HomeКомпьютерные игрыRelated VideosMore From: DreamcastGuy

Lost Sphear Review! GREAT Retro RPG? (PS4/Switch)

1150 ratings | 45754 views
The king of RPG's Square-Enix are putting out another indie style adventure. Does Lost Sphear live up to the hype of I Am Setsuna or does this one lose it's way? Find out in my full review of Lost Sphear! Share and subscribe if you liked it! Consider supporting the show on Patreon: https://www.patreon.com/DreamcastGuy Follow me on social media: Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/dreamcastguy Twitter: https://www.twitter.com/dreamcastguy Instagram: http://instagram.com/dreamcastguy Business email: Mark.shockley@yahoo.com All clips of audio and video used in this work are used for entertainment or education purposes under the fair use clause found in sections 107 through 118 of the copyright law (title 17, U. S. Code). If you have any dispute please contact me. "EDM Detection Mode" Kevin MacLeod (incompetech.com) Licensed under Creative Commons: By Attribution 3.0 Lost Sphear is a Japanese role-playing video game developed by Tokyo RPG Factory and published by Square Enix. The game is the second to be developed by Tokyo RPG Factory, and considered a spiritual successor to their first title, I Am Setsuna. The game was released in Japan in October 2017, and is scheduled for release in January 2018 for Nintendo Switch, PlayStation 4, and Microsoft Windows in North America, Europe and Australia. The game follows a young male adventurer named Kanata, who along with his friends Lumina and Locke, is looking for a way to eliminate the "White Fog", which is slowly destroying their hometown of Eru. n 2014, Square Enix formed a new development studio named "Tokyo Dream Factory". Square Enix appointed Atsushi Hashimoto to lead the company due to his views aligning with their goal for the company, namely creating JRPGs similar to those developed in the 1990's during the fourth generation of video game consoles such as Chrono Trigger and Final Fantasy but for more modern video game consoles. The company's first game, I Am Setsuna, was released in 2016, and was successful enough to warrant developing a second title.[4] The follow up, Lost Sphear, was officially revealed on May 30, 2017, being announced for the Nintendo Switch, PlayStation 4, and Microsoft Windows platforms, dropping Setsuna's PlayStation Vita platform. A demo of the game was made playable at PAX West, and was made downloadable in Japan, in September 2017. The game was released on October 12, 2017 in Japan, and is scheduled for release on January 23, 2018, in the West.[
Html code for embedding videos on your blog
Text Comments (221)
DreamcastGuy (7 months ago)
It's the first RPG of 2018!!! Thanks to everyone who kept yelling at me to review this. Was really a great time! :D
SuperBibilou (7 months ago)
Best game ever : GRANDIA 1 (on ps1) 99/10 ,you welcome ;)
Fractivo (7 months ago)
DreamcastGuy I feel like it takes idea like remaking the city from dark cloud and dark chronicle :) What do you think?
Nathaniel Enochs (7 months ago)
Fullmetal Gamer Microsoft really needs to continually try to gain an foothold in the Japanese gaming market and prove those Japanese gamers that the Xbox Consoles actually are very good Consoles to play games on.
Nathaniel Enochs (7 months ago)
Fullmetal Gamer There’s actually an very good amount of JAPANESE RPG GAMES that can sell very well on the XBOX ONE like Final Fantasy 15. The real problem is the JAPANESE GAMING MARKET. The Xbox Consoles has never ever had good sales in Japan which is causing SOME small Japanese Developers to not bring SOME of their NICHE GAMES to the XBOX PLATFORM
Fullmetal Gamer (7 months ago)
It shouldn't come to Xbox One since JRPG's generally don't sell well on the system. Blame the Xbox fand for not supporting them.
nyjay (22 days ago)
now that some time's passed.. which do you believe is better.. this or setsuna?
Michael Coffey (24 days ago)
Nice review, got me to add this to Amazon and once the price gets to about 30$ I will definitely be buying this to support my favorite genre the rpg and jrpg games. Thank you again for the spotlight on this game and for your thoughts and views on it.
