HomeВидеоигрыRelated VideosMore From: DreamcastGuy

The Life and Death of the PlayStation Vita! - Retrospective Review

1752 ratings | 28929 views
It's been 6 years since Sony's amazing handheld, the PS Vita, came out in that time it's had a tough journey. Today we are reviewing the system one final time, looking at the good, the bad, and the very ugly of the PlayStation VITA! Share and subscribe if you liked it! Consider supporting the show on Patreon: https://www.patreon.com/DreamcastGuy Follow me on social media: Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/dreamcastguy Twitter: https://www.twitter.com/dreamcastguy Instagram: http://instagram.com/dreamcastguy Business email: Mark.shockley@yahoo.com All clips of audio and video used in this work are used for entertainment or education purposes under the fair use clause found in sections 107 through 118 of the copyright law (title 17, U. S. Code). If you have any dispute please contact me. "EDM Detection Mode" Kevin MacLeod (incompetech.com) Licensed under Creative Commons: By Attribution 3.0 In this console handheld review video DreamcastGuy shows gameplay of many different PS Vita games, including some exclusives, and talks about what this gadget did right and did very wrong. This includes talk of price point, ports, backwards compatibility, the PSN store, and the library of great RPGs like Persona 4 Golden, along with many other games. The PlayStation Vita (officially abbreviated PS Vita or Vita) is a handheld game console developed and released by Sony Computer Entertainment. It is the successor to the PlayStation Portable as part of the PlayStation brand of gaming devices. It was released in Japan on December 17, 2011, with releases in North America, Europe, and other worldwide regions starting on February 22, 2012. It primarily competes with the Nintendo 3DS as part of the eighth generation of video game consoles. The original model of the handheld includes a 5-inch (130 mm) OLED multi-touch capacitive touchscreen, two analog joysticks, front and shoulder push-button input, and supports Bluetooth, Wi-Fi and optional 3G. Internally, the Vita features a quad-core ARM Cortex-A9 MPCore processor and a quad-core SGX543MP graphics processing unit. A revised model, the PS Vita 2000 series, released across 2013 and 2014, sports all of the same features with a slightly smaller size, extended battery life, and an LCD screen replacing the OLED display. Sony also released the PlayStation TV, a short-lived, re-purposed version of the Vita that allowed for the play of PS Vita games on a television screen similar to a home video game console, though the PS TV variant was discontinued by the end of 2015. The system's design was created to meld the experience of big budget, dedicated video game platforms with the then up-and-coming trend of mobile gaming through smart phones and tablets. However, in the year after the device's successful launch, sales of the hardware and its bigger budget games stalled, threatening to end its lifespan. A concentrated effort to attract smaller, indie developers in the West, combined with strong support from mid-level Japanese companies, helped keep the platform afloat. While this led to less diversity in its game library, it did garner strong support in Japanese-developed role-playing video games and visual novels alongside a wealth of Western-developed indie games, leading it to become a moderate seller in Japan, and build a smaller, yet passionate userbase in the West. While Sony has not released exact sales figures, analysts estimate the sales to be between 10 and 15 million sold. In the platform's later years, Sony also promoted its ability to work in conjunction with its other gaming products, notably the ability to play PlayStation 4 games on it through the process of Remote Play, similar to the Wii U's function of Off-TV Play.
Category: Видеоигры
Html code for embedding videos on your blog
Text Comments (545)
DreamcastGuy (9 months ago)
Before everyone comments "BUT I STILL PLAY MY VITA" this is focusing on Sony's terrible support of this amazing handheld. :D Thanks for watching and liking the video!!
face37 (9 months ago)
I want to know also
old man RETRO (9 months ago)
I'm not for sure if you will respond to this or not, but I just found your channel now, and very much enjoy it I actually use the PlayStation TV as my counsel I don't have a PS4 or Xbox One I Love RPGs and Indies and that seems to be what is still coming out for it and I will probably be playing the PlayStation TV for quite a while.
RJ (9 months ago)
DreamcastGuy , this is why I support the vita so much despite its shortcomings.
