HomeКомпьютерные игрыRelated VideosMore From: Nintendo Life

Splatoon 2 Review - The Reason to Buy a Switch | Splatoon 2 for Nintendo Switch

4259 ratings | 154074 views
Splatoon 2 is almost here! With all the new modes, features, and adjustments made to the core gameplay, can it stand up to the heavy expectations? Yes. Check out our full site ■ http://www.nintendolife.com Like us on Facebook ■ https://www.facebook.com/nintendolife Follow us on Twitter ■ https://www.twitter.com/nintendolife
Html code for embedding videos on your blog
Text Comments (997)
NGYES (1 month ago)
2:26 Phil Spencer is that you?
Joshua Willoughby (1 month ago)
It's kinda neat going back to this review and seeing how things have changed slightly since the launch
4A2 VSC (1 month ago)
why you can change coler
Tiny_Shark (2 months ago)
at 0:53 he said the first show?!????
Dylan Houghton (2 months ago)
8:14 they added that yey
Pikavee Mania (2 months ago)
It took me over a month to beat the single player.
ZombieLogic101 (2 months ago)
10/10 will splat that like button muh doot! This is one of my favorite games I've played like..EVER
Sam Hornyak (2 months ago)
8:19 Why do people keep saying that? You can change your gear and weapons between battles. There is an option to do that after each battle, so you can switch everything out and just continue without having to go to the lobby every time
DevKetchem 195 (2 months ago)
Love the channel, Glad we know nintendo is usually the best developers,
DevKetchem 195 (2 months ago)
Love u bro
Hugo Stiglitz (2 months ago)
Zelda is the reason to buy a Switch. Everything else sucks in comparison.
Hugo Stiglitz (2 months ago)
wow. the music is so annoying.
Game plex (3 months ago)
my mum wont let me get it because its to expensive
Julie Fryer (3 months ago)
Hey guys! Download brave right now it blocks all your ads that have ads the app tells you how much are blocked and more! 👌
Gary Ostdiek (3 months ago)
By the way,"AI" hasn't been invented yet.
glen robson (3 months ago)
YEAH ALEX !!!! 10 OUTA 10 great review and sold out all over town ended up getting it online from the rain forest :) NICE WORK GUY !!!
Gary Ostdiek (3 months ago)
I've never seen a goldie in salmon run.
Jimbo Jimbo (4 months ago)
This is why I’m so confident that I want a switch. The way Nintendo thinks is great, they put the players first. They put gameplay fun over realistic design!
MLGpikachuEX (4 months ago)
i have a D nat type and am very disapointed that i cant play onile games in any ways i bought splatoon 2 whitout knowing that and i feel like i wasted money i really hope nintendo can fix iit because i know im not the first to have that problem
Lil cupp (4 months ago)
agree all the way
Splat splat Girl (4 months ago)
As we say in the uk , this games the dogs bollocks.
Mr.BananaPan (4 months ago)
"Lets dive right into this" *i get an ad where someone is diving*
Ryan Heinz (4 months ago)
This is the best game i’ve played in a long time
Dennis Eskesen (4 months ago)
They do need a voice chat on the switch itself, and they do need to make it visible to see what people chose as weapons... It's a good game, but those flaws can ruin a round of multiplayer completely..
Jordan Ertz (4 months ago)
It seems as if Nintendo is actually listening to their fans because between release and 2 weeks ago (when I finally got the game) they added a "change gear and continue" option to change gear between matches.
error;// (5 months ago)
It just isn't a 10. The campaign is a glorified tutorial and the lack of voice chat, changeable load outs in between matches and the fact that salmon run is only on sometimes turns this game into an 8 or if you're very generous, a 9. You are quite biased.
BrixForce (5 months ago)
naw i beat the crap out of breath of the wild
Rey Zephlyn (5 months ago)
This game needs a new review or at least have outdated or edits in it
Kage Tsume (5 months ago)
Also splatoon 2 isn’t a 10 I’d give it a 9
Kage Tsume (5 months ago)
Oh you’re alex? I thought you were Austin Evans
Matas Videika (5 months ago)
8:20 Not anymore
Marie A.K.A agent 2 (6 months ago)
You can change gear between battles now it was an update.
M A (6 months ago)
My Nintendo switch is on the way!!!!🐱😇😇😆😄😃☺😊😀😁😂🐱
ben schram (6 months ago)
ok, you convinced me to get it. :)
Najmi Nahdi (6 months ago)
i want switch so bad...but i can't afford it, to pricey in indonesia ,its about 600$ in here
Rey Zephlyn (5 months ago)
Najmi Nahdi cant u order online?
