HomeКомпьютерные игрыRelated VideosMore From: DreamcastGuy

Final Fantasy XII: The Zodiac Age Review! Way Too Easy? (PS4)

874 ratings | 33722 views
While we wait for the Final Fantasy VII Remake Square-Enix has released another interesting remastered project. Is Final Fantasy 12 the Zodiac Age better the the original or just an dumbed down mess? Find out in my full video review! Share and subscribe if you liked it! Consider supporting the show on Patreon: https://www.patreon.com/DreamcastGuy Follow me on social media: Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/dreamcastguy Twitter: https://www.twitter.com/dreamcastguy Instagram: http://instagram.com/dreamcastguy Business email: Mark.shockley@yahoo.com All clips of audio and video used in this work are used for entertainment or education purposes under the fair use clause found in sections 107 through 118 of the copyright law (title 17, U. S. Code). If you have any dispute please contact me. "EDM Detection Mode" Kevin MacLeod (incompetech.com) Licensed under Creative Commons: By Attribution 3.0 http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/ Enhanced gameplay features: Zodiac Job System - Improved leveling system that caters to the player's preference; Trial Mode - Take on monsters and enemies in up to 100 consecutive battles; Speed Mode Latest-generation HD graphical capabilities, including characters and movie scenes fully remastered in high definition True 7.1 surround sound, including high definition voicing and newly recorded background music utilizing the current generation of sound production Modern advancements including PlayStation4 trophy support and share functionalities, auto-save and shortened loading times An endless amount of gameplay and adventure including Hunts, Battles, and mini-games Final Fantasy XII (ファイナルファンタジーXII Fainaru Fantajī Tuerubu) is a fantasy role-playing video game developed and published by Square Enix for the PlayStation 2 home video console. Released in 2006, it is the twelfth title in the mainline Final Fantasy series. The game introduced several innovations to the series: an open world split into zones, a seamless battle system, a controllable camera, a customizable "gambit" system which lets the player control the artificial intelligence (AI) of characters in battle; and a "license" system that determines which abilities and equipment are used by characters. Final Fantasy XII also includes elements from previous games in the series, such as Chocobos and Moogles. The game takes place in the fictional land of Ivalice, where the empires of Archadia and Rozarria are waging an endless war. Dalmasca, a small kingdom, is caught between the warring nations. When Dalmasca is annexed by Archadia, its princess, Ashe, creates a resistance movement. During the struggle, she meets Vaan, a young adventurer who dreams of becoming a sky pirate in command of an airship. They are quickly joined by a band of allies; together, they rally against the tyranny of the Archadian Empire. Final Fantasy XII received critical acclaim, earning numerous "Game of the Year" awards in various categories from noted video game publications. Selling more than two million copies in Japan, it became the fourth best-selling PlayStation 2 game of 2006 worldwide. By November 2009, over 6 million copies of the game were sold worldwide. A sequel, Final Fantasy XII: Revenant Wings, was released for the Nintendo DS in 2007. A high-definition remaster of the International Zodiac Job System version, subtitled The Zodiac Age, was released worldwide for the PlayStation 4 in July 2017.
Html code for embedding videos on your blog
Text Comments (213)
DreamcastGuy (1 year ago)
Thank you so much for watching the video despite my ruined voice. Im gonna get some rest and heal now. Much love! :)
William Hunter (11 months ago)
DreamcastGuy I'm sorry you're sick, I know how that is i am battling an illness myself. Thank you for an indepth review. I played the original back in the day, got about a fourth through it so glad they brought it back. I currently playing ix on ps4 I'll get this in a month or two. Get well
Kaan Erdi (1 year ago)
There is no fucking handholding. This game was soo damn hard I cried hundreds of times.
Scaredy C (1 year ago)
Deco grinding in this game I don't think is necessary but it will be brutal grinding is fun in this game though due to having actual things to do like collecting bountys on rare bosses and cretures or exploring areas and dungeons
Deco (1 year ago)
DreamcastGuy is grinding required? or can I just play storyline only?
Michael Coffey (24 days ago)
Never understood how this is not in MOST people's top 5 in the Final Fantasy series. I am and will always prefer a turn base system, but I felt they did a very good job with the battle system. Again thank you for spotlighting this game.
