early on, there's just no content. There's also no replay value, like there is in other city building survival games like "They are billions", that has randomly generated worlds etc. There needs to be a unlimited turns mode too, which there isn't. There's just a few scenarios and then after that it's done, no more. The game that is there is really fun and immersive though. You'd be clued to the screen, for the little time it lasts.
Solo Lolo (6 months ago)
Except there is replay value because the game has multiple scenarios.. and expansions plus updates are being made right now.... so do your research before spewing dumbness. An infinite mode is coming as well which will make the game endless. You will never finish this game in 5 hours, you're lying because it's a 12 hour campaign.
baukepoelsma (6 months ago)
Please bring it to the nintendo switch!
KevChiefHDC (6 months ago)
i love games like this, but i am more into war games, i mean i would have hope like something like this but also that you have to defend it from idk other survivor around the map? idk like a group of people attacks your village and such. anyways LOOKS AWESOME
Justin Palmer (5 months ago)
KevChiefHDC this is one of the very few city's left a war would mean both sides would be vulnerable to the elements no wars but riots are possible people may hurt each other but no full war you run a city not a country a few dead is a big deal with most of the world population dead
capnfoo (6 months ago)
Survival, city building, and what? 4x games? Forex games? Forest exploration?
AllYourBase (6 months ago)
global warming? ironic they end up using coal to survive. lmao. They could have gone for mining uranium or something.
Jet Fury (6 months ago)
Anyone getting app crashes?
Arseniy Kozlov (6 months ago)
IGN is not as critical in their reviews
Mohamed Khaled (6 months ago)
It has a lot of similarities with Paradox's strategy games.
Cpt Slow (6 months ago)
Need serious dlcs, expansions...no replayability after you done it once or twice
Justin Palmer (5 months ago)
Cpt Slow each senario has 2 different paths
Cpt Slow (6 months ago)
Its a bit overated atm to be honest.
ChoppersRevenge (6 months ago)
it has 2 more scenarios after the main story and more coming soon. try playing on hard mode, you'll get you 20-30 hours
stubs (6 months ago)
Totally agree with score. Great game
Mad Habit (6 months ago)
Too much punk 5/5
JEFFREY SOLORIO (6 months ago)
Can't wait for Cyberpunk
Neal Americana (6 months ago)
Tough difficulty? this game is way too easy even on the highest difficulty. no replayability no challenge whatsoever.
Solo Lolo (6 months ago)
The game is great, it already sold 250K copies, and expansions/infinite mode is coming. Calm your fawkin arse.
黃宇豪 (6 months ago)
They should pump out more scenarios to justify the price....like managing dual cities with drastically different traits
Rafael Cabrera (6 months ago)
there will be more expansions ! 260.000 copies sold in 66 hours mate...
黃宇豪 (6 months ago)
Solo Lolo wow they announced multiple sttlements ?!! Ill go buy at once!!
Solo Lolo (6 months ago)
They are.... they announced updates and expansions. They sold 250K copies in 3 days.
IBradFrazer (6 months ago)
The game is great, the only cons are it's too short and doesn't have much replayability.
Solo Lolo (6 months ago)
Sure it does, plus updates and expansions are coming.
Andrei Pintea (6 months ago)
I didn't understand a thing from this review, but I will give the game a try.
Boromir Thefreeman (6 months ago)
11/10 will make the childrens work 24hs shifts again
burnt f1ames (6 months ago)
it actually came out
Nico (6 months ago)
This game was kinda lame. Especially compared to This War of Mine, their first game.
Steve Holmgren (6 months ago)
Great review! I would go 9.5/10. It is infuriating that some people didn't recommend this game because it's "Too short for a $29.99 game." Cheap skates can't appreciate this level of art, design and dedication that went into this title. Easily worth the cash, if not more. 25 hours in, still not bored!
Mass Divide (6 months ago)
9 goldblums out of 10
Soldier Boy (6 months ago)
Sees IGN... Hope Falls... Discontent Rises. Sees the final score Hope slighlty Rises. Discontent is lowered.
Alex L. (6 months ago)
Too much frost, not enough punk! ign -9
Irish Steve (6 months ago)
6.5 /10 no comeback mechanic
mamba 1234_5 (6 months ago)
I knew it would be good and I love the reviewer
Alexander Williams (6 months ago)
The game is a 4 hour game with no replay value. It’s a 5 at most
Cpt Slow (6 months ago)
I agree
thetrickyshow (6 months ago)
Alexander Williams 3 scenarios + varying difficulties + different law choices you can make + more free content coming = 4 hours, no replay value?
Mr Blaffer (6 months ago)
only negative thing for me is that you can not destroy roads..
waeron ra1jerous (6 months ago)
Mr Blaffer lol u can
Mr Blaffer (6 months ago)
TheTrickyShow1 how do i?
thetrickyshow (6 months ago)
Mr Blaffer you can destroy roads
Bruce Lee (6 months ago)
Fukc is wrong with your voice
Tom Knott (6 months ago)
Next - DrizzlePunk
LastFreedom (6 months ago)
This war of mine, warpunk.
Pham Thien Phuc (6 months ago)
what with all the cocain around the map ?
Malice Mage (6 months ago)
What
Mason Opick (6 months ago)
NOT ANOTHER OVER THE TOP GAME AGAIN ....I WAS EXPECTING MORE
Solo Lolo (6 months ago)
Your mother's top.
Lawina (6 months ago)
This sounded more like a walkthrough than a review.
Thanh Ngo (6 months ago)
But is there an option to change the temperature to Celcius?
thetrickyshow (6 months ago)
Thanh Ngo yes
m s-h (6 months ago)
Absolutely loved their previous game: this war of mine. Getting this for sure. Hope ACG reviews it though. His quality of reviews is just a whole different level than ign's.