RJ (9 months ago)
Dreamcast Guy, thank you for spreading some vita love on the internet. People need to know that the Vita ISN'T a bad console by a long shot. It's just that most gamers don't have disposable money. Fortunately I do, so I never had a problem getting a Vita with tons of games n a few memcards including 64g. Vita isn't as nearly as expensive as it was at launch now. One thing 3ds had was that you can use standard micro sd cards...
Totenglocke42 (9 months ago)
Z M There is no version of the Vita that uses microSD cards. I have the Vita slim, you still need to buy the overpriced Vita memory cards.
MultiTomtom23 (1 month ago)
i love my vita....especially couse it is as easy to cfw as the psp, which i always own and cfwed immediatly....the graphics are outstanding...and just the vita games and remaster versions for the vita are enough of a reason to own one...but if it is unleashed with henkaku and enso....the possibilities are near endless...it plays everything i need...from the retroarch to ps1, psp, "backups"...i used my cfwed psp till 2018...an it was my great love, until now...(couse i have my vita now) but never would i think about selling my psp... your video was very nice...i think u captured the reasons why such a perfect handheld didnt sell that well very accurate...it was and lets be honest, is still very expensive...i would have bought mine sooner...but at least for me, a new one for 150€ would have been to much...now i bought a used one, that looks like new (and it is a 1000 modell too) for 60€....the guy that sold it to me didnt know what he had...he hadnt turned it on since two years...the fw was 3.15 *lol* idk how it is in the US but here ppl are sitting on their 3,60fw vitas....and if they sell them, sometimes for 200€ up 0_0 yeah...sony built something very nice...a near perfect handheld....but they didnt do anything productive with it...just look, third party developers and indie developers are keeping it alive....solutions were made to bypass their dumbass sony memory cards....and so on...but as i said in the beginning of my comment...i love my vita....and ill never sell it!!
Ramon Wong (3 months ago)
The vita still cost around 250 dollar at Amazon Come on Sony, just drop the price
Metal_Horror_Gamer (4 months ago)
Did you even mention the outrageous prices on the Memory Cards? That is a huge factor on why a lot of people never got into the vita. Also the lack of quality exclusive is a problem as well. Most games I can get on pc or other consoles.
Mr. SEA (4 months ago)
The PSP was a machine that should have had dual analogue sticks from birth...the Vita was an improved PSP, but Sony's greed of selling not only preprietory storage, but ridiculously expensive storage is why users like myself, even though interested, never adopted this machine. I also think short battery life was limited...another wonderful Sony habit as seen in their controllers.
dantemcr129 (4 months ago)
vita is not dead. it didnt die, it went back to japan actually it was deported back to japan LOL
JustBill (5 months ago)
I would've rather the PS Vita be succesful and the PS4 unsuccesful.
omuroth88 (5 months ago)
i just bought a vita for the first time last week from ebay used at a great price and in great condition :) <3 mostly so i could play the new versions of my favorite team ninja titles that are on ps3 namely ninja gaiden sigma plus 1& 2 as well as dead or alive 5 plus and next month im planning on getting more cartridge games since i dont have a massive memory stick yet lol those are what really drain your wallet for sure haha everything else about the system is epic :D
K Bye (7 months ago)
I still use my ps vita almost everyday...
Tim Douglas (7 months ago)
About to use PlayStation vita 2017 and have like no games for I’ve looked online online store just seems dead there’s no games in stores haven’t come across them and pawnshops don’t know what to do can’t even play it 😩
Billy Humphrey (8 months ago)
I bought a Vita I read of a Switch due to the Vita’s superior game library and PS4 remote play. No regrets whatsoever, I now have 20+ Vita games, most of those I bought for <$20
Michiaru Chiba (8 months ago)
I love my PSP Vita and Enjoy it alot. My gripe was the Memory Card Price. I have a 64GB But I payed an Arm and Leg for it.
Cesar Ortiz (8 months ago)
I brought the vita to stream ps4 games
Dp Carter (8 months ago)
It died cause of the expensive ass Memory cards.
Gamer Madden07 (8 months ago)
the Vita is still selling like hotcakes in Japan but in the USA we abandoned the Vita and Sony left it too
face37 (9 months ago)
What are the games at 2:05, 3:20, and 9:06?
fukuharasan (9 months ago)
lol - PSP were scaled down PS2 games, PSVita scaled down PS3 games, so in perspective, they both delivered the same - experiences slightly below the then current gen systems.