Samuel Lewis (7 months ago)
You pointed out perfectly legitimate complaints, things Nintendo categorically did wrong, yet you gave it a perfect score? How? Please, genuinely I'm asking, explain the logic behind that. A perfect score is for a game that has no faults. Nothing you'd change if given the chance. And I say that as someone who's currently playing the hell out of the game. It's the most fun I've had in an online shooter in years. But it's not perfect. A 9.5 I could get behind, but not a 10. It may seem petty, and, well, it is, but still.
y_m_o (7 months ago)
Alex is awesome. Such a nice guy! Great channel too!
John van Capel (7 months ago)
If it was already a 10/10 at release, what's the grade now that there's been a few balance patches, new weapons, and new maps added? 17/10? Seriously, it's INK-redible how much the balance patches so far have improved on the game.
Moataz Seada (7 months ago)
My favourite game of Switch
KiqueDragoon (8 months ago)
So I assume one of the three is Zelda, which is the third?
Hector Rivera (8 months ago)
I want a kraken in splatoon 2...
Stephen Harvey (8 months ago)
omg, months later and this review is still awesome... lol
Soviet Ninja (9 months ago)
I have got the game and I enjoy it the main issues with the game is the leveling system and the treatment for players leaving matches. My internet was messing up for some reason and. I got a message basically threatening me to stop leaving matches. First of all I'm just playing casual. If they are taking it that serious now I understand why people go try hard in casual. It's not that serious at all I'm just trying to have fun and if people get disconnected they shouldn't be threatened to be punished. Unless it's ranked/ competitive. If it's just casual they shouldn't do that. Then the leveling system takes way too (excuse my language ) fucking long to level up. Holy shit this is the most Time consuming leveling system I have ever played. It should not take this long to level up. I literally played 30 matches just to get to lvl 10. Which is fucking outrageous. Even in battlefield you level up faster then this. Which is even more annoying since higher player has more weapon choices that they can use towards their advantage and you can't use them unless you put 50+ hours in the multiplayer or more.
bokagoofy (9 months ago)
I love this game but come on. perfect score? you are being silly, and you are being shilly.
A. W. (10 months ago)
You said that you can't play salmon run anytime with friends, but you actually can if you go to the shoal. I've never done it (because I have no friends) but I heard it from someone. I guess it's now 11/10!
Gno Claude (10 months ago)
Your corporate shill is on point today. I love Splatoon 2. It might be my fav mp title so far but it has tons of issues. You cant change your loadout, you can only play different modes in ranked, theres no voice chat (it might as well not exist), you cannot play on friends teams consistently, theres no clans, and the co-op isn't available all the time. I have one day off work to play with friends and co-op is never opened when we get together. Its a great game but held back by baffling decisions and frustrations. Still love it but with the worthless app and voice chat issues its far from the top mp games like Overwatch, Halo, and COD. Fun factor is off the charts though which is most important I suppose. Still these things drive me crazy.
Squig (10 months ago)
"Absolutely Zero waffle this time around, lets dive right into things!" *ad pops up and am forced to watch a 30 second ad*
Charlotte Brown (10 months ago)
I'm putting in as much effort as I can to get into Splatoon, but I'm honestly finding the controls to be one of the largest barriers to entry of any game I've ever played except for things like Dwarf Fortress. I know the motion controls are superior in every way to the "common style" controls, but the highly odd button layout, weird design choices, and limited customizability compared to other shooters I play has been hurting me. Things I'd like to be able to change to make the controls work for me: - Ability to control vertical camera motion with the right stick in addition to motion controls. - Ability to switch ZL and Y buttons (every other Nintendo game I've ever played uses ZL/Z/L for "lock on", "lock camera", "z-target", "aim", etc. so having to completely break that 25+ year habit is challenging). - Ability to set horizonal/vertical sensitivity separately. I find horizonal motion controls are always too slow while vertical is far too fast for how little verticality there is in the game. - Ability to disable auto camera rotation. I can not stand how the camera always slowly rotates in the direction you're moving. I find myself subconsciously slowly turning sideways to try and counteract it. This may also just be because I come from a background of games (various genres and platforms) that either have all of these settings, or have all done things the same way while Splatoon does it differently. Don't get me wrong, I really want to love this game because it looks like a ridiculous amount of fun, and there have been very brief moments where I somehow transcended the (what I personally find to be) unintuitive controls and the game was briefly awesome, but after 7-10 ish hours of play still having issues with the basic controls is getting grating - it's the largest barrier to any game entry I've ever faced, and I play RTSes and MOBAs... Halp me pls ;_;
Pazl (10 months ago)
The switch needs Pokémon, Smash Bros and Pikmin ffs
dankest mario (10 months ago)
Its time to review this SUCKER. Im ded inside. Time to pull out the backup bleach
P` (10 months ago)
Is there a extra prize after you get all the hero replica wepons?