Riva l (1 month ago)
i hope tokyo rpg factory make more games like this and setsuna’s gameplay and battle system i really love it
profil84 (1 month ago)
This is also on PC, right? Why you described this as PS4/SWITCH? This is misinformation.
P00rStr94 (2 months ago)
I just want something like Grandia for the PS again.. It was one of the best RPGs and in my opinion still is. Amazing plot, awesome characters and char design, together with Chrono Trigger the first to have done round based fights..
Chief Greco (2 months ago)
Wait for project octopath to show these failed losers how it's done. I have faith in that game.
nickwick35 (3 months ago)
50% off right now on the switch. I just picked it up after waiting what seemed like forever for a decent sale.
pr0xy (3 months ago)
nickwick35 lol Same. Picked up I am Setsuna too.
Liam Lester (4 months ago)
You make the game seem like it's so easy... You haven't played on hard. Know my pain.
Lumenae (5 months ago)
Excellent review, loved it! yet pls less spoil it's an rpg :/
soldatheero (6 months ago)
really 8? from your description id say 7 tops. Too easy = bad
pr0xy (3 months ago)
soldatheero Yeah because that 1 point makes that big of a deference right dipshit?
Nepu-Tech USA (6 months ago)
Also SE is milking the hell out of these indy low budget titles with AAA price tags. 50$ for this or even 40$ is an insult when I got Zelda and Mario Oddysey for 48.99$ and 44.99$ new
Nepu-Tech USA (6 months ago)
I tried the demo on Switch it was really meh, I think right now Xenoblade 2 and Skyrim are the only RPGs worth getting. Maybe even Mario vs Rabbids (even tough it's RTS) if they ever sell a complete edition. The rest of the RPGs on Switch are really average and boring :(
My name is not Coupe (7 months ago)
I farted really loud and my cat adopted me as his step mother
arupian666 (18 days ago)
wow. you're so edgy. and not a cunt, at all.
darkwaterentertianme (7 months ago)
LOL they way you pause and talk reminds me of trisa takanawa on family guy lol
SuperBibilou (7 months ago)
Best game ever : GRANDIA 1 (on ps1) 99/10 ,you welcome ;)
SuperBibilou (6 months ago)
yeah totally dude ,i'am waiting for the pc hd remake 60 fps Grandia 1 (will be remaked by GungHo Online ) and the game already has his steam id reserved for his release ,her some link sources : https://steamdb.info/app/289860/subs/ https://twitter.com/GungHo_America/status/674731463258996736 sorry for my bad english
Justin Drysdale (6 months ago)
SuperBibilou fucking love that game.
Deric Gregory (7 months ago)
Looks solid, but wouldn't pay more than $30 for this type of game.
Likidy Split (7 months ago)
I loved setsuna but can't drop the 80 bucks(in Canada) for this game, gonna wait for it to be on sale but it's defiantly a buy
Alkis K (7 months ago)
I can so easily visualise pokemon with this battle system.
Le Mao (7 months ago)
I Bought the I am setsuna and lost sphear without even watching a review about it and what the game is all about...... Best thing i ever did no regrets at all
Patrick De Laurentiis (7 months ago)
Concerning the difficulty early on, if you're feeling overpowered, play the game on hard. Every move and decision you make matters. It's an unfair critique to criticize the game for difficulty when you're not pushing yourself to play on hard mode.
Nick Howe (7 months ago)
First decent Lost Sphear review I've seen. 8/10 Is fair. It's no ff7 or Chrono trigger, buts a great jrpg that deserves the Square Enix brand and I'm ok paying $58 (if you get the physical game from Square remix online store.) Physically printed games for the win!
mufcdiver (7 months ago)
Nice review but I've just gotta say that the "mechs" are really easy to fuel up, just spend the night at a hotel. :) And it's more of an 8.5 imho :D And hi btw.