Matthew Dallmann (9 months ago)
probably sold his first Vita. after video, sold his second Vita.
Matthew Dallmann (9 months ago)
toukiden and the numerous fanservice games breathed life into my Vita console
TheBobwatermellon (9 months ago)
New Vita games in only a few days
Fearless BLaZ (9 months ago)
When they said No Madden on the Vita, I was done.
tom11zz884 (9 months ago)
Give it a rest GEEK, Sony could care less about the PS Vita............
MikusLove Soul (9 months ago)
What we need is better games I'm mostly into openworld rpg games but I mostly see is 2d visual novels which are not bad but is only majority of the store games.
Krioux3 (9 months ago)
It's not dead bro, you just gave up on it like Sony did. There is still a very active fan base for this system, I log an average 20 hrs a week on my system and my collection continues to grow. I'm sitting at around 80 physical games right now. Yes it doesn't get the attention or love that it should, but videos like this saying it is dead really don't help that case.
Codo8 (9 months ago)
After the first two years or so this thing became a JRPG and Indie machine, but the selection of games was one of the best I've ever played
RJ (9 months ago)
SUBBED!
RJ (9 months ago)
Vita is kind of like the NEO GEO of the current handheld world and marketplace as far as it being a pricey powerful machine with great games since 2011...yes this system does have lots of great games.
RJ (9 months ago)
Thank you DG!
shizuwolf (9 months ago)
The charger port messed up on mine 😢
Ren 89 (9 months ago)
I don't pick it up that often over my 3DS these days, but I still keep an eye out for the trickle of Japanese localized games that come out. It's still much closer to a full console in ur pocket than the DS, and to some degree even the switch. I can put the vita in a jacket or trouser pocket and forget its there till i wanna play, but not the switch... you need a rucksack to carry that around... that doesn't feel like true portability.
RetroMatt (9 months ago)
Solid solid video man. I agree with every sentiment you had. I play my Vita every other day I'd say right now. The Switch has several ports from games on the Vita and PS4 now (like Y's VIII, which is one of the best games on the Vita) and it's going to be so hard to survive in this atmosphere. It's sad. Maybe the Switch will get Sony to make another portable, or console/portable..and market it right this time. Go all in ya know? I mainly play PS4, but when I travel, my Vita is always with me.
Darkhitman (9 months ago)
i like the ps vita i actually have 2 of them
Mr. SEA (9 months ago)
Companies do not have to drop the price necessarily, but offer a more affordable version...this provides choice and works well with 2ds and 3ds options. The same goes with PS4 and the Pro.
Black Phoenix (9 months ago)
Outside Killzone mercenary uncharted golden Abyss in Persona 4 I kind of given up on my Vita don't get me wrong I own Dynasty Warriors and God of War as well but
Black Phoenix (9 months ago)
Honestly I only own five games on the Vita
Carlos Oyuela (9 months ago)
The lesson Sony managed to learn from the PSP is how to make a console so exclusive that even its board of executives can't afford it. The lesson Sony failed to learn from the PS Vita is how to make a console enticing to their customers and how to sell it at affordable prices to everyone.
I have just bought that console. It is great system for jRPG, what I have expected. Unfortunatelly, price tag Vita + 32 GB/64 GB card was too high. Sony should have learnt from PS3 lesson.
Robert Stevens (9 months ago)
Love the psp, I like the vita. I use it mostly for my digital psp games
Enclave grunt (9 months ago)
It hurts me inside when someone calls jrpg's rpg's
Lizandro Romo (9 months ago)
Long live the Vita ! ! ! ! ! !
Ben Loohole (9 months ago)
After the PSP's really good sales you would think the PS VITA would do really well. The PS Vita was a missed opportunity. Because Sony are really the only company to date to make a dent in Nintendo's stranglehold on the handheld market ( probably thats why the Switch isn't a "real" home console ). The PS VITA is a great handheld console ( and the PSP ) I hope in the future Sony decide to try the handheld console market again because there are pretty good at it and I'am getting pretty bored of Nintendo controlling the handheld market.