Nathan Dugas (1 month ago)
I LOVED the PS2 original and had done the vast majority of side bosses, Espers, and hunts, but never did ALL of it. With The Zodiac Age, I've been slowly whittling away at getting the Platinum trophy, though I did take a long break (up until a few days ago, my last save was in late November!). Right now, I'm nearly there. -All hunts completed except for Yiazmat -All characters at level 99 -Bestiary complete except for Yiazmat -All Espers The only trophies I have left are the 2 associated with Trial Mode, the 2 associated with beating Yiazmat (1 for beating him and 1 for completing the Bestiary), and the 1 for beating the story. I'm going to dive into Trial Mode and play UP TO the stage with Yiazmat (I want to beat him first in the main game, since he's only got 1/10th of the HP in Trial Mode), then beat Yiazmat in the main game, finish Trial Mode, and beat the story. I'm WAY over-leveled for the story, so that will be my reward for my efforts, especially as the Platinum trophy will drop when the final boss is beaten.
Final Limits (2 months ago)
You almost sound like Chills
Derva Kommt von hinten (3 months ago)
i didnt think the game was too difficult. i really HATE that they made the game easier AND that they put restrictions on the character development. less freedom and more easy... sounds like the recipe of final fantasy 13 all over again -.- would have loved if they had just put a difficult mode in with the monsters beeing a slightly higher level and more of them. also maybe some new regions and features. was about to buy a ps4 just because of this remaster, but then i learned about the changes which are pretty much all negative in my point of view
Zak Wood (4 months ago)
it's an MMO with an JRPG skin. The 'job system' made it a bit more RPG-like, but it's still more MMO-like; kinda dissapointing for a JRPG series
Sander Tegneby (5 months ago)
J rpg's are poorly balanced. so i don't mind
huntman1412 (5 months ago)
Is this a real person speaking or a machine?
bechIboy kim (6 months ago)
play the zodiac age on steam the new version or ps4 choose (new game minus) Then i will promies its not easy if you want a real challange =)
delunk (7 months ago)
Would have never known you were sick. Youtubers always tell us forsomereason.
The Tepes (7 months ago)
Serious question: how much should they have upgraded the graphics? Because the way I see it, it's either this kind of quality or a complete remake. Since the original is from 06, I think that the current visuals are the best if you just want a remaster and a complete remake.
SDarkOmenS (7 months ago)
the orriginal was easy
Max Power (8 months ago)
I played this game to death when I was recovering from pneumonia when it was released! Can't wait to play it again on PC in a couple of weeks.
shawn cypret (8 months ago)
I logged about 130 hours into my PlayStation 3 for this game I've never logged that many hours into any video game
In The Beginning (10 months ago)
The game is awesome but is extremely easy.
Derva Kommt von hinten (10 months ago)
FUCK NEWCOMERS, i want a hard final fantasy -.-. if you can get a pizza while the gambit kills off the boss then the game is too easy, and i could do that in the original. if the hd remaster is easier than the original, then its for toddlers -.-
Derva Kommt von hinten (3 months ago)
why is most of my statement crossed off?
blueplanetproject77 (11 months ago)
great review!
ApexCactus (1 year ago)
I had to wait 10 years to finally play this game (never had the ps2) and now I can say, the wait was worth it.
Ghost Lance (1 year ago)
Zodiac is dumbed down? I'll stick with the PS2 version thx
Big Boss (1 year ago)
It looks really fucking boring compared to xv
JetSpand (1 year ago)
can i change party leader in cities or still need to play as van
Icecl Keyheart (1 year ago)
Brandon Condello Still Vaan
Rusty Blader (1 year ago)
this game is overrated but thats just my opinion anyways why review this it makes no sense its a remake of an old game if you liked the old FFXII than youll like this one end of story
Shifter X (11 months ago)
Use some periods and commas you fucking assclown.
NightDancer Gaming (1 year ago)
As a PC player I feel that XII was the best for its free movement and Zodiac just made it better.