Courtney Middleton (7 months ago)
Does this game have new game plus ?
kou khang (7 months ago)
is it woth $50
SDarkOmenS (7 months ago)
i feel like you reviewed this game before you really got anywhere in the game half of the things you're talking about are early game and change later on
SDarkOmenS (7 months ago)
the vulcosuit becomes more useful later on you get more vp and also there are a lot of paradigm drives
SDarkOmenS (7 months ago)
you also get an artifact that lets you refill vp every time you go into a save point
SDarkOmenS (7 months ago)
3:47 you can go to the side of the bosses arms to stop him from doing the move you mentioned
Halsaufschneider (7 months ago)
Great, another easy peasy ultra casual jRPG. And these a..holes want 50€ for something like that... btw. I am Setsuna was utter ugly trash, and overpriced as well! At least in Lost Sphear, the Characters actually have feet...
Antonio Baptista (7 months ago)
Only thing putting me off on this game is the current price tag
Syuna (7 months ago)
Lol how the hell is this indie looking rpg 80$ cad shit looks so bland an no I didn’t play setsuna n to be honest that game doesn’t look good like this one too I love jrpg but this shit is just a cash grab
Saurabh Mazumdar (7 months ago)
Any side quests in this game ?
Moonlight RPG (7 months ago)
Strength feels wasted? ( Not on hard mode) ;). You will want those upgrades xD.
TheFunnyNerd (7 months ago)
When I find a physical copy to buy Ill get it, and definitely not for 50 bucks.
Kaitlyn Franzone (6 months ago)
TheFunnynerd saddly it is only digital but right now till thursday march 22ish there is a 30% off sale on it so now only 34.99! 😁 That is for the nintendo switch.
beans 81 (7 months ago)
New switch owner & saw this one on the estore. Great review, going to pick this up once I’m ready for a new game. Liked the explanation of the games mechanics you gave
James Eke (7 months ago)
This game looks pretty cool, after some "meh" reviews, this has made me want to try the game myself.
Gamesyncc (7 months ago)
Great review!!!
Larry Collins (7 months ago)
Great vid bud, so since u can become op so quick does that mean no grind
Andrew The YouTube Noob (7 months ago)
I am setsuna's biggest flaw was the lack of variety of environments
79Dtrain (7 months ago)
No Monster Hunter World review?
over road (7 months ago)
is it 30fps or 60fps on PC ? anyone know ?
gamerprince1999 (7 months ago)
I'm playing on a low end laptop and it runs 60 FPS inside buildings/houses so I think its a 60 FPS game (provided you have a strong enough computer)
Nathaniel Enochs (7 months ago)
It all depends on what platform you’re playing it on
Ruud de Zwart (7 months ago)
A budget game at full AAA price, No thans. For €30/40 it would be a nice little game for the €60,- they ask for it it's totally garbage.
Justin A (7 months ago)
It's 50 bucks on Steam. No thank you.
ninjammer726 (7 months ago)
please review monster hunter world!!!!!!!
Sir_ Mattimus (7 months ago)
I am interested about this game but wondering if it was worth it. Because I really want to play Octopath Traviler
Dhalin (7 months ago)
My question is always: How long is it? I heard that Setsuna was a pretty short game for its asking price, something like Sub-10 hours. And I remember the days of CT, FF4, and FF6 being 25-30 hours for first playthrough and they were $40 or so new. About how long can someone expect to play this game before clearing the main storyline content, without the extra grindy side-content that RPGs typically have? Is it going to be like FF12 where I finish the game in ~21h, or is this going to be like CT where I can easily sink 30+ hours into it before getting through it the first time? I feel that game length is an important stat for an RPG; nobody wants to blow $20+ on something that they are only going to get 5-10h out of.
theasder (7 months ago)
Very well done and informative review. I watched it after watching the IGN's review which was a lengthy video filled of complains that said nothing about the game. You got a new subscriber, you deserve it. Keep up with the good job!
John Shepard (7 months ago)
$50 seems pretty steep for this.
Due Decimal (7 months ago)
dude! nice review, detailed and well presented.
Junior Duperval (7 months ago)
For 50$? Yeah no. I'd rather get an old game like skyrim for 60
David Harris (7 months ago)
"Sphear" is triggering me
MoonSpirit (7 months ago)
I was wondering if this game would be something worth my while. I might look into this. Maybe.