Wirlog (9 months ago)
GOD DAMN OVERPRICED MEMORY CARDS!!! why no one adress this a ons of the most important reasons why a lot of people didn't want to buy the console??
Lie Sandy (9 months ago)
When capcom jumped ship i was like WHAT???? What's the use of the 2nd Analogue Stick if it's not for MH. and of course From software Armored Core Series,
Maaziio (9 months ago)
I bought a VIta a couple years ago . played the shit out of it , and now its a decoration on my shelf , shame
Doug V. (9 months ago)
My Vita is a Hatsune Miku machine.
Anglo-Saxon Connor (9 months ago)
Vita is a machine where in order to live it must first be dead. That mean once no more custom firmware update come in and ps2 and ps3 titles can finally be able to be emulate on it. If this day happen vita will become legendary. Already psp can play the first half of the entire gaming history on it and games can be stored on sd cards etc. Just imagine vita doing the same things too with the ability to run the sixth and seventh gen titles on it.
Denis Franco (9 months ago)
just a correction, the thing on the back is a touchPAD, not a touchscreen
Andrea Rossi (9 months ago)
Sony's overpriced proprietary memory card killed the a great portable console.
r a v e n n 4 1 1 (9 months ago)
What game is in 10:45?
Amristar (9 months ago)
Vita says, I survived 2017! Now, lemme see how I barrel through 2018.
adultmoshifan87 (9 months ago)
PlayStation Vita deserved more of a chance. The 3DS has done pretty well but 3rd parties started abandoning both systems due to the rise of smartphone gaming! I absolutely hate that most popular handheld games are freemium smartphone games that con the players into each spending £1000+ on in-app purchases! Sony are also stupid not just for abandoning the Vita, but also by not offering ANY backwards compatibility on the PS4! I have considered getting a PS4, PSVR and Rick & Morty: Virtual Rick-ality but that would be like getting a Jaguar just to play Alien vs Predator. It wasn't until the Nintendo Switch came out that I FINALLY started to have faith in the games industry again, with its 3rd party support in bucketloads, worked almost immediately out of the box and provides a better handheld gaming experience than any smartphone or tablet! My only real problem with the Switch is that it's not very portable: I can't fit it into my pocket whereas the 3DS and Vita both fit in my pockets just fine! How would I have done Vita different? - games would've come on Super UMDs, and the system itself would also play PSP UMDs - system would support micro SD cards instead of its own proprietary memory cards - price the system fairer, and cut the price if demand for one still happens - if EA still treat Vita like dirt as they did 3DS, revive World Tour Soccer and GameDay for Vita, the latter with NCAA and CFL licenses due to EA's exclusive NFL deal - come out strong with a bigger, more varied 1st party lineup, including a new Locoroco and Talkman - later into system's life, release a model with 4G support
Mystic Dreamfall (9 months ago)
Not dead to me, I have so many games on it. But then I play all types. And not talking about all the little indie games. And it only flopped here.. Yes, because Sony didn't support it HERE and neither did people. Also what made it go bad was the price of the memory cards! Anyways, have you not seen the Vita section in Japan? Its alive and doing amazing. They have isles and isles of just vita games! They come out with games constantly. When you see ALL the games on the shelves it would blow you away. And so many different vitas displayed for sale. So, it may be considered dead here.. But it definitely is ALIVE and thriving in Japan still. Plus, truly dead to me is when no more games at all come out. But I will still love and play my vita, even if Sony doesn't support it here. Others still are. I am just happy more games are still coming in 2018. http://www.handheldplayers.com/upcoming-games/upcoming-ps-vita-games-2018/
agent2800 (9 months ago)
Does anyone know what is the RPG he’s playing at 2:06
Dusty Bunny (9 months ago)
I have two Vitas that I play more than my 3ds and even my consoles. Mostly because of import games such as Super Robot Wars and SD Gundam. Gotta love no region lock.
kimi arcil (9 months ago)
If you want high graphic games and challenging mind then go for vita. I think one day definitely there would launch new handheld but the games compatible with vita. Nintendo is more for their library and you can change any title if you bored but their graphic bit behind maybe because they cut the price to make it affordable. Nintendo good customer neighbourhood while sony still hard headed profit.
