HomeКомпьютерные игрыRelated VideosMore From: Nintendo Life

Splatoon 2 Review - The Reason to Buy a Switch | Splatoon 2 for Nintendo Switch

4382 ratings | 161660 views
Splatoon 2 is almost here! With all the new modes, features, and adjustments made to the core gameplay, can it stand up to the heavy expectations? Yes. Check out our full site ■ http://www.nintendolife.com Like us on Facebook ■ https://www.facebook.com/nintendolife Follow us on Twitter ■ https://www.twitter.com/nintendolife
Html code for embedding videos on your blog
Text Comments (1011)
Doggie :D (9 days ago)
Such an addictive game. Play it for like 4 hours.
ACMAL _ (24 days ago)
A little more than a year later, this game is better than ever
DespacitowO 32 (1 month ago)
I personally think they should have changed more about the game but I never got a Wii U so that doesn't matter to me.
Bubble Gum (1 month ago)
You forgot the soundtrack, which is just phenomenal. Off the hook is better the squid sisters fight me
Deborah Tins (1 month ago)
Wow
Daniel Rudy (1 month ago)
8:13 you can select "change gear and continue after matches
Mr. Triggered (3 months ago)
And now octo expansion
Macaroni Jack (3 months ago)
I did every single level with every single weapon, it wasn’t difficult, but it was definitely annoying
NickieB (3 months ago)
I bought splatoon 2 the day it came out because I was on vacation and had some extra money, I only really played it about two weeks ago and I CAN'T PUT IT DOWN!! I regret the weeks of life wasted not playing splatoon lol
Bilgewat3r (3 months ago)
Idk about anywhere else, but on my side it says there are 999 comments on this video lol So here you go, have a thousandth comment! Also, for anyone reading this in a recent timeframe of me commenting it, I was wondering if it’s still worth it to get Splatoon 2 as a friend said it wasn’t really and that the online community whatnots was kinda dead
Littlebro GAMES (3 months ago)
Yey 1000th comment!
Littlebro GAMES (3 months ago)
Almost thare
YOSEF HEH (4 months ago)
2:26 Phil Spencer is that you?
Joshua Willoughby (5 months ago)
It's kinda neat going back to this review and seeing how things have changed slightly since the launch
4A2 VSC (5 months ago)
why you can change coler
Tiny_Shark (6 months ago)
at 0:53 he said the first show?!????
Dylan Houghton (6 months ago)
8:14 they added that yey
Pikavee Mania (6 months ago)
It took me over a month to beat the single player.
ZombieLogic101 (6 months ago)
10/10 will splat that like button muh doot! This is one of my favorite games I've played like..EVER
Sam Hornyak (6 months ago)
8:19 Why do people keep saying that? You can change your gear and weapons between battles. There is an option to do that after each battle, so you can switch everything out and just continue without having to go to the lobby every time
DevKetchem 195 (6 months ago)
Love the channel, Glad we know nintendo is usually the best developers,
DevKetchem 195 (6 months ago)
Love u bro
Hugo Stiglitz (6 months ago)
Zelda is the reason to buy a Switch. Everything else sucks in comparison.
Hugo Stiglitz (6 months ago)
wow. the music is so annoying.
Game plex (6 months ago)
my mum wont let me get it because its to expensive
Julie Fryer (7 months ago)
Hey guys! Download brave right now it blocks all your ads that have ads the app tells you how much are blocked and more! 👌
Gary Ostdiek (7 months ago)
By the way,"AI" hasn't been invented yet.
glen robson (7 months ago)
YEAH ALEX !!!! 10 OUTA 10 great review and sold out all over town ended up getting it online from the rain forest :) NICE WORK GUY !!!
Gary Ostdiek (7 months ago)
I've never seen a goldie in salmon run.
Jimbo Jimbo (7 months ago)
This is why I’m so confident that I want a switch. The way Nintendo thinks is great, they put the players first. They put gameplay fun over realistic design!
MLGpikachuEX (7 months ago)
i have a D nat type and am very disapointed that i cant play onile games in any ways i bought splatoon 2 whitout knowing that and i feel like i wasted money i really hope nintendo can fix iit because i know im not the first to have that problem
Lil cupp (8 months ago)
agree all the way
subby pop Girl (8 months ago)
As we say in the uk , this games the dogs bollocks.