RedCronoJM (7 months ago)
It reminds me of a dreamcast game i like n recommend is Evolution Sacred Device
Mark (7 months ago)
$50.. fuck that
Keno Zakesy (7 months ago)
Disliked I am setsuna only played that games for Like 2 hours so not buying this one
Shrimp Poboy (7 months ago)
Great job on this video man. I couldn’t get into Setsuna but might try this one anyway.
DR3ADH3AD_GAM3R (7 months ago)
Way better review than ign!! I’m subscribing 👏🏿😎
Angels Gaming Repertoire (7 months ago)
I got mine for the Switch. Love this game. 😍
Jason dp (1 month ago)
Angels Gaming Repertoire is it its own story
Angels Gaming Repertoire (6 months ago)
jb0258 Exactly and I loved I am Setsuna as well. 😃
jb0258 (6 months ago)
i just got it yesterday for switch. No regrets at all, just like with i am setsuna :D
Roronoa Zoro (7 months ago)
I heard that even if your really late to comment dreamcast guy will still say Hello to you. Love your reviews and glad you reviewed this game.
Roronoa Zoro (7 months ago)
How early did you get this game to beat it this quick. I got my limited physical copy 1 day early.
Jesse A (7 months ago)
Love your vids
omensoffate (7 months ago)
Fuck no 50 dollars is not worth
Clear sky Over the lake (7 months ago)
I loved that battle compared to ChronoTrigger. Those words are not to be used Lightly.
Ebefren Revo (7 months ago)
So, its a good game, but no for 50$. I wait.
gamerprince1999 (7 months ago)
I played a bit today and I also noticed how much of an improvement the writing is compared to I am Setsuna.
gamerprince1999 (7 months ago)
So the balancing is still off like I am Setsuna... I wish they fixed it. Hopefully hard mode balances it out
gamerprince1999 (7 months ago)
I just started the game and decided to play on Hard mode because Setsuna was mostly easy and had easy enemies. If it gets to hard for me I'll switch it to normal
gamerprince1999 (7 months ago)
Your description of I am Setsuna: "Ideas of Chrono Trigger with it's spin on it's own thing" You're like the only one who gave that game the credit it deserves. Not enough people say that about it and just constantly compare it to CT.
Renegade Bastard (7 months ago)
Not a new Deus Ex game or Parasite Eve Remake? I couldn’t care less what Square Enix is putting out these days.
Rebecca Christensen (7 months ago)
how long is the game?
gamerprince1999 (7 months ago)
I heard 25 to 30 hours
Ian Hsieh (7 months ago)
I'm still on the fence with this one. I wanted Setsuna for a long time, but when I finally bought it, it kinda disappoints me.
Midnight Killswitch (7 months ago)
What's the playtime looking like? I'm on the fence leaning towards getting it.
TheRomaduce (7 months ago)
QUICK question would you say it was an unbalanced game when you talked about the points to upgrade the weapons, do you think that is something that could be fix in a patch, and will that make the game more enjoyable or better? thanks for the review nice video i'll keep an eye on this one
Positive Gaming Space (7 months ago)
Nice review format. I might check this out when I finish with Xenoblade Chronicles 2
marlow.e ncna (7 months ago)
Tokyo-rpg needs more practice. It sounds like a 3/5 game. @ discount maybe. Hope project Octopath turns our great
stephen oveson (5 months ago)
Octopath demo is pretty solid.
Drewbe _ (7 months ago)
Gotta get this for the Switch.
MegaBenny666 (7 months ago)
Dude you made me buy this game! Thank you I appreciate your videos and your hard work
Jason Hubbard (7 months ago)
I see Tokyo RPG Factory still likes making characters with impossibly long arms.
type2red (7 months ago)
I really enjoyed the demo and i kind of want this game bad right after my 140 hr play thru of xenoblade 2 but 50 bucks !!!! for download or cart smh no way. Don’t get me wrong 10 yrs ago no prob but i just can’t especially seeing as i got I AM SETSUNA on switch for $23 download on sale... i just can’t risk getting this as a download which i know will go on sale. That leaves physical then and you can only get the cart thru square-enix and more than likely shipping and unless you are a die hard collector is not a good deal so i cannot use best buy gcu or amazon on it so i will pass for now till sale and finish other games or do monster hunter world in mean time no offense.
red crimson102 (7 months ago)
This game kinda look like trash and i didnt like the demo. I liked setsuna though, also I don't mind u getting strong early in the game I don't need an tog to be overwhelming got hard.
