HomeКомпьютерные игрыRelated VideosMore From: IGN

God of War Review (2018)

62854 ratings | 2991002 views
God of War reviewed on PS4 by Jonathon Dornbush. How God of War Reinvented Kratos https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jWSQOSpQR8U Subscribe to IGN for more! http://www.youtube.com/user/IGNentertainment?sub_confirmation=1 ------------------------------­---- Follow IGN for more! ------------------------------­---- YOUTUBE: https://www.youtube.com/user/ignentertainment?sub_confirmation=1 IGN OFFICIAL APP: http://www.ign.com/mobile FACEBOOK: https://www.facebook.com/ign TWITTER: https://twitter.com/ign INSTAGRAM: https://instagram.com/igndotcom/?hl=en WEBSITE: http://www.ign.com/ GOOGLE+: https://plus.google.com/+IGN
Html code for embedding videos on your blog
Text Comments (16530)
funkyflights (5 hours ago)
I’m gonna have to try this game, hearing nothing but great things about it ....
I_Kemp_Bush (1 day ago)
Honestly unless you have played you game yourself you really can't grasp how perfect this game is
BIN GO (1 day ago)
A new era ❤️
Jian Matthew Rico (2 days ago)
SHUT UP... I WAS LISTENING TO AMAZING SOUNDTRACK WITG EPIC GAMEPLAY
Gregory Miranda (3 days ago)
Kratos is officially one of the greatest protagonists in gameing history now
redfoe77 (4 days ago)
Meanwhile, EA says "single player games are dead." LOL
legs lewis (4 days ago)
Protagonists and paramours? Great game, but how about using language that kids understand?
Mark Mazz (4 days ago)
Greatest game ive ever had the opportunity to play. Its simply amazing
Jamie 1872 (4 days ago)
One of the best games I’ve ever played. Just finished it. Absolute masterpiece
Game of the year 2018
Saif Ansari (6 days ago)
2.5k Xbox and Pc gamers were here.
Ben Dixon (7 days ago)
I bet half the people saying it’s the best ps4 game ever hasn’t even played the original ones
TheAceGamer Slient (7 days ago)
Stop comparing this game to the last of us. Stop using excuses for games that are judged wrongly for cloning another game(which it isn't). This game was unique and stomps on many other games that are trying to be like call of duty, destiny, and Mass effect. Last of us is a wonderful game but there is nothing similar to this whatsoever. This is something new and it certainly deserves to be it's own game.
Nimestro (8 days ago)
This is why I bought a PS4 instead of an XBOX
You'reBrotha Nigga (8 days ago)
I do not agree that this is a master piece. There are small things in the game that ruins it.
philip doddle (10 days ago)
One of the few IGN reviews that actually makes sense
Billy Skittles (10 days ago)
Hats off to them for trying something new. I don't care for the game, but I am glad they cared enough to keep it fresh. I'm glad it did well.
gamerpod (11 days ago)
Check this game play HD https://youtu.be/tiw6aW-aShs
Ahmadow Devil (11 days ago)
this dark souls is so hard
Ajarmetta (12 days ago)
The story with the merchants are more developed then any cod game ever
HYPER WAVE (12 days ago)
This was so much more than a game this was an experience that everyone needs to have. Trust me after you’ve completed this game it will stick with you. VERY few games have made me say that apart from horizon zero dawn, the last of us, uncharted 4. I will say this even though this game is one of my favourites of all time it can tend to drag on at some points and I think the game could’ve done without them but that’s just my opinion. Simply one of the best games ever made and will NEVER be forgotten.
Samuel Reid (13 days ago)
The last time I saw a father/child relationship done this well was in the last of us
Threshold 2025 (14 days ago)
Yes! Trolls cannot do the same score joke!
Karazu X (18 days ago)
I guess my only complain with this game is the lack of true bosses and variety of finishing style/animations.Probably becoz this is just the introduction to Norse myth and will face enormous giants/gods in the future.
CARL WongTW (19 days ago)
Heheh I just platinum-ed the game ! ! Game of the decade. Please let us fight the mystery character from secret ending Santa Monica . . ! ! !
CARL WongTW (12 days ago)
Heheh I know just don't want to spoil it for other players who haven't watched it
Cozbinot (12 days ago)
it was so obviously THor
Marko Woodson (20 days ago)
i thought about the characters alot and acted mean like kratos while playing through the first time now that ive completed it i still think bout how dope and different this game is and i dont wanna play through again rn cuz this game long af but ill come back to it to defeat the valkyrie queen and free the dragons
Allen Hampton (21 days ago)
I bought a PS4 a little over a month ago after I heard about this game along with Detroit Become Human. Both games are amazing!