Mr.BananaPan (8 months ago)
"Lets dive right into this" *i get an ad where someone is diving*
Ryan Heinz (8 months ago)
This is the best game i’ve played in a long time
Dennis Eskesen (8 months ago)
They do need a voice chat on the switch itself, and they do need to make it visible to see what people chose as weapons... It's a good game, but those flaws can ruin a round of multiplayer completely..
Jordan Ertz (8 months ago)
It seems as if Nintendo is actually listening to their fans because between release and 2 weeks ago (when I finally got the game) they added a "change gear and continue" option to change gear between matches.
error;// (9 months ago)
It just isn't a 10. The campaign is a glorified tutorial and the lack of voice chat, changeable load outs in between matches and the fact that salmon run is only on sometimes turns this game into an 8 or if you're very generous, a 9. You are quite biased.
BrixForce (9 months ago)
naw i beat the crap out of breath of the wild
Rey Zephlyn (9 months ago)
This game needs a new review or at least have outdated or edits in it
Kage Tsume (9 months ago)
Also splatoon 2 isn’t a 10 I’d give it a 9
Kage Tsume (9 months ago)
Oh you’re alex? I thought you were Austin Evans
8:20 Not anymore
Marie A.K.A agent 2 (9 months ago)
You can change gear between battles now it was an update.
M A (10 months ago)
My Nintendo switch is on the way!!!!🐱😇😇😆😄😃☺😊😀😁😂🐱
ben schram (10 months ago)
ok, you convinced me to get it. :)
Najmi Nahdi (10 months ago)
i want switch so bad...but i can't afford it, to pricey in indonesia ,its about 600$ in here
Rey Zephlyn (9 months ago)
Najmi Nahdi cant u order online?
Samuel Lewis (10 months ago)
You pointed out perfectly legitimate complaints, things Nintendo categorically did wrong, yet you gave it a perfect score? How? Please, genuinely I'm asking, explain the logic behind that. A perfect score is for a game that has no faults. Nothing you'd change if given the chance. And I say that as someone who's currently playing the hell out of the game. It's the most fun I've had in an online shooter in years. But it's not perfect. A 9.5 I could get behind, but not a 10. It may seem petty, and, well, it is, but still.
y_m_o (10 months ago)
Alex is awesome. Such a nice guy! Great channel too!
John van Capel (11 months ago)
If it was already a 10/10 at release, what's the grade now that there's been a few balance patches, new weapons, and new maps added? 17/10? Seriously, it's INK-redible how much the balance patches so far have improved on the game.
Moataz Seada (11 months ago)
My favourite game of Switch
KiqueDragoon (1 year ago)
So I assume one of the three is Zelda, which is the third?
Hector Rivera (1 year ago)
I want a kraken in splatoon 2...
Stephen Harvey (1 year ago)
omg, months later and this review is still awesome... lol
Soviet Ninja (1 year ago)
I have got the game and I enjoy it the main issues with the game is the leveling system and the treatment for players leaving matches. My internet was messing up for some reason and. I got a message basically threatening me to stop leaving matches. First of all I'm just playing casual. If they are taking it that serious now I understand why people go try hard in casual. It's not that serious at all I'm just trying to have fun and if people get disconnected they shouldn't be threatened to be punished. Unless it's ranked/ competitive. If it's just casual they shouldn't do that. Then the leveling system takes way too (excuse my language ) fucking long to level up. Holy shit this is the most Time consuming leveling system I have ever played. It should not take this long to level up. I literally played 30 matches just to get to lvl 10. Which is fucking outrageous. Even in battlefield you level up faster then this. Which is even more annoying since higher player has more weapon choices that they can use towards their advantage and you can't use them unless you put 50+ hours in the multiplayer or more.
bokagoofy (1 year ago)
I love this game but come on. perfect score? you are being silly, and you are being shilly.
A. W. (1 year ago)
You said that you can't play salmon run anytime with friends, but you actually can if you go to the shoal. I've never done it (because I have no friends) but I heard it from someone. I guess it's now 11/10!