Levi Braswell (1 year ago)
This was one of the few Final Fantasy games I didn't like mainly because of the license board, basically every character could be built the same so they didnt seem unique to me except for quickenings. Or maybe I just missed something? That new mode they added intrigued me though, it made me debate on playing it again. Great review though.
Scitch2781 (1 year ago)
Xbox missing out again
MadSense (1 year ago)
I've played vii, viii, x, x-2, and xii. I'd say it's fourth on my list of rankings. What FF game should I play next?
Sony Pony Gaming (1 year ago)
Get well soon man, damn.
Ian Liew (1 year ago)
wonderful review, can i ask why vaan looks different in the end?
Shifter X (11 months ago)
Ian Liew Thats Basch.
Bringer of dis pear (1 year ago)
This guy doesn't even know about chaining species. This is my first time playing the game and it hasn't even downloaded completely yet, can only play with Vaan and even I figured this system out early.
Ryan Clemons1 (1 year ago)
I got this game a long time ago and hated how slow the battles were looks like they fixed that i may see about getting this game and beating it.
Igor Domingos (6 months ago)
Ryan Clemons1 You can change the speed in the options.
vjjgsgkhe dsgkpgxeseu (1 year ago)
My cock is better then this game
Paul Fascione (1 year ago)
Great review! Just wondering how you got Basch in a different outfit?
Neo Android (1 year ago)
I got this game since I never played the ps2 one and I'm absolutely in love with it. Also I like that you can make do with any variation of the jobs too
Neo Android (1 year ago)
Final Fantasy 12 and 9 are the most underrated FF games and it's a shame since there so good
Limitle3s Productions (1 year ago)
I feel like the grinding part of the game is pretty easy and getting around which makes this remaster awesome. Not sure about the end game as I'm not quite there yet. I've been doing some videos on this game as well. Love FFXII more than I remember though, definitely worth buying.
TheOneTrueJRW (1 year ago)
Though I love this game, it really highlights some of the problems I have with optional content in JRPG's. In my mind, the final boss should be the ultimate challenge in a game (unless there is post game content.) But if you do all that optional content in this game, you could literally turn your gambits on, go make a sandwich, and come back just in time to see your party finish off the last boss. It's like, what's the point of having all this incredible gear from the side missions, if there's no real threat worth taking on with said gear. Final bosses in JRPG's should scale based on what enemies you have felled in the game. Just focused on the story? Cool, Vayne will be around level 45ish. Took out Omega Mark XII? Vayne is now level 110 with a slew of new attacks to challenge you with. Again, it would be different if it were post game, but once you kill Vayne, them credits roll and it's over.
HAVOC (1 year ago)
9.5 out of 10
Slightz (1 year ago)
I don't understand the bads at all tbh. There are several monsters that have been made harder and have more ho and even have added stays ailments. and making money is pointless long and hard? That makes no sense lol. Gear from merchants are like 10k to 20k mid game. Weapons are same. Magicks are easy to get. They need to make it much much harder. You can go out to random places for 30mins and come back with 50k lol. The graphical upgrade is nice as hell. It looks like a PS3 game honestly.
Kim Sanderhoff (1 year ago)
Why do youtubers always apologize if they have a cold or sore throat or something? Nobody cares about that as long as the content is great.
Terra Estrahl (1 year ago)
It's not like anyone can tell usually, anyways.
Galan Destroyer (1 year ago)
Do you need to have played the original to understand what's going on in this sequel?
kkkbro (3 months ago)
You can play both the original and this game 4x each and still don't understand what's going on 😂.
Jack Brown (8 months ago)
This isn't a sequel, it's a remaster...
Shawn Lion (1 year ago)
Not really.
quezcatol (1 year ago)
after playing this game on my ps4, I realized , how fucking badly ff13 and ff15 truly are. I mean, this was a real final fantasy.
Jeremy Stanton (1 year ago)
This is why you don't use two jobs. I'm only using one.
Kelvin Kegel (1 year ago)
This game is still as hard as before, if don't grind.
Ultimatefighter343 (1 year ago)
Awesome job, you just earned a subscriber and get well soon.