Killer Tone47 (9 months ago)
What a great system all the lame on sony :(
Chris Moreland (9 months ago)
GREAT VIDEO .. BUT your room background is kind of dull.... makes it seem boring. there lol
Giles Smith (9 months ago)
I wasted so much money on this junk. Crap follow up to the PSP.
Michael Dust (9 months ago)
You owe him a BJ for getn a vita😂😂😂😂😂
Fernando Marroquin (9 months ago)
I still feel the same about Nintendo Ds and 3ds like Nintendo may stop supporting it but i wont!
TheTron08 (9 months ago)
Honestly I hope that every product Sony releases that uses proprietary memory cards fails. It's just a blatant money grab when micro-sd are so cheap, fast, and high capacity.
Don Allen Bergado (9 months ago)
what game is @3:55 ?
Keoki Holguin (9 months ago)
Sorry but the Vita is not dead. Just to people that like triple a games. Watch Radical Reggie's channel he is always showing good hidden gems for it. Only problem the Vita had was those memory cards.
Keoki Holguin (9 months ago)
Well i'm in California so I guess that makes me in the US region.
SixPack Shakur (Rep5281) (9 months ago)
Keoki Holguin Maybe not in your region but it's dead in mine.
Artigans (9 months ago)
Leave the handheld to nintendo ... sony just focus on console..
BCZ130 (9 months ago)
got my vita last spring....I now own 18 amazing games for it and am looking forward to more games like 13 sentinels: aegis rim
MDKAI (9 months ago)
I fully blame sony for their lack of focus on supporting the vita. when they first showed it off at e3 I was so excited, but the following years, they had almost nothing to show for it. They just kept pushing the ps4 and other services. Come on already...
rick hunter (9 months ago)
The vita is perfect for the indies, all the indie games should be released for the vita
rick hunter (9 months ago)
PS VITA IS STILL ALIVE YOU FOOL!! AND IS FAR BETTER THAN THE SWITCH YOU FOOL!!
rick hunter (9 months ago)
That´s not true YOU FOOL!
lana delrey (9 months ago)
rick hunter the switch outsold the vita already in less than a year.
Jaden Abed (9 months ago)
i still love and play on my vita.i bought it knowing that sony killed it. Sucks that sony killed it but its still an amazing handheld and has great RPGS if ur into that. Believe it or not... a Vita 2 is not needed. The vita is still a strong handheld that can compete ...all it needs is new big name games and better advertising. and did i mention that REMOTE PLAY IS FREAKING AWESOME !!!
Krash #42 (9 months ago)
The memory card in my second-hand Vita is about $10 cheaper than the Vita itself...
Unterhosen Jack (9 months ago)
Its cool.
Kirk D (9 months ago)
Dude...the proprietary memory cards killed it. People will spend $350 for the unit, but not $100+ for memory cards. If they re-release a microSD card version, I think that would appeal. Now you can afford large storage or multiple cards and can purchase more content on the PS store.
Lonely Variety (9 months ago)
Have you seen my friend's podcast? It's called MightyKillasPodcast (podcast might not be in the name). He can't access it right now but it's still up last time I checked. It's video game based.
Lonely Variety (9 months ago)
So first you get me interested in the PSP in 2016 and in 2018 you do this to me? Still gave it a link.
Lonely Variety (9 months ago)
*like
Mark Sillen (9 months ago)
The vita was not bold or innovative. Just like ps 4 and Xbox it was just more powerful.
Chris Carbine (9 months ago)
They only need one thing to revive this console: Micro SD memory card adapter.
referral madness (9 months ago)
The vita is an amazing system with loads of great games but sony should have just lowered the price for the system and the 64 gb memory card. The vita has lots of amazing triple aaa games in the first few years but there should have been more. I also don't think the marketing was that great when it first came out I wanted one because of the BC with ps1 games but then I got an galaxy s3 so I didn't need a vita for ps1 games but the only game I can remember from around that time was wipeout 2048
Kaneda (9 months ago)
Im thankful for the Vita, for introducing me to the Persona series. I invested so many hours into Persona 4, that I was just scattering all over the net, to find any game similar to such a gem. I was disappointed with how Sony shafted the Vita, and it's just reached the point where I just can't invest in any of their products besides the PS4, because I have no faith in them, that they'll offer countless support. Thank God for the Switch!