Mike Karasi (6 months ago)
Support 11 Bit Studios. These guys believe in quality and deliver quality. The game is beautiful with a replayable 12 hour base campaign and it's worth the buy. It will have expansions with additional missions etc. I guarantee it.
hevvy (6 months ago)
Just finished the main scenario, although I had to start over 4 times because of the steep learning curve, once i finally made it to the end of the scenario, all was worth it. The roughly 8 hour campaign was tough, and I never felt like I was winning. But in the end, the story that developed because of my own choices was more than worth it.
Name Surname (2 months ago)
what are you people talking about i finished the first scenario on my first try, though with only 27 survivors...
MEDlC (4 months ago)
Really only 4 tries? It took me days to complete. I just finished the 3rd story after 3 weeks of playing. All 3 stories i had no more than 3 deaths And I save EVERYONE.
Faris Zulkifli (5 months ago)
Just use cheat trainer and it so easy
Clertex Cronius (6 months ago)
I just finished the game and woah. I was so immersed. During the darkest hour, trying all my might to keep everyone alive and not letting the generator explode, was a very intense moment. I was telling my people to keep holding on, just a little bit longer!
Bronx (6 months ago)
hevvy is there anything to do after main scenario. Endless mode or something ?
Oscar Sullivan (6 months ago)
Reminds me of that Stargate episode.
ark13700 (6 months ago)
Never touched city building games, but this one has me interested. Though don't think my laptop could run it :(
Milton KL (6 months ago)
It's not a real game if it doesn't have lootboxes or microtransactions. 0/10
Wesley S (6 months ago)
is it also possible to change Fahrenheit into Celsius? and can you build outside the Crator? cuz this seems really small.
Wesley S (6 months ago)
alright thx. To bad though.
Junior Jaw (6 months ago)
Wesley S only within that crater visually, but you can create extra outside. Also there's option to change the degree
Gracjan Krefta (6 months ago)
awesome game !! just finished
Younis Abbas (6 months ago)
I want this game ...😍
misterJ420 (6 months ago)
please tell me that temperature can be displayed in celsius or im calling it bullsh!t
Jeff B (1 month ago)
Technically when it’s at -40 it’s in both, so, there ya go
Jagen (4 months ago)
Sure. And the UK switched from Fahrenheit to Celsius in 1962...
EnnesX (6 months ago)
It's about a bunch of Londoners
MusicLL (6 months ago)
It's displayed in celcius on default. There's an option to change it to farenheit
Gel Mir (6 months ago)
Fahrenheit would be more atune to the games' victorian era flavor though.
WishingPole (6 months ago)
There's no problem with lack of replayability?
Taylor Coffman (6 months ago)
I knew almost nothing about this game, clicked on a whim. Loved the production quality, I am going to buy the game and I just subscribed.
I'm Swan Ronson (6 months ago)
It deserves the score
Leon Wong (6 months ago)
gorgeous game.
NinjaChicken (6 months ago)
Great game! Especially for only 29.99€. Can't go wrong! :D
Drealmers S (6 months ago)
I played the game for just 5 minute and i just checked the adaptation , Man!! i was so distress by reading it.... Life is cruel
Dark name (6 months ago)
Mh it was not that hard if u plan in advance it becomes too easy but still i loved it
Johnathan Pendleton (6 months ago)
lol I love the concept of the world hope this RtS. Gets the fall out treatment and become a third person game or first person so I can truly play in this world
The Pharaoh (6 months ago)
Mmm idk its like Aven Colony but with lot less space
TenTonNuke (6 months ago)
Never heard of this game. Now GoG, IGN, Day9, etc are all promoting it on the same day. Dynamite marketing crew.
Emme Yott (6 months ago)
There was actually quite a lot of hype going on for many months now, with many people bitterly disappointed it wasn't released in Q4 2017/Q1 2018 as originally announced. But I'm also usually more interested in already released games rather than the upcoming ones. Unless I'm specifically interested in a specific studio, I don't really bother to stare into the horison :P
TenTonNuke (6 months ago)
I AM speaking for myself, which is why the implied word is *I've* never heard of this game, and not *we've* never heard of this game. People seem to be angry at me for my lack of diligence in staying up-to-date with upcoming titles.
Junior Jaw (6 months ago)
You should expand your information sources. And the reason it's promoted/reviewed on the same day is the same as any other games out there. Find out why.
Dan oz (6 months ago)
Just because you haven't heard of it, doesn't mean it came from no where
Buk lau (6 months ago)
TenTonNuke dude i've been tracking it from last 7 monthes,speak for yourself
DarkZerol (6 months ago)
“Baby, It's Cold Outside" - Bill Cosby
Una Persona Muy Especial (6 months ago)
Ice Age 6: The Steampunk World
TKD Gaming (6 months ago)
This game does look beautiful I will give it that
Mj Plunkett (6 months ago)
Can't wait for Kraftpunk
Morty C-137 (6 months ago)
Developed by the same studio who made This War Of Mine? Count me in!!
AlexWhitaker123 (6 months ago)
Any chance this will come to console?
Justin Jeffries (6 months ago)
So...is it just one city or do you have to worry about raiders and other players trying to take what you have built up?
Soldier Boy (6 months ago)
Not really... In Ark scenario you need to send help to New Manchaster.
B1uefix (6 months ago)
You'll be busy preventing people from starving and freezing to death.
duifr (6 months ago)
just one city, every other cities are dead
Michael Westen (6 months ago)
5/10 too much snow also what are video games and how you play them -IGN 2018

Would you like to comment?

Join YouTube for a free account, or sign in if you are already a member.