Ethan Whitney (1 year ago)
in all seriousness I have played 7 different final Fantasy games. this one was by far the best. challenging but not to difficult. great flow. Interesting and engaging battle system. decent story. great and challenging side quests if you did the hunts. only flaw I found was some of the hunts were bugged.
Uzukii (1 year ago)
"At the core of Final Fantasy 12 is still the same solid story we've always loved. It's the tale of a young man.." Sorry, but no, gonna have to stop you right there. I think it's fair to say most people hated Vaan and found the story very boring. Especially since they tried to make him the protagonist.
Thomas Johnson (1 year ago)
May you please link or send me the source on the comment you made about Final Fantasy 12 hiding items on purpose? thanks!
Woomy Kong (1 year ago)
you sound like Chris from family guy
Pharese Jackson (1 year ago)
thanks 4 the review your the best hope you get better soon
ScorpionXII (1 year ago)
They definitely nerfed this game. I was able to run through all of the bosses with minimal effort, while on PS2 I was on the brink of death the whole game.
Derva Kommt von hinten (3 months ago)
in the normal game i constantly ventured into areas i wasnt supposed to go to get some challenge out of the game. if what you say is true then i dont even have to start playing this game...
Andy Rushmadhy (5 months ago)
On ps2 the all boss is really hard to kill if you dont have a good item. But on ps4 its really easy to kill the boss. Better experience for me on ps2
Vincent Tran (7 months ago)
the zodiac jobs made it easier, bosses like ultima can be defeated at lvl 50 now unlike ps2 where you need more. if only they made hard mode where bosses get increases stats
dead cell (1 year ago)
Daniel Lim but most of the changes could be ignored and are optional?
Daniel Lim (1 year ago)
Daniel Crompton No all the changes made this game easier.
SnowVilliers231 (1 year ago)
Another great review DG! Also get we'll soon dude!
Zaelle (1 year ago)
I have not played it yet but I imagine that it is too easy, yes. The original wasn't really difficult to be honest and them making it easier could not have helped. Excluding extra stuff anyway.
Zachariah Mitten (1 year ago)
For the love of all things Square, can we please get Final Fantasy IX on PS4!
Lesten Truth well ....it happened ...happy with it? Graphics arent great for a remaster.
Lesten Truth (1 year ago)
Zachariah Mitten I'm buying that DAY ONE if it ever happens lol
Nicholas Livingston (1 year ago)
I stood in line at midnight for the original release, I have also played the zodiac version on emulator. This is the best version by far. I was a little disappointed we dint get any new hunts or some cool costume changes with this version. You finally get one of the better FF stories without grueling grinding.
Tavo Smith (1 year ago)
i still own my steelbook ps2 copy, i remember spending hours in this one, tweaking and tweaking the gambits to get the perfect set for the party, grinding and grinding in the great crystal...
Beni (1 year ago)
Imagine how annoying it would be to discuss with this guy while he "taalks like thiiss".
Fern (1 year ago)
Hope you get well soon.
Marvin Frenel (1 year ago)
Hope you feel better boss
Bloodbane2099 (1 year ago)
the ps3 launch did nothing to deter the hype for Final Fantasy 12 for me, especially with a $599.99 price tag for the ps3 i was like fuck all that noise
shane newman (1 year ago)
i hope this comes to pc its killing me not being able to play this :/ hope you feel better soon DG
Spawn Wave (1 year ago)
Gotta give you props for powering through this review! Hopefully you got some medicine, we have SpawnCast this weekend ;)
The Game Grinder (1 year ago)
I've had FFXII for a long time, just never got around to it. Now with this out, I'm kinda glad I never did as this sounds like a much better experience.
Anas Bakhit (1 year ago)
actually I think lowering the HP to some enemies and bosses is a good idea, still remember that one of the monsters that you need to hunt down had this insane amounts of HP on the ps2, I couldn't managed to kill it at all even though all of my characters were at level 100.. not only that, it can also one hit kills you or it can kills any of your characters in 4 hits, when I did a search for it I got surprised that it had like 8 or 4 million HP or something and man it was hilarious when I saw that back then, also there was a lot of people were complaining about that boss as well. so I think the enemies HP downgrade was actually a part of the issues they have addressed on this Remaster due to the wide complaints the original had.