Cloud Strife (7 months ago)
I preordered this as soon as I could.
Grouchy Dude (7 months ago)
Love your soup analogy. I got a hacked SNES mini for Xmas and I'm playing Chrono Trigger right now so I am tied-up in role-playing games, but your video has me intrigued. I may pick it up later! Thanks, Mr. Guy!
Bryce Douglas (7 months ago)
Really liked I Am Setsuna. Can't wait to play this.
RealTalk309 (7 months ago)
I’ll wait for a sale
RosticalRPG (7 months ago)
Nice review :).
Let's see... JRPG... The world/town is broken and memories are lost... Go in'to dungeons, fight bosses and recover missing memory pieces... Hello? That is the very plotline and execution of Dragon Quest 7 on the PS1. Not surprising coming from its original creator, but COME ON! *Seriously* ?
Saunderss25 (7 months ago)
Speaking of RPGs with Lost in the title, have you ever played Lost Odyssey?
iamxeracon (7 months ago)
My copy came in today!
Kei (7 months ago)
Nice game but too expensive imo.
Tarks Gauntlet (7 months ago)
The japanese sales of this game had me really concerned. I feel at least a little more hopeful now.
Fendera (7 months ago)
After playing FF 6-10, every other turn based rpg is like meh.... nothing can come close anymore to the old Squaresoft team.
Fendera (7 months ago)
jeQQ6 , Switch version would be nice, but the cut back of the graphics would not be worth it.
Fendera (7 months ago)
Jesse McPeek , thx I'll check it out!
Fendera (7 months ago)
gamerprince1999 , I was planing to buy Bravely Default and Second, but I've heard that a Switch version is coming out maybe, I wait a little bit longer because of that.
Trentdagamer 9000 (7 months ago)
Man I will be 50 somethin yrs old by the time they do a ff7 remake 😭😭😧
gamerprince1999 (7 months ago)
Fendera Have you played Bravely Default or Tales of Berseria?
Patrick M (7 months ago)
Maybe I'll beat xenoblade sometime this century so i can play this. I'd like to see this bundled with i am setsuna.
Sanchez Jr (7 months ago)
I bought this game is coming tomorrow:p I love rpg so probably I will enjoy it, also should I play I am setsuna firts???
Ethan Ford Ford (7 months ago)
Is the ending not as mind meltingly bad... That's all that i care about
PSVita at 2am (7 months ago)
I keep throwing money at the screen but nothing happens.
Taemeister (4 months ago)
PSVita at 2am You have to grab your screen and smash it against a concrete floor 4 times as hard as you can. Trust me.
Sanchez Jr (7 months ago)
Retro8bit what do you mean?
Oviie Mbem (7 months ago)
You have to exchange your money with bitcoin first then throw the coin to the screen.
Jin kisaragi (7 months ago)
Retro8bit You have to draw a pentagram on the screen and say “loot box“ 3times. Hope i could help.
Old man Gamer (7 months ago)
Love your reviews always so balanced
NineS (7 months ago)
Tokyo rpg factory responded to claims about I am Sersuna being too easy by saying they'll give enemies more health. Everyone relay the message that they actually have to make enemies hard.
Justin Case (7 months ago)
these should be mobile games
Matthew Watson (7 months ago)
Reminds me of dragon quest IX
dusty48 (7 months ago)
Not that its crucial in this type of game or anything but I don't understand why its 30fps on Switch, it looks very low fi and simple models..
Loek Gerrits (7 months ago)
dusty48 Engine.

Would you like to comment?

Join YouTube for a free account, or sign in if you are already a member.