Kevin Strom (9 months ago)
This system introduced me to Persona 4..... So yeah, best system ever.
Hardware Chaser (9 months ago)
Never lived up to the PSP. Sold my VITA years ago, still have my 10 year old PSP Fat.
BlikeBud TV (9 months ago)
The worst part of the vita was the name
Ben Rutter (9 months ago)
My beautiful girl
SnappyJon (9 months ago)
Stupidly expensive proprietary Sony memory cards. It killed digitally downloadable games desirability. End of story.
MarcsLab (9 months ago)
Helldivers on the Vita is an excellent game.
kev McCarthy (9 months ago)
Had my vita for 4 years and still love it!
kubrix1222 (9 months ago)
Sony killed the vita with the lack of support and ridiculously priced proprietary memory cards. Thankfully we now have the sd2vita adapter and can use microsds. I don't feel that they achieved console quality though the Switch was the first to do this. I would be extremely surprised if Sony releases another handheld I don't feel they're willing to take that gamble.
Jay Banner (9 months ago)
I’ve had three PS Vita’s so far in this lifetime, but ended up selling them all. For Me, the countless JRPG’s (and not many diversity or other genres of games) put Me off keeping them. The memory cards were ridiculously expensive as well. And I honestly didn’t see the point in the touchscreens. If Sony had JUST added the additional thumbstick and kept the rest of the Vita like the PSP (design-wise, But obviously have the ramped up hardware) then I think it would’ve done better.
galandrius (9 months ago)
You need to do more videos like this good job !!
red crimson102 (9 months ago)
I love the psvita (I love the psp more though) the name was stupid, they should've called it psp2, not being able to use 3rd party micro sd was a bad move, it didn't have it's own identity, it was trying to be a portable ps3 which at the time was getting slottered by the better console known as the 360 lmao
Glenn Chapman (9 months ago)
Sony left the door open for the Switch to take over. SMH.
I don’t really care much for the whole vitaisland thing. But the vita is great! And 2017 was a good year for it. 2018 is already looking pretty good too. I also have a bunch more than 12 games lol.
chris bills (9 months ago)
Indie games are not all that
racerxgundam (9 months ago)
i own an original minty OLED ps vita. here is my honest review....if ur into RPG's its a mandatory purchase for persona 4 GOLDEN...a game that is a second revision of the ps2 game...and its improvements are so noteworthy that it makes the original iteration moot. A complete surprise is FREEDOM WARS...a take on the monster hunter/MMO mass hunting genre that is sooo shockingly good i would argue its the best value for what it is on the aftermarket! sadly that game's story hinges on cliffhangers that won't see resolution... Those two games are enough to be system sellers in my book. Add in some other select titles...a vibrant indie scene and a TOTAL UNDERSTANDING of Japanese gaming culture and i will say its worth its high price points..BUT IF YOU ARE NOT INTO JRPG's OR SRPG'S or INDIE GAMING then to be completely honest your money is better spent elsewhere!
albert fish (9 months ago)
I still play my psp go mainly playstation classic games
Gamer Emporium (9 months ago)
It's not officially deaf until it's officially discontinued.
Adam Morrell (9 months ago)
Had my VITA 4half years and love the system, Killzone Mer / Uncharted GA / Tearaway / DeadNation / Wipeout 2048 / virtua tennis4 etc etc are amongst the great games of Last generation! Great underated console. Stupid memory cards didnt help atall.
Mode7 (9 months ago)
WoW !! 2012 , its been out a while and not 1 single game has ever tempted me to buy a Vita
Tavo Smith (9 months ago)
vita means life, vita is life
Arie Ortiz (9 months ago)
I had a Vita for a few months, until it got wrecked in a flood that occured in my basement. I do plan on getting another one sometime though. Luckily, I still have all my games, as well as my memory card, which hopefully still works. Good video btw!
Paolo Mabagos (9 months ago)
henkaku+sd2vita(although illegal) is the life support of the vita,

Would you like to comment?

Join YouTube for a free account, or sign in if you are already a member.