Jarred Lefler (1 year ago)
I remember back when G4 TV was still around X-Play did a review on it and ever since then it was my favorite ff12
dvd123abel (1 year ago)
This in switch would be golden
Fernando Marroquin (1 year ago)
Hope you feel better soon
Zaymond Thatcher (1 year ago)
Dude you sound like a G.
Eygon (1 year ago)
Best of luck healing Get better my boy
Frank922 (1 year ago)
Get well soon man , and great video as always
edo speaks (1 year ago)
FF12 is seriously underrated
Kaan Erdi (1 year ago)
Yeah this game is way better than the new Pokemon games.
Bitty Titty (1 year ago)
Get better soon!
Final FantaSeer (1 year ago)
really appreciate your work and all but damn the way you talk is annoying man, ill even like and subscribe so you dont get me wrong but please change it
hussar (1 year ago)
u actually sound better now lol
Adster (1 year ago)
I HATED this game 10 years ago, I was going through some crap in my life when it came out, back then also as you said the PS3 was out and I was playing more the PC games in 2006-2007 I also blamed it for years for killing off turn based FF games, now when I play it now I love it, I think it was WAYYY to ahead of it's time when it came out and just came out at the wrong time
ZettaiBaka (3 months ago)
I also find myself liking this much more than the original FF12 on PS2. The original was my least favorite Final Fantasy by far. The quality-of-life improvements and small tweaks help a LOT in making it feel more "modern".
kkkbro (3 months ago)
The dialogue and story are just so complex and hard to follow.
Vincent Tran (7 months ago)
FF has a trend of hero, princess, love, adventure, world saving you know the high fantasy style story telling. FFxii changed this to all politic/war i was a kid back then and couldn't appreciated it. the gameplay was weird because FF was known for turn base, i hated 12 for killing turn base but yea it was mostly cus story didn't grab me as a kid. ii enjoy it now cus it is also Way better then the 13 trilogy i hated 13 the zodiac system make this game better imo.
notunlikethewaves (1 year ago)
thinking back i think we felt the same way about it. the story just didn't grab me because of how different it seemed compared to the other final fantasies i was used to like 9 and 10. also remember not digging the battle system. thanks for your thoughts.
Knight Sabre (1 year ago)
This ^^ is the perfect answer, and exactly my sentiments! I was saying the same thing to friends yesterday. Loving the new FFXII experience so far! Enjoy :-)
Feel better soon. Great review, Watching the footage took me back to the glory days of my PS2. Very nostalgic.
Art Attack (1 year ago)
i hope you feel better buddy. I always trust your reviews as well.
TheRomaduce (1 year ago)
i live in a poor third world country, during the 90s i gre up playing nes games and sega, after that it was mostly pc after a long time my next console was ps2 my first final fantasy in a long time was ff10 which was okay and i enjoyed, my brother bought it for me it was an illegal copy but we didnt care, the moment ff12 came out i bought a copy for my hacked ps2 it was amazing it felt like a mmorpg but it was sublime the system, the design the story was ok, but the gambit system was phenomenal, i cant wait for this version to come to steam pc and download it such a good game.-
Anthony Cirami (1 year ago)
My Favorite Series are Metal Gear Solid and Final Fantasy
trippleknowswhatsup (1 year ago)
finaly a good ff game with story and characters, cant wait to get back on this after a dissapointing ecperience with 15
Drewbe _ (1 year ago)
Do not apologize for illness. Just get well, that is more important.
Stephen Ramos (1 year ago)
Has nothing to do with being human or feeling guilty (why?) to make it makes sense that anyone who does public speaking or general work that involves speaking to address it, with a simples "hey I''ve been sick..." Being sick is a fact of life
Drewbe _ (1 year ago)
Stephen Ramos Sorry, I just dislike when people feel guilty for being human, and having human ailments while being a content creator.
Stephen Ramos (1 year ago)
I did not like this game back in the day. Might go back and revisit it.
Stephen Ramos (1 year ago)
Andrew Beasanski I wouldn't say apologize but it make sense to at least address it.