There is one piece of exposition I didn’t like the presentation of. The rest is fantastic.
butter knife 21 (22 days ago)
Im not even close to beating the game yet but so far it is OUTSTANDING. Im happy i went with the PS4 and not the xbox.
King Kaler (22 days ago)
Hey guys does anyone know the answer to my question. I have a ps4 slim so is there anything bad or negative I should expect from playing this game
Jian Matthew Rico (22 days ago)
Boi
Rayxz (23 days ago)
3:08 So Damn Satisfying.
C Green (24 days ago)
repetitive equals boring
Madeus Gerstenlauer (26 days ago)
This is this years BOTW but far surpasses it in terms of story, character, graphics, combat, etc. Have not been this emotionally rattled by a game since The Last Of Us
Mr Millionaire (27 days ago)
This does put a smile on my face!
Short Lord (27 days ago)
I'd give it an 9.5/10 only because of the fact the mom has almost little to non back story and they don't really talk about her even though the whole point of the game is spreading her ashes
LikeIwould (30 days ago)
10/10 No Doubt
Catch these Flippers (30 days ago)
All dem salty Xbox players
Jpxfrd Alex (1 month ago)
Remember this game. You'll forget all others.
Sean Costa (1 month ago)
This has been the best gane ive played in years
Payday 2 Noob (1 month ago)
"Bloodthirsty warrior cliché" I'm guessing it's normal to see a character that is full of madness and rage, killing gods. I don't understand how Kratos is a cliché. Sure, his outrage is a cliché but what he did and accelerated to do is get stronger by killing monsters, Titans, and Gods by obtaining magic and badass weapons. Kratos is more of a memorable and original character.
Dante Son Of Sparda (1 month ago)
Well these days games are mostly full of shitty interactive movies much like these.
jose torres (1 month ago)
This is literally the best game that I have ever played
Mauricio Bartok (1 month ago)
this game is overrated , gameplay is crap compared to the older games. The only thing better is the graphics.
Cozbinot (12 days ago)
your so wrong though
Psycho Surfer (19 days ago)
Mauricio Bartok lol your avatar say it all, Switch fanboy, go back to your splatoon and telletubies
Anishio 21 (21 days ago)
Mauricio Bartok Nice troll
DRAGON BALL FANDOM (24 days ago)
Mauricio Bartok I didn't meant to say that you are kid , I meant to say that you are just salty and cannot accept your rivals achievement
Shaun Haankwenda (1 month ago)
I only wanted to see the review after I finished the whole game. And, I must say, I agree with this review.
Cmagic7up (1 month ago)
Got the Platinum trophy best game I've played this generation
Prakhar Mishra (1 month ago)
Damn
Nathan khalifian (1 month ago)
This, ac origins or Witcher 3? Can’t decide which one to get
Cozbinot (12 days ago)
this
Thomas T (1 month ago)
this
Aidan S (1 month ago)
This
Wulle Vp (1 month ago)
Why is this game a 10 when the witcher 3 is 'only' a 9.3? Give the witcher 3 a 10 and this game a 9.9
misfit2519 (1 month ago)
@Aidan S Seriously?
Aidan S (1 month ago)
Wulle Vp lol 😂 nah. This is better
Arturo Garza (1 month ago)
Why the hell can't they just get a native Greek who speaks English to voice Kratos, so we can get that Greek accent?
Joseph Bastidas (1 month ago)
One of the greatest games I've ever played. Incredible storyline and graphics, I love the open world aspect (I finished weeks ago and I'm still exploring everything), and awesome gameplay. I also never noticed how the game is essentially in one long take until you pointed it out. Being a sucker for long takes in film and TV, it's now another reason to love this game even more than I already did
Alessandro Gojinelli (1 month ago)
Thanks for the review. You've pretty much convinced me to go out and buy it.
Abhijeet Singh (1 month ago)
No doubt! Absolute masterpiece❤️ The only reason for which I bought a ps4!
ryan bax (1 month ago)
Terrible game. Should be called Treasure Chest opener similator. So bored i stopped playing.
Ryder Barton (13 days ago)
ryan bax you been play gaming too much.
Anishio 21 (21 days ago)
Ok bye you won’t be missed 😂
Kratos (1 month ago)
Do you like me?
Dante Son Of Sparda (1 month ago)
I'm stronger than you (;
I watch ye Sleep (1 month ago)
It doesn't deserve a ten. The amount of times you have to fight the same enemies over and over again is sad. I remember fighting that troll creature (the one you fight in the introduction) around 20 times? Also, the game only features two weapons which is pretty ridiculous if you actually like variety in your games. If they included more weapons, maybe the mediocre and bland combat could've become more interesting. The graphics are pretty good but this game could've been more if they made a better combat system and added a lot of variety to it. So much missed potential.