Gno Claude (1 year ago)
Your corporate shill is on point today. I love Splatoon 2. It might be my fav mp title so far but it has tons of issues. You cant change your loadout, you can only play different modes in ranked, theres no voice chat (it might as well not exist), you cannot play on friends teams consistently, theres no clans, and the co-op isn't available all the time. I have one day off work to play with friends and co-op is never opened when we get together. Its a great game but held back by baffling decisions and frustrations. Still love it but with the worthless app and voice chat issues its far from the top mp games like Overwatch, Halo, and COD. Fun factor is off the charts though which is most important I suppose. Still these things drive me crazy.
jarrod myers (1 year ago)
"Absolutely Zero waffle this time around, lets dive right into things!" *ad pops up and am forced to watch a 30 second ad*
Charlotte Brown (1 year ago)
I'm putting in as much effort as I can to get into Splatoon, but I'm honestly finding the controls to be one of the largest barriers to entry of any game I've ever played except for things like Dwarf Fortress. I know the motion controls are superior in every way to the "common style" controls, but the highly odd button layout, weird design choices, and limited customizability compared to other shooters I play has been hurting me. Things I'd like to be able to change to make the controls work for me: - Ability to control vertical camera motion with the right stick in addition to motion controls. - Ability to switch ZL and Y buttons (every other Nintendo game I've ever played uses ZL/Z/L for "lock on", "lock camera", "z-target", "aim", etc. so having to completely break that 25+ year habit is challenging). - Ability to set horizonal/vertical sensitivity separately. I find horizonal motion controls are always too slow while vertical is far too fast for how little verticality there is in the game. - Ability to disable auto camera rotation. I can not stand how the camera always slowly rotates in the direction you're moving. I find myself subconsciously slowly turning sideways to try and counteract it. This may also just be because I come from a background of games (various genres and platforms) that either have all of these settings, or have all done things the same way while Splatoon does it differently. Don't get me wrong, I really want to love this game because it looks like a ridiculous amount of fun, and there have been very brief moments where I somehow transcended the (what I personally find to be) unintuitive controls and the game was briefly awesome, but after 7-10 ish hours of play still having issues with the basic controls is getting grating - it's the largest barrier to any game entry I've ever faced, and I play RTSes and MOBAs... Halp me pls ;_;
Pazl (1 year ago)
The switch needs Pokémon, Smash Bros and Pikmin ffs
dankest mario (1 year ago)
Its time to review this SUCKER. Im ded inside. Time to pull out the backup bleach
P` (1 year ago)
Is there a extra prize after you get all the hero replica wepons?
Ahkuji (1 year ago)
Thank you for making me feel like I'm missing out.. I can't wait to get my switch even if it's a few days.. I absolutely can't wait.
hearme18 (1 year ago)
Get a fucking grip Alex. This game does not deserve 10/10 and its funny how you neglect to highlight the obvious issue in this game - multiplayer. The fact that Nintendo do not allow for you and a friend to join up and play together on the same team on any other mode OTHER than league is asinine. To add further acid to the face you need to be rank B in ranked mode to do this! Splatoon 2 is supposed to shine as a multiplayer but when it doesn't even have basic queuing systems like every other fucking online shooter there is something seriously wrong. 10/10 my crusty asshole.
Sam Dean (1 year ago)
This is not a 10/10 game but it is great. No idea why salmon run is limited to certain times, and anybody else know why there's only a 2-arena rotation for multiplayer? Not bothered about the weird voice chat support but loads of great little changes and still as fun as ever :)
TurtleDragonSilent (1 year ago)
Now maybe they can focus more on Animal Crossing
napynap (1 year ago)
A recent update changes when a weapon's special becomes available, and I noticed my online match results were affected. Now I'm trying different weapons.
Dominic Mallano (1 year ago)
Did you try the voice chat? I think that alone knocks it down to 9/10
I am happy that its the first time i see splatoon 2 rated more than a 8
SuperRobbo92 (1 year ago)
Just ordered my Switch! Obviously with Splatoon 2 and Zelda, just a shame I've got to wait till mid August to get it :(
StllBreathnBut_Y (1 year ago)
Alex from Nintendo life, "it's a Nintendo game! I love everything about it! Including it's flaws!"
StllBreathnBut_Y (1 year ago)
Alex from Nintendo life, "it's a Nintendo game! I love everything about it! Including it's flaws!"