Ahkuji (10 months ago)
Thank you for making me feel like I'm missing out.. I can't wait to get my switch even if it's a few days.. I absolutely can't wait.
hearme18 (10 months ago)
Get a fucking grip Alex. This game does not deserve 10/10 and its funny how you neglect to highlight the obvious issue in this game - multiplayer. The fact that Nintendo do not allow for you and a friend to join up and play together on the same team on any other mode OTHER than league is asinine. To add further acid to the face you need to be rank B in ranked mode to do this! Splatoon 2 is supposed to shine as a multiplayer but when it doesn't even have basic queuing systems like every other fucking online shooter there is something seriously wrong. 10/10 my crusty asshole.
Sam Dean (10 months ago)
This is not a 10/10 game but it is great. No idea why salmon run is limited to certain times, and anybody else know why there's only a 2-arena rotation for multiplayer? Not bothered about the weird voice chat support but loads of great little changes and still as fun as ever :)
TurtleDragonSilent (10 months ago)
Now maybe they can focus more on Animal Crossing
napynap (10 months ago)
A recent update changes when a weapon's special becomes available, and I noticed my online match results were affected. Now I'm trying different weapons.
Dominic Mallano (10 months ago)
Did you try the voice chat? I think that alone knocks it down to 9/10
Lexnator The ghost man :v (10 months ago)
I am happy that its the first time i see splatoon 2 rated more than a 8
SuperRobbo92 (10 months ago)
Just ordered my Switch! Obviously with Splatoon 2 and Zelda, just a shame I've got to wait till mid August to get it :(
StllBreathnBut_Y (10 months ago)
Alex from Nintendo life, "it's a Nintendo game! I love everything about it! Including it's flaws!"
StllBreathnBut_Y (10 months ago)
Alex from Nintendo life, "it's a Nintendo game! I love everything about it! Including it's flaws!"
Torencresent (10 months ago)
Okay, I never played splatoon, but was interested in it, and finally got 2 on my switch. I have been playing it like crazy, and think its definetly high up there score wise... Im a huge Nintendo fan-boy, have been forever. That said... a 10? Come on man. Breath of the wild I would consider my current favourite game,  and personally consider it one of the best games ever. You gave that a 10, and I could be like, okay I see that, but still I would give it a 9. There are small issues in Zelda, that keep it from being a 10, but I could understand how you generalize it, to make a point. With Splatoon 2 however... just things like needing to leave a matchmaking lobby to change gear, and the lack of properly functioning voice chat, the lack of any amibo rewards aside from splatoon specific ones, the single player, while okay... isn't too spectacular, aside from a couple of the boss fights. The multiplayer modes themselves, are of course amazing, and it does look nice. Look, I just think you were too quick to give it a 10. Love you
Timmy P (10 months ago)
I'm gonna guess some of these top posts are shills. Nintendo is all about free marketing through shorting systems and the end user, and nostalgia. The people that find these videos exist in the same hive mind, and thus upvote. If you truly think Splatoon is a 10\10 game, the need to post about your ownership of the four games the system has, or an addiction about Splatoon and ice water... Play some other games. You're being short changed RIGHT NOW. Even the Wii U had a Virtual Console at this point and there is NOTHING announced yet. You are beta testers switch owners. This company is brilliantly deceptive.
Scizz Ayo (10 months ago)
I stopped watching because the intro music was annoying me
Pete Setabandhu (10 months ago)
Heeelooo there lovely Alex, it’s people from nintendo4life here
Sir ReadsAlot (10 months ago)
Dang, looks like I'll have to buy it. Everyone says nothing but fantastic things about it.
Canosis (10 months ago)
Love this game. I couldn't give it a 10 because of chat but definitely a 9 in my book.
_Y.G Nxthxn_ (10 months ago)
U were on the spatoon add
Dr Wil (10 months ago)
WE NEED CALLIE AND MARIE BACK AND NOT THE BOOTLEG VERSIONS WICH ARE CALLED PEARL AND MARINA!!!!!!!!
Stephen Harvey (10 months ago)
let's dive right into things... **Plays ad**
Abraham Sotelo (10 months ago)
I'm still playing on Wii U, and I play way more Splatoon than BOTW.
karlos cheleuitte (10 months ago)
Thanks for a great review!