I watch ye Sleep (1 month ago)
+Aidan S Yeah, I like the game but these are obvious flaws that only a fanboy could forget about. It's still a great game even though (in my opinion) the game starts off very weak but gets a lot better by the time you get your second weapon. Still, I can't excuse the lack of enemies and not only that but the amount of upgrades the game gives you is nothing compared to a game like bayonetta. There isn't enough variety for combat and i am open to enjoying this game, but I don't just blind myself away from the flaws of the game like you do. It's still a great game and is probably the main GOTY for me along with Yakuza 6.
Aidan S (1 month ago)
If you want to enjoy something you have to be open to enjoying it. It's not about the enemies you fight, it's how you fight them. Upgrade your gear and weapons to get new skills. Then watch as your foes are no stronger than paper.
unspoken 411 (1 month ago)
ps4 has always delivered...
nikeairjordanfly (1 month ago)
this game is up there with Red Dead Redemption for best game ever made
D JP (1 month ago)
I got bored after about 5hrs, would have got into it more had I not already played through Zelda botw... that game has kinda ruined these types of games for me as nothing comes close..
Aidan S (1 month ago)
D JP You need to be open to a game to enjoy it. You obviously aren't. Zelda isn't a perfect game, its weapon durability system is tedious and pointless. And this game has far better graphical quality. Maybe one day you won't be blinded by fanboying and you'll be able to enjoy all games.
yomomajumprcables (1 month ago)
I'm an Xbox fan but I have brought all PlayStation consoles just to play GOD OF WAR
Atif Samer (1 month ago)
This dude’s voice makes me wanna give em a wedgie so bad
shiningwizard327 (1 month ago)
I avoided reviews until I beat the game. I knew it was gonna get an overrated review of 10/10. It’s a great game, but definitely not perfect. Confusing leveling system and annoyingly cheap battles just to name a few.
misfit2519 (1 month ago)
Aidan S Damn, you're really fanboying it up on here aren't you?
Aidan S (1 month ago)
10/10 doesn't mean perfect, no game is perfect. 10/10 means that this is an incredibly enjoyable experience and sets the bar for future games.
Andrew Penny (1 month ago)
EA A Way Out game got some competition.
natonatonat (1 month ago)
Best PS4 Game. Period.
Logan Pugh (1 month ago)
I don't care about the other games coming out this year, this game will still be the Game of the Year no matter what!
Christopher McMaster (1 month ago)
Overall I thought the story was good, but not great. The main antagonist fights were amazing, but some of those copy and pasted bosses annoyed me because they were just reskins. I'd give it a 7 overall.
Deniz Ery (1 month ago)
Hands down the best game I have ever played
s3lfFish (1 month ago)
THE LAST OF GODS it's a great game, but you can feel lots have been borrowed from the last of us (from the relationship, to the gameplay and scenery)
Lord Dinosaur (1 month ago)
Ironically, I got an advert for XBOX.
Jay M (1 month ago)
TO ANYONE WHO HAS PLAYED THE ENTIRE SERIES, INCLUDING THIS ONE: If I've never played ANY God Of War games, would this game confuse me if I played it first?  Would I understand anything that's going on? Because I'm highly considering buying it.
chris118 (1 month ago)
it won't confuse, watch IGN video 'God Of War story in 7 minutes'
Cody Matthews (1 month ago)
Is this game open world
Lukas R (1 month ago)
A good game getting a good score from ign. Am i dreaming?
NaiF_ XŽX (1 month ago)
Best game on ps4 of all time
Daryl Miller (1 month ago)
10/10 i love dis game..
Thepikazapper05 (1 month ago)
I feel like God of War will be a great place to start my ps4 library
Leo Di (1 month ago)
I can’t wait for this came to come out for Xbox....XD
Indigo Sunset (1 month ago)
i want this story turned into a movie
DragonborN7 (1 month ago)
God of War PS4 is one of my favourite video games of all time!
Bada Bing888 (1 month ago)
Booooooiiiiiiiiiiiiii
Jack Macmillan (1 month ago)
This game is overrated
Bader A (1 month ago)
I’m confused, how is it 10 out of 10 if all the caves felt the same, there are 5 giant troll bosses that litterally fight the same and like 4 ancients that fight the same, they look like reskins of the same asset... and I’m about 15 hours in and I don’t think I heard any ost play at all... or that they were forgettable... this game is an 8/10 at best.