Torencresent (1 year ago)
Okay, I never played splatoon, but was interested in it, and finally got 2 on my switch. I have been playing it like crazy, and think its definetly high up there score wise... Im a huge Nintendo fan-boy, have been forever. That said... a 10? Come on man. Breath of the wild I would consider my current favourite game,  and personally consider it one of the best games ever. You gave that a 10, and I could be like, okay I see that, but still I would give it a 9. There are small issues in Zelda, that keep it from being a 10, but I could understand how you generalize it, to make a point. With Splatoon 2 however... just things like needing to leave a matchmaking lobby to change gear, and the lack of properly functioning voice chat, the lack of any amibo rewards aside from splatoon specific ones, the single player, while okay... isn't too spectacular, aside from a couple of the boss fights. The multiplayer modes themselves, are of course amazing, and it does look nice. Look, I just think you were too quick to give it a 10. Love you
Timmy P (1 year ago)
I'm gonna guess some of these top posts are shills. Nintendo is all about free marketing through shorting systems and the end user, and nostalgia. The people that find these videos exist in the same hive mind, and thus upvote. If you truly think Splatoon is a 10\10 game, the need to post about your ownership of the four games the system has, or an addiction about Splatoon and ice water... Play some other games. You're being short changed RIGHT NOW. Even the Wii U had a Virtual Console at this point and there is NOTHING announced yet. You are beta testers switch owners. This company is brilliantly deceptive.
Scizz Ayo (1 year ago)
I stopped watching because the intro music was annoying me
Pete Setabandhu (1 year ago)
Heeelooo there lovely Alex, it’s people from nintendo4life here
Sir ReadsAlot (1 year ago)
Dang, looks like I'll have to buy it. Everyone says nothing but fantastic things about it.
Canosis (1 year ago)
Love this game. I couldn't give it a 10 because of chat but definitely a 9 in my book.
_Y.G Nxthxn_ (1 year ago)
U were on the spatoon add
Dr Wil (1 year ago)
WE NEED CALLIE AND MARIE BACK AND NOT THE BOOTLEG VERSIONS WICH ARE CALLED PEARL AND MARINA!!!!!!!!
Stephen Harvey (1 year ago)
let's dive right into things... **Plays ad**
Abraham Sotelo (1 year ago)
I'm still playing on Wii U, and I play way more Splatoon than BOTW.
karlos cheleuitte (1 year ago)
Thanks for a great review!
Eggy Eggy (1 year ago)
Well it was the reason I got the Wii U. I really hope if a third game is made, it's still on Switch.
SharpenedEyes (1 year ago)
Third 10/10 switch game? What a fucking fraud this channel...
Infinity Master (1 year ago)
The fact that the game does *NOT* have *local split-screen multiplayer* automatically makes it a less than 10/10 IMO. :\
Jason dp (7 months ago)
Infinity Master this or Mario Kart
Orlando Rivera (1 year ago)
Im loving the game, the only issue I have is that there is no Party maker with friends to play in the same team, only can play in private session
Metro Boomin Jr. (1 year ago)
How do I convince my parents
ArkhamKnightdc5 (1 year ago)
Bough the game the 2nd day of release its fun but i feel its not enough content maybe because i have only played the onlinr and can only do Turfwar wich iknow is the fan favorite but i want to shoot other players and be skillful
OneSide Zero85 (1 year ago)
This is the best Splatoon 2 review I’ve watched yet. Loved the depth and breadth which covered nearly every inch of this big, wonderful game!
Chad Roberts (1 year ago)
I was pretty interested in this, until I heard about not having split screen multiplayer. Complete deal breaker for a game of this type for me.
Peter Andrew Elizaga (1 year ago)
I reeeeaaaally like Splatoon 2. That being said, the asinine voice chat solution and the tons of UX issues brings the score down to 8.5 for me. I want the Switch to do well, but I also want the Switch to do better. There are so many improvements that are theirs for the taking but they won't do them.
Taylor Maddox (1 year ago)
I've loved this game so far but the issue of not being able to play on the same team as my friends except for league matches can be super annoying. also the online chat feature is just terrible. besides that it's amazing.
A Martinez (1 year ago)
fuck I haven't even finished Zelda botw yet
Krystal Army (1 year ago)
6:27 That double Auto Bomb kill though!
Lolan Chen (1 year ago)
Well the best part of this game in my opinion maybe the soundtracks
Mushroom Moon (1 year ago)
"Lets dive right into things" Ad plays
Cyan Koopa (1 year ago)
So zelda isnt a good enough reason?
Andre Carreira (1 year ago)
Cyan Koopa Or Super Mario Odyssey
Amy O (1 year ago)
0:24 onion rings?

Would you like to comment?

Join YouTube for a free account, or sign in if you are already a member.