DreamcastGuy (1 year ago)
I really like this comment. I have a problem with always wanting to apologize so this truthfully made me feel better. Thank you! :)
darkheart333 hotmail (1 year ago)
Hope you feel better.
thehoeslaper (1 year ago)
i just can't play a final fantasy game without my action replay/game shark.
Cody Clark (1 year ago)
I'd pick it up asap if I weren't playing Star Ocean Till the End of Time HD on PS4.
Cody Clark (1 year ago)
The players guide was essential in getting the best weapon in the game. If you open a few treasure chests in the very begining you forfeit your chance to obtain the best weapon, pretty brutal.
Derva Kommt von hinten (3 months ago)
not really. there was a way to get as many spears as you wanted. i equipped my whole team with them :P
Reagan Dy (1 year ago)
you can still get the zodiac spear, but the mechanics that allow you to get it if you don't open specific treasure chests have been removed. so open treasures away and you cans till get the rare weapons and items
Reagan Dy (1 year ago)
This is already fixed in this remastered version. You can get all the best weapons now even if you open all the chests.
EvilPichu (1 year ago)
Sounds great :) thanks a lot!
Forever18or21 (1 year ago)
EvilPichu if u guys are referring to the zodiac spear , I read somewhere they have removed even in the izjs version, so...open the chest away?
Joseph Harrison (1 year ago)
get better ASAP Dream, we need you man! 💯
Chrisfro (1 year ago)
Dude stole my glasses......
Chicken Fillets (1 year ago)
Another great review. Get better mate
Tywin Lannister (1 year ago)
Wow I almost didn't recognise you. Your throat must of killed talking through this.
DreamcastGuy (1 year ago)
It really, really did. I almost gave up about halfway through which is why you may have noticed I start talking softer and had to boost the audio levels lol.
Mela (1 year ago)
Hey DreamcastGuy, what are your thoughts on FFXV: A New Empire?
Rafa :v (1 year ago)
I hope you get better fast
Sebastian E'Silva (1 year ago)
The only thing that's really annoying me about this HD update is that it's a PS4 exclusive. Why on Earth can't we have it on other systems too, Square? Bleh. I have a theory: Japan definitely seems to have a bias when it comes to this stuff and for the most part their games only end up on Japanese systems, often skipping the PC/Xbox (with the occasional exception from Capcom for example) entirely. What I don't understand in FFXII's case is that the series has been multiplatform for years now, so why is Square now deciding to be a-holes about it?
Pillar Gold (1 year ago)
Sebastian E'Silva It will definitely come to pc like the others
Mulder & Scully (1 year ago)
Gosh FF is trash.
Shifter X (11 months ago)
Totally agree. Franz Ferdenand is rubbish.
Angry Legatus (1 year ago)
Yes the Fantastic Four movie was trash.
Troll God Terumi (1 year ago)
Excellent bait 11/10.
Dave Broshinsky (1 year ago)
Mulder & Scully no you are
Fullmetal Gamer (1 year ago)
I'm still waiting for my copy to get delivered. Can't wait to play it for the first time. Get well soon.
Fullmetal Gamer (11 months ago)
ThEmAkXD The PS store has been very slow for me lately and I like collecting steelbooks.
ThEmAkXD (11 months ago)
Fullmetal Gamer why not digital?
Brendan Keller (1 year ago)
Get better soon!
That's it, I'm getting it!
Michael Crandall (1 year ago)
Top 10 Thursday must go on! Just make it all text, no talking ;) Heal up pal
Deft Motion (1 year ago)
12 was awesome, though my "friend" took my memory card when he moved out with my 87 hour save working on 100%
Juicy James Gaming (1 year ago)
Got my Steelbook Edition delivered today and I'm so excited to play this game! Get well soon man!
Portia Lightfoot (1 year ago)
Loved it when it came out in 2006, and will love it once again when it gets here in the mail. Nice review get well soon dude!
Derva Kommt von hinten (3 months ago)
so, were you disappointed? was it too easy?
Hijynx87 (1 year ago)
Fuckin' trooper right here, lol get better.

Would you like to comment?

Join YouTube for a free account, or sign in if you are already a member.