Abhinav Kara (1 month ago)
overrated
Scrimp Nasty (1 month ago)
Here's an idea- Kratos aquires a few chunks of Helheim bedrock- the hardest material in all the 9 realms. He gets Brok to fashion him 2 pieces where the Axe head could fit into. He puts one piece on the back of his rowboat, the other piece in his right boot. He inserts the Axe. Now if he wants to go FAST, he recalls the Axe, which can't go through the bedrock. If he wants to jump HIGH, he recalls the Axe and almost flies, def gets a good height. Howbowdat??
Ben Dover (1 month ago)
This is the most perfect game I’ve ever played
misfit2519 (1 month ago)
So I'm assuming this is your first video game?
bowser515 (1 month ago)
If they have to limit its performance to get it running on a console, why not just release it on PC in all of its potential glory?
Farhan Tanvir (1 month ago)
X B OMEGALUL X
Jerry Corrales (1 month ago)
Boring
Adnan Asif (1 month ago)
2.5k butthurt XBox players disliked god of war
Malengine Razor (1 month ago)
Is this game better than bloodborne?
Matt K-Low (1 month ago)
Buying a PS4 just so I can play this game
Roll Brand (1 month ago)
This game went beyond 10 out of 10 for me.
NoaMovies (1 month ago)
This game is awesomely overrated
Malengine Razor (1 month ago)
Xbox fan boys
hyhhyhth hfggfgg (1 month ago)
agree! it;s just a standard good action game little more
CHAN김재원 (1 month ago)
Now here's a review everyone can agree with
Kush Phoenix (2 months ago)
I was thinking if this wasn’t a 9 or 10 I’m not gonna trust ign ever again
TheShadowdetective12 (2 months ago)
Someone please tell me, does making the game easier for people with disabilities make the button mashing parts easier. I have disabilities
EliteNomad (2 months ago)
DaD oF bOi
MMA Life (2 months ago)
No winder why i switched to ps4 from xbox
Ibrahim Code (2 months ago)
they should have just made a switch for blood and brutality so that the rest of us could enjoy the full gow experience rather than this PG version!! the rest was well made!
Ibrahim Code (1 month ago)
yea it was ripped like a piece of paper and spits one drop of blood. thats PG. and there is no other kill that's even remotely close to that. all these snapping of the neck and dropping the stone pillars at the end of each good fight were not up to the mark. i feel it made the fights incomplete.
thunderpantz (1 month ago)
Kratos ripping jaws off of wulvers is not exactly PG.
Simon Harry (2 months ago)
I've been playing video games from since the late 1970s 1979 the very first game I played frogger and ping pong I've owned the ZX Spectrum 48k with all your tapes what take about 35 minutes to load I've had a ZX Spectrum Atari ST SEGA Mega Drive Nintendo Commodore 64 so I know graphics when I see them and I've played this game while I was holiday in Kingston Jamaica on a PS4 Pro and LG Ultra 4K TV and I had to just poles and take a deep breath and fart out of my bottom at this masterpiece and beautiful gorgeous looking game I have also the Xbox One and the Xbox 360 and I could honestly say the Xbox One cannot touch the PS4
armuk (2 months ago)
HUGE design flaw in this game that Atreus is invincible/unkillable. 1. it breaks immersion (eg. seeing him get hit by massive attacks in boss fights with no effect while the same attacks can KO kratos) 2. it presents a gameplay loophole of being able to 'cheese' the game by maxing our atreus' skills and whittling enemies down with them 3. it just seems like a lazy design decision which removes any urgency or fear that a father should have when a preteen child is facing hulking monsters - a glaring and immersion-breaking hole in characterisation
Megashark 101 (1 month ago)
armuk What are you talking about? Atreus does not do nearly enough damage to take down bosses on his own. He's good for a distraction, but rarely kills enemies. You have to do that.
armuk (2 months ago)
He doesn't need to be able to be killed. E.g. if he simply ran away from the combat encounter after taking a certain amount of hits/damage, then returned after end of combat - that would very simply address the issues of realism/immersion as well as gameplay. Currently he is basically an invulnerable cannon and when fully maxed, who can single-handedly take down bosses. Absolutely breaks balance and gameplay IMO.
Dominick Fischer (2 months ago)
armuk Not a design flaw at all. They decided to make it like that on purpose. There are a few things gamers can agree on hating: Lag, crappy servers, online cheaters/games that allow online cheating, and escort missions. If Atreus was able to be harmed/killed this game would be a 35 hour escort mission.
RUBBER UNDIES (2 months ago)
Just got this new for 33 quid.

Would you like to comment?

Join YouTube for a free account, or sign in if you are already a member.