Eggy Eggy (10 months ago)
Well it was the reason I got the Wii U. I really hope if a third game is made, it's still on Switch.
SharpenedEyes (10 months ago)
Third 10/10 switch game? What a fucking fraud this channel...
Infinity Master (10 months ago)
The fact that the game does *NOT* have *local split-screen multiplayer* automatically makes it a less than 10/10 IMO. :\
Jason dp (4 months ago)
Infinity Master this or Mario Kart
Orlando Rivera (10 months ago)
Im loving the game, the only issue I have is that there is no Party maker with friends to play in the same team, only can play in private session
Metro Boomin Jr. (10 months ago)
How do I convince my parents
IArkhamArsenalXx (10 months ago)
Bough the game the 2nd day of release its fun but i feel its not enough content maybe because i have only played the onlinr and can only do Turfwar wich iknow is the fan favorite but i want to shoot other players and be skillful
David Artrip (10 months ago)
This is the best Splatoon 2 review I’ve watched yet. Loved the depth and breadth which covered nearly every inch of this big, wonderful game!
Chad Roberts (10 months ago)
I was pretty interested in this, until I heard about not having split screen multiplayer. Complete deal breaker for a game of this type for me.
Peter Andrew Elizaga (10 months ago)
I reeeeaaaally like Splatoon 2. That being said, the asinine voice chat solution and the tons of UX issues brings the score down to 8.5 for me. I want the Switch to do well, but I also want the Switch to do better. There are so many improvements that are theirs for the taking but they won't do them.
Taylor Maddox (10 months ago)
I've loved this game so far but the issue of not being able to play on the same team as my friends except for league matches can be super annoying. also the online chat feature is just terrible. besides that it's amazing.
A Martinez (10 months ago)
fuck I haven't even finished Zelda botw yet
Krystal Army (10 months ago)
6:27 That double Auto Bomb kill though!
Lolan Chen (10 months ago)
Well the best part of this game in my opinion maybe the soundtracks
Mushroom Moon (10 months ago)
"Lets dive right into things" Ad plays
Cyan Koopa (10 months ago)
So zelda isnt a good enough reason?
Andre Carreira (10 months ago)
Cyan Koopa Or Super Mario Odyssey
Amy O (10 months ago)
0:24 onion rings?
FilthyCasuals (10 months ago)
As soon as i saw splatoons spiky hair, i knew it would be better than splatoon. Only complaints are voicechat and the name. Just lazy nintendo. I wanted splaTWOon
WW2 matthew15pro WW2 (10 months ago)
the thing i find good about salmon run is that it is on certain days making it look like an actual job for inkopolis.
zcraft11 - MinecraftPE (10 months ago)
squid or kid?
Tyler Haggerty (10 months ago)
It's amazing, and a big improvement over the first (which was already great), but idiotic oversights like not being able to back out of matchmaking, or being unable to change load outs while in the lobby, or not being able to opt out of the TV into bullshit (fast forwarding is not good enough - it still takes WAY too long) is so maddeningly stupid that I can't agree with anything over an 8.5 or so. The game itself is so good, there are just too many oversights of basic online gaming features and dumb design choices (timed map rotations, event windows for Salmon Run, and not being able to choose which ranked game mode you want from a playlist is RIDICULOUS) really handicap the game. I seriously do love it overall, and I'm playing it a bunch, but it could go from a great game to an incredible one if Nintendo got their heads out of their asses for once. And don't even get me started on the app...
Kaden Stonebraker (10 months ago)
I wish you could play with two people on the same Switch.
karim Michelf (10 months ago)
Does it take allot of battery power?
Geboyski likes stuff (10 months ago)
My parents aren't willing to pay more for the Switch
Aaron Vick (10 months ago)
This was a good review. I've never played a splatoon but this is enticing since I have a switch. All I have is Zelda and Mk8d. This review swayed me some, is it truly worthy of $60 or is this moreso a child's game?
kakashi san (10 months ago)
Will wait for nintendo NX. Hope NX can get voicechat
Christopher Malcovish (10 months ago)
As soon as I heard this man's affected voice, I immediately switched (no pun intended to a different review)
Nasim Keys (10 months ago)
splatoon 2 is a good game but it has a bad price if you've already beaten the single player and haven't bought the online service there is nothing to do!
MotiDraws (10 months ago)
7.8/10 too much squid, not enough kids.

Would you like to comment?

Join YouTube for a free account, or sign in if you are already a member.